We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lunch near mercato centrale” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Mario

Trattoria Mario
Via Rosina, 2r | Corner of Piazza del Mercato Centrale, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 055 21 85 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,948 restaurants in Florence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: From 1st March 1953. We are open only for lunch, we haven't the freezer, we don't make reservation. No credit card and bancomat. ATTENZIONE SIAMO APERTI SOLO A PRANZO DAL LUNEDI AL SABATO COMPRESI E CHIUSI LA DOMENICA E TUTTI I GIORNI FESTIVI OLTRE AL MESE DI AGOSTO PER FERIE. NO BRUNCH NO COLAZIONI NO CONSEGNA NO CENA NO DOPO MEZZANOTTE.
Odense, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best lunch near mercato centrale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Just had lunch at Trattoria Mario. A perfect spot for a delicious and quick lunch when you are near the mercato centrale. Had the ravioli and osso bucho - both were great. Make sure to come early (just before 12) to avoid the que. Very resonably priced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    1,202
    449
    88
    34
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“So Cheap, excellent food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Mario's is a great place for a quick lunch. The line outside says it all. Great food and low prices this place deserves to be no 1. We tried the osso bucco and beef stew and loved them both. Closed for dinner so make sure you plan your day to be there around lunch. You sit on communal tables, its a little cramped but still very enjoyable . Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worth a visit restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

i was in a long line to have my lunch there, yet the wait is worth. sharing table with either tourists or local people bring a warm florentine atmosphere, the quality of food and the service are more than excellent.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfecto!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service, fast service and excellent food. We tried the stew beef and bistecca, awesome meat!! Long queue but worth the wait and good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meat ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The best restaurant I have eaten in; service is marvellous, ambient is great and the food wonderful for a very good price. Meat lovers should definitely try the Bistecca alla Fiorentina which is sold by Kg, medium-rare (the way they suggest it) for the best taste. We had a 1.5 hr wait (place is crowded since they open); I suggest you go by, get on the list, then visit the Duomo and head back. Totally worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Mario also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Trattoria Mario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Mario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.