We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Osteria di Giovanni

L'Osteria di Giovanni
Via del Moro, 22 | Aperto Solo a Cena E Domenica a Pranzo, 50123 Florence, Italy
+39 055 284897
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #34 of 1,876 restaurants in Florence
Price range: $35 - $138
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At L’Osteria di Giovanni we not only maintain strict allegiance to traditional Tuscan dishes (including many antique recipes that are not commonly used these days), but we also experiment with new flavours and combinations, whilst remaining faithful to local and season produce. Popular new dishes include smoked duck breast on rocket salad and dressed in balsamic vinaigrette, tortelli stuffed with pear and pecorino, with leek and paprika sauce, pici with sausage and kale, and lamb slow-cooked with artichokes. We stronly believe that your restaurant experience should be unique and satisfying on every front. We look forward to welcoming you one day to L'Osteria di Giovanni.
Telford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fantastic atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Booked this based on a recommendation by the hotel we were stopping in, it was a anniversary treat so pleased we did.the service was excellent, the food was outstanding you felt you were special from start to finish the little extras like the glass prosecco to start to the biscuits to finish all added to that special treat. I had the rabbit which was lovely and my wife had the fillet steak which she said was the best steak she had ever had. If we come back to Florence this would be the first place we would book.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Good news! In that case we are anxiously awaiting your next anniversary! Thank you so much for taking time to comment - we love feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    689
    257
    76
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent meal & wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place family run place was recommended by friends and the concierge. It was an authentic experience for us. They had a cover charge however you received free bread, a glass of Proseco and some biscotti for no additional charge.

Everything one of the courses was truly delicious. Try to tuscan tomato soup with bread -- a nice treat. The meats, seafood and pastas were all good. We would definitely recommend and go back again in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
So pleased that you enjoyed it. Yes - the infamous cover charge! An Italian thing (normally just €2.00 per person) that all restaurants charge. But tips are truly at your discretion. When in Rome ...! Do come back one day and try some different dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

There are so many restaurants in Florence, it's difficult to know where to start. We wanted something special but also authentic for our last night in Italy. We liked the description of L'Osteria di Giovanni so made a booking. We were not disappointed! We were treated with great courtesy and friendliness in equal measures, We were given a glass of wine on arrival and our waiter was attentive without being overbearing. His command of languages was amazing and he slipped effortlessly from one to another whilst dealing with the multi-national clientele. The food was absolutely wonderful. I had goat's cheese salad to start - the creamiest cheese I have ever tasted, followed by a special for that evening - a beef stew in peppercorn sauce - out of this world! We had a good chianti to go with it. All the desserts we had were lovely and we were given complimentary glasses of wine to accompany them. It is a very busy establishment - so do book in advance. This shows, however, how good it is - people just poured in. Our only disappointment was that we had found it so late in our holiday that we couldn't go back. However, it will be the first place we go if we return to Florence.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Owner at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
And we will be waiting for you! Delighted with everything that we read here - it makes it all so worthwhile! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent - liked it so much we went back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We found L'Osteria di Giovanni through TripAdvisor reviews and want to thank the people who recommended it. What an outstanding restaurant! Like many reviewers have already commented, the hospitality here was outstanding. The owners, staff, and even the other customers were genuinely kind and eager to share their food and culture with us. Everything we ordered was out of this world - salad, ravioli, and of course, steak. But the most amazing part of the meal for us was when the patron next to us was trying to identify a liqueur he wanted and after 10 minutes of back and forth with one of the waiters, a bottle of bright green liquid appeared on his table. We were so curious that we asked what it was, to which he asked the staff to get us glasses so we could share the mysterious drink. This turned into a discussion of the many great restaurants we should try in the city, more dessert wine, locally-made cantucci, and another reservation to return to L'Osteria with a friend from California who would arrive in several days' time. Thanks TripAdvisor - what a fantastic recommendation!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Proprietario at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Gosh - now we feel better. Depression was getting a hold after the last review, but this is exactly what we want to be. We love it that you enjoyed your neighbour's company, and even shared in a glass of the mysterious green drink!

And don't thank tripadvisor for the great advice - thank youselves! You are all wonderful, even the ones who tell us the rough stuff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tramore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not really worth all the hype.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Was somewhat disappointed with this restaurant. Don't think that it justifies all the hype about it.
Yes the food is nice, but not exceptional. Had much better up the road and at more reasonable prices also.
To be honest, you are paying for all the quirky little extras that they give you, but which you really didn't want anyway.
Service left quite a bit to be desired, had to chase up on part of our starter, and the waiter didn't even bother to apologise about that.
Also seated almost on top of a couple of strangers. As it happened we struck up a conversation and they turned out to be very nice people, but it could easily have been otherwise.
To be honest, would not bother going again and would not recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaterinaLatini, Proprietario at L'Osteria di Giovanni, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Bother. This kind of review is simply irritating. Irritating because it means there was probably nothing really intrinsically wrong with the meal, but we left you feeling very neutral, and with a little effort, attention and foresight perhaps we could have made the whole experience very different for you. So again, bother, and lots of irritation (with ourselves). Just to point out though that we do not generate any "hype". We have absolutely no control over what is said on review platforms; it's people's very personal and subjective opinions - that's it, no hype!

We probably won't see you again, and we are sorry for that, but we will share your comments with the team - so thank you for telling us about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria di Giovanni also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to L'Osteria di Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Osteria di Giovanni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.