We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent steak and wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Barroccio

Il Barroccio
Via Della Vigna Vecchia, 31/R, 50100 Florence, Italy
055-211-503
Improve this listing
Ranked #826 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Medellin, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excelent steak and wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Since I was visiting Florence I wanted to make sure I won't miss the so famous Bistecca la Fiorentina. A 500gr. steak perfectly grilled. You should have it with some wine from Chianti region. I am not a fan from the tiramisu, but I can only say that this one is the best I've had.
Be sure to ask for Nikola, he is really nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    53
    25
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food - not too touristy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We ended up here because my mum was keen to have an omelette.
I had musroom ravioli and salad. Both were good, in this small, unpretentious and old-fashioned restaurant.

What I liked about this was that (a) there were italian people eating there (unlike some of the restaurants in Florence); (b) the food was good; (c) the staff were friendly (d) there was Johnny Cash playing on the stereo, and a random selection of old photos hung on the walls (looked like the owner;s choice, not a job lot from a restaurant decorators). It was full outside but had space inside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good to have a break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Tired or hungry. Pop in quiet place to get tasty Italy food and relax. We had nice time and after lunch full of energy continued our discovery about Florence.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Our family favourite restaurant in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local who said that it is one of his family's favourites. We were not disappointed such that we ate there 3 times during our stay in Florence. Each time we were treated like family and served wonderful authentic Tuscan meals. The gnocchi with asparagus and prawns and the tagliata pepe vede (finely sliced beef fillet in a green pepper sauce) were both sensational. The tiramisu was divine and the salads and grilled vegetables were great accompaniments. Do not forget to order the fried bread (fagioli or cocaletta?) which is mouth watering and is not on the menu as it is reserved for special friends and family. The waiters, Nicola and Gianni were extremely warm and hospitable, and insisted we try the lemoncella at the end if each meal - on the house and with refills! If you are looking for an affordable authentic culinary treat and great service, look no further.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome, italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“High quality, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very nice food at competitive prices, especially in the city centre.
We had a menu of spaghetti+home made chicken+tomatoes sauce (white ragù) plus a local version of "cacciatora" chicken and a plate of gorgonzola gnocchi à la carte. As a dessert we tasted the excellent tiramisù (coffe+mascarpone cheese home made cake) and sipped a very good tuscan red wine.
Overall a very nice experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Barroccio also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Barroccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Barroccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.