We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful little place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zeb

Zeb
Via San Miniato, 2, Florence, Italy
055 2342864
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Zeb Gastronomia, Florence’s unique bistro and gastonomia situated inside the old city wall in San Niccolò, is the innovation of owner Alberto Navari, who you will find dashing around the galley while his mother, Giuseppina, works her magic in the kitchen, bringing the best of Italian culinary tradition to Zeb’s seasonal menu.The gastronomia features an excellent selection of wines, pastas, pastries, chocolate, olive oil, cured meats and a sophisticated assortment of cheeses.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

We were there last November. Had read about it somewhere and decided to give it a try - for lunch. Gave us an opportunity to go on the other side of the Arno. Well, it was just great. The set-up is very clean and modern and the food is simply perfect. We went back the next day and it made us think that it would have been great to cross the Arno on our very first day in Firenze.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    80
    20
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“THE TOP THREE IN OUR HONEEYMOON”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

One of the best restaurants of our honeymoon. No tables, the service is done at the counter, the ingredients are all shown in a shop window, all very fresh and tasty. The service is very personal and attentive!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A favorite on our 1-month experience in Italy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We are a family of four that travels often and love food! We were in Tuscany for 12 days and had walked by this restaurant a few days prior while in Florence. We loved this area and decided to have dinner one night here on a whim. There was no seating at the main bar but they were able to seat us at the window bar, very nice, people watching, etc. I had the most wonderful pear and cheese raviolis with a pear sauce. I still think of this meal often, crave it even. Cooked perfectly and so good. They do cook seasonally here so I'm sure it's not available year round. I don't remember what the others ordered but we all loved our meals. Mangia:).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Buyer beware!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I am giving this place 3 stars because the food was good and the space is appealing and interesting. However, my overall experience was negative, for the reasons described below.
We went to Zeb for lunch based on good reviews on TA and in the New York Times. Had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated, which gave us time to try to decipher the menu in Italian on the chalkboard outside. It listed a number of items--soup, pastas, eggplant parmesan, meat dishes, etc.--in the general range of 8 to 14 euros.
After we were seated, the host rattled off the menu in English. I chose a pasta--ravioli with white truffles--and my husband chose a meat dish and a side of vegetables. We each ordered a glass of wine.
The New York Times had led us to expect that lunch for two, with wine, would be about 40 euros. When the bill came, it was for almost 50 euros. The reason was that my plate of pasta cost 23 euros! I know that truffles are expensive, but this was truffle season in Italy, and I don't recall seeing anything on the chalkboard that cost 23 euros. Can't help thinking that this might have been the tourist price. Even if it wasn't, I would advise anyone who eats here to either ask about price or make sure you can read the menu. (Reading a review on the sidebar that describes having pasta with black truffles for 14 euros makes me even more suspicious that we were ripped off.)

  • Visited October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsace, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We found this by pure chance.And what a gem.
Seating is around a central counter.The son will give you a verbal menu of what his mother is conjuring in the kitchen.We had home made pasta with black truffles for the amazing price of 14 euros,and the son had perfect wine to match.Absolutely delicious.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeb also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Zeb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.