We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Vegetariano

Il Vegetariano
Via delle Ruote, 30r, 50129 Florence, Italy
055-475-030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #613 of 1,876 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Firenze
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Nice size portions. Great food. Good option for vegetarians and vegans away from home. Great desserts too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    181
    50
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Characterful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Yes it could be a lot better organised, but the hubbub is part of its charm. Offers a nice change from just the normal pizza and pasta.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Surprisingly cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Found this place on the internet. The name says it all of course. We had somebody in our party who was allergic to food components that are most frequent in pasta and pizza and were extremely happy to have found Il Vegetarian. We ended up going three nights in a row!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecina, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent food but stressing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a restaurant to avoid at all costs if you are in a hurry or have little patience. The way the service is structured is utterly illogical. It's a self-service, always crowded. The menu is behind the register so one doesn't really have too much time to read it all, unless you want to hear people complaining behind you because you are slowing down the line. The food is good without being exceptional, but the whole experience is just too stressful to enjoy it. First the line at the register then the line for service then the wait for an available table, which in both cases (I've been there twice) I had to share with strangers. Prices are relatively low, but I'd rather pay a little more and enjoy my dining experience. As I said, I went there twice: first on a Saturday, and then - hoping to find it less crowded - on a week day, but there was no difference.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yum vegetarian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We arrived 'early' to find the place opens at 7.30pm! Once opened and inside, we observed other customers with the ordering and waiting by the food area. The man at the till offered his help with translation, but we worked out. Other staff were very grumpy. One girl behind the counter told me off because I didn't take my tray to my table, just the food off the tray! Interesting restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vegetariano also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Vegetariano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Vegetariano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.