We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great gem (hidden) in the center of Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Stanze di Caterina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Le Stanze di Caterina to your Saves list
Le Stanze di Caterina
Via dello Studio 12, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #223 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great gem (hidden) in the center of Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We are glad to have found this hidden gem. We made reservation with Le stanze di Caterina well ahead of time and pleasantly surprise to see the sheer beauty of this B&B. The location could not be any better as it is literally less than 20 steps away from Doumo. It is surrounded by nice narrow streets with luxury stores, eatery and even grocery stores. And within 10 min. walk to almost all touristic spots and interests.
The room is stunningly beautiful with all modern and contemporary amenities, particularity the bathroom and dining isle. The fixtures were all new and there is no noise what so ever. There is only two rooms available so if you wish to stay at this gorgeous place, you need to book early.

Lastly, the owner, Alessandra, is a very friendly and helpful person. She takes literally minutes to respond to any inquiry by email despite 7 hours time difference from the USA. She is not there on Wednesdays but she stayed back till 5:15pm for us waiting to greet us personally. She is very professional and understand the needs of the guests and cater accordingly. She is local and very knowledgeable about surrounding neighborhood in detail. She recommended us to a pizza place which we found to be outstanding.
The restaurant, that she owns, next to this property, is a must eatery.
Le stanze di Caterina made our stay very comfortable, pleasant and resting that we were hoping after 7 days constant travel. Next time we are in Florence, we would not even look at any other place but Le stanze di Caterina by simply emailing Alessandra with dates.
Thank you Alssandra

Room Tip: There is only two rooms both are equally excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

My wife and I recently return back from an amazing trip through Italy, and I must admit, Alessandra was the perfect host at “Le Stanze di Caterina” B&B, and made our enjoyment of Florence so much more comfortable and memorable. This is THEE best location in Florence hands down at only 10 yards from the Duomo down a quiet street, right to the front door! Unbelievable.
Alessandra warmly greeted us at the front-door of the B&B and showed us to our room for our stay. This B&B has two beautifully decorated guestroom (either the “Italian” or “Spanish” themed room – we opted for the “Italian” room) and when we arrived to your room, we were transported to the most tranquil and relaxing space. The furnishings are all contemporary and thoughtfully selected for creating a sumptuous warm atmosphere, with a min kitchenette for preparing light snacks.
The bed was very comfortable, oversized and perfect for dissolving into deep relaxing sleep after walking the cobblestones of the city bedding helps! Our bathroom was huge and the shower cubicle was more like a spa, with two wall seats to relax, and a rain effect showerhead to drench the entire stall.
It was obvious that Alessandra had thought of every little detail when decorating the room to pamper her guests! All these touches were refreshing to see in what can become a ‘cookie’ cutter bland hotel room décor.
But there is more to enjoy than just the room!…
…Next to the “Le Stanze di Caterina”, Alessandra and her parents have an exquisite restaurant “Il Caminetto”. We had the pleasure to dine her during our stay, and must admit that this was the best meal we had in the city! The menu had traditional Tuscan dishes; we had the “Crostini di fegato”, the vegetable & bread salad, Florintine Bistecca, and their wonderful Homemade pasta. And to finish it all off, homemade truffles and chocolates … divine!
In summary, Alessandra made our stay at “Le Stanze di Caterina” perfect and will recommend to anyone looking for a more individual boutique retreat in Florence. The rooms were wonderfully decorated, spacious and peaceful (opulent beds and bathroom) and the food at their restaurant is simply “era squisito” … an epicurean gem!
I can honestly say that my wife and I look forward to the time we will return to Florence and be guests of Alessandra again.

Room Tip: Ask for the Italian themed room to enjoy the sumptious shower cubicle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

From the moment we stepped into Le Stanze di Caterina with Alessandra(the owner) our jaws were continually dropping!!! The room and ambience of the whole hotel was sensational! No real word can describe how impressed we were with the place - a definite recommendation to all those visiting Florence! Be sure to visit their restaurant Il Caminetto and try the authentic Tuscan dishes which are absolutely delicious!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Le Stanze di Caterina is a very personal project by Alessandra Aiazzone (the owner). The distinct decor of the suites elevates the experience of discovering Firenze's ambience and enchanting streets. It feels you inhabit your own palazzo.
The location lives up to the scenery of the Le Stanze. Right next to the Duommo, Via Dello Studio is a charming street and an excelent place to set your HQ in Firenze during the stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Stanze di Caterina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Stanze di Caterina

Address: Via dello Studio 12, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Le Stanze di Caterina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Stanze di Caterina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.