We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable food - amazing atmosphere!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Mario

Trattoria Mario
Via Rosina, 2r | Corner of Piazza del Mercato Centrale, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 055 21 85 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 2,059 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: From 1st March 1953. We are open only for lunch, we haven't the freezer, we don't make reservation. No credit card and bancomat. ATTENZIONE SIAMO APERTI SOLO A PRANZO DAL LUNEDI AL SABATO COMPRESI E CHIUSI LA DOMENICA E TUTTI I GIORNI FESTIVI OLTRE AL MESE DI AGOSTO PER FERIE. NO BRUNCH NO COLAZIONI NO CONSEGNA NO CENA NO DOPO MEZZANOTTE.
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable food - amazing atmosphere!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Best meal in Florence by far!!!!!
I have been there twice - two days in a row - out of 4 nights in Florence - it was that good!
The best Beefsteaka alla fiorentina - no question about it !!!
The vegetable soup was to die for....
I Loved every minuet about it...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,564
    611
    108
    43
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am among MANY who love this place. I've been going here since 1985 when I did a school program in Firenze. I've been going back ever since. It's one of the few places that has not changed in Firenze since 1985! I will always be sure to have a lunch here, when ever I visit this lovely city and I hope it will always been there, and be the reliable, pleasant, down-home, convivial place that we all appreciate.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Get there by 11:45 am for the first seating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hole in the wall restaurant is only open for lunch from 12 Noon to 3 pm; they do not take reservations or credit cards. So wait in line by 11:45 am for the first seating or you will wait for 30 to 40 minutes later. The Tuscan food is outstanding for its freshness, expert cooking, large portions, and rock bottom prices. The menu is handwritten daily and is posted both near the cash register and outside. You sit on stools at tables with others. Recommended by several guidebooks including one of "Fodor's Choices." The numerous travel guide stickers that cover the front door attest to its outstanding value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The food is outstanding, but the real Italian atmosphere is the different at this family place. Expect long lines, but the best cost benefit for meat that I had in my life. Just great!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Huge portions of meat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The seating is cafeteria style. This place is PACKED by locals and tourists. It is amazing and completely worth the visit. We had lunch there and got there about 10 minutes before they officially opened. It was already mostly packed. It's a small cafe as well. They even show you the meat before they cook it. It's so delicious and reasonably priced! The people were nice and it was fun to chat with them. I had the beef liver which was delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Mario also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Mario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.