We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd rather have fish and chips” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Fattore

Antico Fattore
Lambertesca 1-3r, Florence, Italy
+39-055-288-975
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Antico Fattore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #133 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $18 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A typically old school Florence trattoria, Antico Fattore is an original taste of the city���s history, dating back to 1929. In this era local creatives would flock to Antico Fattore on a Wednesday to be fed by proprietor and local character Giulio. Giulio may be long gone, along with many of his historic patrons, but the convivial Antico Fattore atmosphere remains. In this old building, where an original wooden beamed ceiling remains and modern design is only of fleeting concern, guests continue to flock to enjoy lingering glasses of wine, intelligent conversation and superb Italian food. The renowned recipes have been handed down and remain as much part of the restaurant���s history as past patrons.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'd rather have fish and chips”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The worst dining experience in Florence/Tuscany. Two bowls of soup, a crostene tuscane from a tin, and pelligrino was €50. The bread soup tasted like it came from the bottom of the pot and the crostini topping tasted tinned. The waiter gave us a bad look for ordering no wine and there was a €5 cover.

It was simply the worst place to eat in the city and area. Please do not waste your time, money, stomach on this trattoria.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    258
    69
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A gem of a restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I recently found this restaurant two blocks from the Ponte Vecchio, quite by accident. We were very pleased with the traditional Tuscan menu for dinner. The waiter was extremely friendly and assisted us with our menu and choice of wine. We were both so pleased with the experience and would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Very Good, Not a "tourist" restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Found this place by accident as it was down a back lane from our hotel. Each evening when we passed it was full, buzzing and very popular. We decided to give it a try and although we had no reservation we found that our dodgy Italian and the waiter's very moderate English he found us a little table. There is very little to appease the tourist, the waiters seem to not speak English and the menu is only in Italian but this just added to the charm.

It was a lovely restaurant, all of the food we had, from the bruschetta and soup to start with and to the steak in pepper sauce, to the wine and the dessert, it was all top notch stuff. Nothing overly fancy, just good Italian food made by Italians, served by Italians and in an Italian restaurant.

Our waiter was very good and although there was a slight language barrier, we got by. We did found in Florence that many English speaking tourists do not even bother to try to speak some basic Italian and just spout off loudly in their own versions of the English language and they may have a problem here. We did not, and spent a very pleasing evening surrounded by Italian people doing what Italian people like to do.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Big Mistake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our B & B so we decided to try it rather than look through Tripadvisor or resources for another restaurant. The waiter was rude, rushed and barely stopped to take our order. When he did stop long enough to wait on our table, he was dismissive and arrogant. Food was quickly slammed down on the table when it was delivered. It was not the type of dinner experience we enjoy. We had the beef steak and it was good. The other items we tried were just okay - a pasta dish, a salad, an appetizer.

The beef steak did not make up for the negative atmosphere of the meal due to how we were treated by the waiter. It really ruined our evening. I'm sure there are other restaurants in Florence that serve this beef dish that appreciate their customers and show it with excellent service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Outer body experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Went there after a long day traveling to Venice and exploring before heading back to Florence for dinner. To say that I left satisfied is an complete understatement. The people working there were the first nice waiters I'd seen on my stay in Europe and were so glad to tell us about things they liked and thought we would enjoy. My boyfriend basically forgot how to talk after taking a bite of his meal-it was that good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antico Fattore also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Antico Fattore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Fattore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.