We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best restaurants in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Dante

Pizzeria Dante
Piazza Nazario Sauro 12, Florence, Italy
0 55 219 219
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,252 of 1,874 Restaurants in Florence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sopot, Poland
1 review
“One of the best restaurants in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I often come to Florence and I can say that it is not easy to find a restaurant where you can eat really well. Dante Restaurant is a place where you want to return. They have the meat that melts in your mouth! It's delicious! There I ate the best tiramisù! The waiters are very friendly. At the end of the dinner they're offering limoncello. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    88
    71
    47
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Slightly upmarket pizzeria in nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a slightly upmarket pizzeria (with table cloths, cover charge) in a nice old building, right next to the Ponte alla Carraia. I've eaten there twice and service was very good, friendly and efficient on both occasions. The pizzas are good and the house white wine is just how I like it: cold and slightly sfuso (a little bit fizzy). At the end of the meal, comes a free limoncello. It costs slightly more than some other pizzerias on this side of the Arno but I think it's probably worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Unpleseant surprise”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The space it self is average, easy ambience could be ok if the music wasn't very loud, horrible taste and totally inadequate (Tecno-pop-hits from the nineties), the food was mediocre and finally, with a bill of 24€ (we just asked for two dishes and water) we were surprised with a 5€ service charge (2.5 € per person),which is about 20% of the total. Finally we had to pay 29€. Horrible experience for our first night in this wonderful city.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“don't make it complicated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stopped in here, south of the Arno, because we were hungry before most of the restaurants open for dinner at 7:30. Dante is open non-stop, noon to 1 a.m., 7 days. We had very good pizza and ribollita in a place where you should get good pizza and ribollita. The service was not sophisticated, but it worked. The risotto, I would not order again. Risotto is very labor intensive, and I've never had great risotto in a mid-range restaurant. A peek in the kitchen was uneventful. The prices were fair. I've read the other reviews and I would say, keep it simple, both as to what you order and what you expect, and you'll be fine. Under similar circumstances, I would probably see what else there was nearby that would be open at that hour, but I might ultimately end up back at Dante, because it really was not bad.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great pizza and atmosphere ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We visted Dante's on a Thursday night around 7:30 and did not have to wait for a table - although the restaurant filled by 8. We ordered bruschetta, two pizzas and the house wine and our tab was about 60 euro. The complimentary bread (salted with olive oil...so good) and liqueurs at the end of our meal were a nice touch and the waitstaff was very helpful. The restaurant filled mostly by locals with a few tourists and travel abroad students. We would absolutely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Dante also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Pizzeria Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Dante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.