We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with the locals” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Mario

Trattoria Mario
Via Rosina, 2r | Corner of Piazza del Mercato Centrale, 50123, Florence, Italy (San Lorenzo)
+39 055 21 85 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 2,361 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: San Lorenzo
Description: From 1st March 1953. We are open only for lunch, we haven't the freezer, we don't make reservation. No credit card and bancomat. ATTENZIONE SIAMO APERTI SOLO A PRANZO DAL LUNEDI AL SABATO COMPRESI E CHIUSI LA DOMENICA E TUTTI I GIORNI FESTIVI OLTRE AL MESE DI AGOSTO PER FERIE. NO BRUNCH NO COLAZIONI NO CONSEGNA NO CENA NO DOPO MEZZANOTTE.
Chicago
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lunch with the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Trip Advisor gave it a good review so I went twice for lunch. I sat with locals the first time and they ordered for me. I really enjoyed the beef stew and beans in olive oil. My second time I ordered the same thing and sat with other solo travelers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sassychigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Local experience :) would recommend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Amazing amazing amazing! Get there at 1145am to be seated first. We tried to order in Italian and got preferential treatment - first plates landed on our table :) Started with the tomato ravioli - incredible but was a little cool - and the ribollita (vegetable soup) which was delicious!! Rabbit was dry, but osso bucco was amazing. ?32 with two bottles of water. Apparently had wifi but couldn't find it.

Helpful?
2 Thank Icie_lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I WANT MORE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I dont know what is it but i need it and i want more!

So this place is ONLY open from 12pm-3pm. My boyfriend and I made sure that we get here right before 12pm to make sure we get seats and not wait. He hates waiting, especially for food. We literally got there at 11:30am, and we push the door open and it was open! They said they don't open till 12 but we can sit which was amazing since we walked a lot in the morning and we got seats! Once people saw us going in, you see people walking in right behind us! I guess they weren't sure if it was closed or not! Once we got in, the sits are tight and you share tables with other people. Yes the menu is in Italian but on the kitchen window there is another menu thats in english so don't worry! Once we sat down we got drinks and bread. And it was just crazy to see how much people were walking in through out the time we got there and while we were eating!

Food was simply great! We order pasta with meat sauce, spinach raviolis and bistecca alla fiorentina. The pasta with meat sauce was out-of-the-world. Such a simple dish, just pasta and meat sauce! I didn't want to eat the last bite cause i knew i was going to miss it :( The raviolis were also and the steak was delicious with flavors! Total was 52.10 euros. I think its a really cheap meal..if you don't get the steak lol But you MUST get pasta with meat sauce. They also say the soups are good too but I didnt try it, didnt want to be full before the steak!! So just make sure you get there early!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Msmee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in for lunch while waiting to get into the museum to see the statue of David. Luckily we got there just as they opened and before the line started. The food was fresh and very tasty and the atmosphere was very nice. The prices were excellent. There was a good mix of locals and tourist. We sat at a small table with a couple from Norway. Seating is limited so you probably will have to sit with strangers. We didn't mind it though. Just added to its charm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ms95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A No-Fuss, Authentic Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I had lunch at noon here before taking a day trip to Pisa – our meal was so filling that it fueled us until dinner at 7:30! The restaurant is very casual and very small, it opens at noon, and people arrive early in order to secure seats at one of the limited communal tables. An Italian couple was seated with us and they greeted us at the beginning and end of the meal. Although there is a small menu posted on the walls, you should know that your options are whatever the chefs have prepared for the day. If you are unable to read the menu, one of the servers may attempt to translate it for you, but some things get lost in translation.

Once they begin food service, bread is handed to you and your drink order is taken. Then you are asked for your food order. I asked about the size of the pasta portions and the server said they were small (which they are not), so my husband and I both ordered a pasta course and a fish course. Had we known the size of the portions, we would have just split our order since we both ordered the same things. The food was good, filling and worth the experience for a casual, local meal with no fuss. Also, be sure to bring euros because they do not take credit cards.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NativeNewYorker97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Mario also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing