We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Add up to your traveling experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plus Florence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Plus Florence to your Saves list
Plus Florence
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Via Santa Caterina D'Alessandria, 15-17, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #65 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Add up to your traveling experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We really thought it was a hostel meant exclusively for students. But anyway, we were going to spend just 2 nights in Florence, so we didn't really bother much about it. And yet, PLUS HOSTEL was a refreshing experience. To begin with, there's a constant flurry of international students so you'll never feel estranged. But you want to know about the actual accommodation? It's perfect. Not too much nor too little. Just what you need. The rooms are big and even in a room meant for two, there's an extra bed. Just, in case. Our room faced the street so we had large windows and a good view. PLUS doesn't include bed & breakfast so you have to pay an additional 6 euros for it. A healthy one, considering it's meant for students. The open terrace is huge. An ideal hangout or a raving party scene. There's a clean indoor swimming pool, steam and an open pool as well, although it was deserted, considering the early spring chill. I hope summer travelers will find it, occupied as well. Everybody who comes to Florence, actually needs a reasonable place because there are innumerable things to see by foot, and that takes an entire day or days. If all you need is a comfortable place to hit the bed after a tiresome walk, PLUS should be your choice. And yes, they know which hotels will offer discounts and where's the next party.

Room Tip: Frankly, we haven't been to the dorm rooms. But the rooms are nice and large and there's eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    495
    201
    73
    47
See reviews for
101
306
169
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed as part of a group, the rooms are generous, separate toilet to the rest of the bathroom so again great when staying as part of a group.
The downstairs was great with the bar area, plenty of room to sit and relax, nice pool table and outside seating area. We had one dinner included in our stay as well as 2 breakfasts, the food was pretty average. The one dinner we had everything was just far too salty, the salad too salty to eat.
The pool and sauna was an added bonus and the laundry room was reasonably priced however not many washers or dryers.
If we were travelling by ourselves we would possibly stay here again as it was only a short stroll into the main attractions, however there were a lot of school kids running around the place. But all in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Thanks for a good stay. Overnight stop on way through Italy, well located near the train station and also near the centre of town.

Clean and friendly although was very busy when i stayed and was full of children as apposed to like minded travellers so didn't really meet anyone. Not a problem for me although i can imagine others would have been disappointed.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very good hostel. The staff was friendly. Good distance from the city center and train staion. Just be sure to keep straight if you are walking, the street changes names.The breakfast was for €6 the ham was good...the eggs smelled a bit fishy. Good place to be social. There are also homey food places around this hostel that you should try out if you can. This hostel is close to many of the sites that you are going to see.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is by far the fanciest hostel my husband and I have stayed at. When we checked in, it took a while, but then again, this place is always crazy busy. The guy at the reception (I wish I'd caught his name) was SUPER helpful, showing us the best places to visit and eat (plus his favorite gelato place which was DELICIOUS). Then, the customer service went downhill from there. First, our door to our private room (which is in a building next door to the main hostel) wouldn't lock. One of the managers came to help us and it turned out the solution was to slam our door extra hard. Interesting...

Then, the wifi stopped working. We went down to ask. Turns out they were working on the internet for some unknown reason. Our wifi in the seperate building where we stayed kept flickering on and off. For some strange reason, it would work on my laptop but not on my husband's tablet and then it would work on the tablet but not on my laptop (which we've NEVER experienced before). Then it stopped working completely. So, we'd camp out in the lobby of the main hostel to do any work. Then that stopped working. And every time we inquired (once a day for 7 days...I know, we were the annoying ones), we'd get a different unhelpful answer with various levels of niceness, ranging from "I'm sorry, we're working on it" from a nice girl with a smile to "you know, it's not that easy" from a boy who glared at my husband to "I think it's a problem with your laptop". And it wasn't just us. In fact, we bonded with quite a few people over their lack of wi-fi connectivity & other wi-fi related issues. My husband is an electrical engineer and he'd set up our home wireless network with minimal effort, so he politely inquired as to what exactly the problem was and if maybe they could try resetting the router just once. We'd once had similar wi-fi issues in Thailand and when they'd reset the router, it'd worked perfectly the rest of our stay there. Instead, the girl shook her head and repeated "We're working on it." Finally, after a week, the wi-fi came back at full force. Now, it's not the lack of wi-fi that was the problem. We'd spent 3 weeks in Mongolia where we'd had to trek a mile one-way for wi-fi of any sort. It was the fact that we received 7 different answers from 7 different people. No one knew what was going on and it didn't seem like anyone really cared. Not the best attitude.

Oh, and don't go to breakfast too late. While the breakfast is yummy & filling & relatively inexpensive, they mean business when they say breakfast ends at 11. At 11am sharp, we were all kicked out of the dining room, even the couple who'd arrived only 15 minutes prior (and had a lot of food left on their plates). And if you need help from the front desk for anything aside from checking in or out (especially during busy times), don't wait in line. You'll just get cut by everyone & no one at reception notices you. You have to go up to the side of the desk and just sprawl your body across it. Then they'll notice you eventually and walk over to help.

Other than that, our room was nice. Very comfortable & clean. The elevators gave us the shivers a couple times since they seem old & rickety, but we never had any real problems. The location was decent with lots of eateries nearby. We were within 30 mins walking distance from most major sites (15 mins walking from the main train station). It's a good enough hostel that I actually considered their PLUS Prague and PLUS Berlin when we get there. But, my husband refuses to even consider them anymore after their customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

well ubicated, 5 blocks from the principal train station, near to all the principal views, i just walked in all my stayed in Florence. The rooms are fine, every bed with a locker, bathroom inside the room, wifi is good and they also have computers for free for everyone. There is an indoor pool and a sauna, awesome for rest after a long day! breakfast is not include, and there is no kitchen, just a restaurant and bar. One of the best hostels in Florence.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed here 5 nights in January with a friend. It was a great experience with lots of other travelers. This hostel has more young travelers than old. I am young so I enjoyed this a lot. I would not say it is a party hostel, but people definitely are social. I met people from Australia, Rome, Venice, Milan, England, Spain, Columbia, and even The States like me!

They have a pretty good buffet breakfast that I would fill up on for most the day for 5 euro. I stayed in an 8 bed dorm and had no problems. The beds are comfortable with clean sheets, blankets, and pillows. The rooms were also at a good temperature! And there was a room for the toilet/sink and then a room for the shower/sink so people didn't hog our 8 person private bathroom (I loved that it wasn't communal). The location is good, about a 10 minute walk to the Duomo. But you could find something to do almost anywhere in the historic district of Florence. We found a really great sports bar right down the street called Mostodolce.

Anyways, I really loved this hostel and had an amazing time with memories I will never forget.

Room Tip: I could not get good wifi on the 4th floor when everyone else was on it. But very early in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plus Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plus Florence

Address: Via Santa Caterina D'Alessandria, 15-17, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 234 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plus Florence 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Plus Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plus Florence Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plus Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.