We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everywhere you need to go in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Seggiole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Seggiole to your Saves list
Le Seggiole
Via delle Seggiole 4, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 553 Florence B&B and Inns
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close to everywhere you need to go in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Oct 2012. I chose Le Seggiole after reading good reviews about this place. I'm glad I did. The location is just perfect! Not only near to one piazza but to almost all tourist places. It's like in the center of them all. Florence is a walkable city. We also walked from the train station to get here. The place is as comfort as home. Clean, comfy and breakfast was more than sufficient. Some reviews said the stairs were trouble since yes we had to walk up to third floor. But we'd say it was no problem even we had 2 big luggages. The stairs are wide and low. The place is quiet, even near to a busy road. Thanks to double glass windows. The room doesn't have air con but for Oct weather, it was fine. I definitely would recommend it to anyone who wants an enjoyable stay in Florence. On top of my delightful experience above, it was the host, Fabio and Ulrika, that made the big difference. The were very welcoming and helpful. They made sure we arrive safely without difficulties, made suggestion and tips for our city travel. Small gesture that meant a lot for us as a foreigner, real Italian hospitality! My husband had a fever on second day we were in Florence. We had to stay in the room during the day. Ulrika lent a water kettle to make hot water for medicine and delivered breakfast to our room. She also recommended what medicine to take in Italian language so I just passed it over to the pharmacist. We felt we were being good taken care of here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    80
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
162
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

What a wonderful experience we had at this B+B!! I had read very positive reviews from this website so was thrilled when we were able to book a room. It was everything everyone raved about and more!! Ulrika was wonderful!! She went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed Florence and our stay at Le Seggiole. We happened to mention that I had celebrated my birthday a few days before arriving and when we returned later that day, she had left a bottle of wine for my birthday!! She has created a very warm, welcoming "home away from home" for her guests. It truly felt as if we were visiting good friends. The room with an ensuite bath was spacious and always clean and the breakfast was simple but tasty with plenty of coffee and warmed milk ready for us coffee-crazy Americans!! The location was also fantastic. Close to everything in the heart of historic Florence, we always felt safe and the price/night was very reasonable. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Set in the heart of the centro storico, this cosy B&B makes the perfect location for exploring as Florence is an incredibly walkable city. It is a mere 15 minutes walk from the Santa Maria Novella train station and while it may seem a bit difficult to locate on your own, I had no problems doing so when I followed the very detailed directions provided by Ulrika, one of the owners of the establishment, when I emailed her earlier. The area in very safe even after dark and there are mini markets and supermarkets nearby as well as restaurants and eating places.

Ulrika is like a burst of sunshine as she is very welcoming and friendly. She was ever so helpful in giving tips and advice including where and what to eat and where to shop for the things that I wanted. She is usually at the B&B in the morning and early afternoon but even when she isn't, she is contactable by phone.

The room is spacious, clean and comfortable with a double bed as is the bathroom/toilet although the shower would be more comfortable with a sliding door rather than a shower curtain. Towels, little bars of soap and sachets of shampoo are provided regularly but since I was staying there for about a week, it was more convenient for me to purchase a bottle of shower cream which I also used as a hand wash from the nearby Conad supermarket.

A buffet style breakfast is served starting from 8:30am and the fare is simple (bread, biscuits, cornflakes, yoghurt, juices, coffee/tea) but sufficiently filling to keep one going through the morning. Breakfast does seem to start a bit late but since the B&B is right smack in the middle of the city and most attractions are no more than 10-15 minutes on foot, that poses little issue.

I'd definitely recommend this B&B to fellow travellers as it is good value for your euros. The only thing to take into account is that it is on the 2nd floor so you'd need to climb some stairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights last month. We thought the location was great if you are walking everywhere. We did take a taxi to and from the train station for 8 & 11 euros. This B&B is on what we in Canada would consider the 3rd floor (they say 2nd floor) so there are alot of stairs to walk up so keep this in mind. The first night we had the guestroom with 2 floors and were happy to be moved for the rest of our visit. We both did not like that room with the tight spiral stairs to the sleeping area. The next room was better but a bit tired looking and plain though we were comfortable there. There is a common area to eat breakfast which was cereal, yogurt and packaged pastries. Unfortunately guests do not have access to the fridge and kitchen which they keep locked. This is the first place I have ever stayed where this occured. I think what made this a great stay other than the location was the way we were treated. The owners do not live in the unit or even the building so we never met Ulrika in person due to unforseen curcumstances but did meet her husband Fabio and their employee Letizia. They were both great though most of our contact was with Letizia who was terrific, helpful and always smiling. We were in Italy celebrating an anniversary and they left a bottle of wine in the room with a nice note. A few days later there was a plumbing problem in the apartment which did not affect us at all but again we were left a bottle of wine for being inconvenienced. There were lots of guidebooks and maps for the guests and suggestions for dinners or attractions and day trips. A few more homey touches, some updated decor and a mini fridge in the room would go a long way to improve the guest experience but I would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Best B&B in Florence!
We first found out about this B&B on Le Routard's website and we were not disappointed. The owners are very warm and friendly and helped us with driving directions to Chianti and San Gimignano, great tips on restaurants, wine-tasting etc. This B&B is good value for money and the best of all is its position - incredibly central! Thank you Ulrika & Fabio for a lovely stay we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in Le Seggiole for one night while passing through Florence on the way to our wedding in Tuscany. The room was a nice size for a European B&B. On the second floor in a central location in Florence. The hostess, Ulrika, was awesome. She offered to help us carrying our luggage and gave us plenty of great info about Florence, including where to eat and where to shop for shoes for the wedding. All of her directions were impeccable and the breakfast was great too. Highly recommended. We tried to book the place on our return to Florence two weeks later but she informed us she was full. However, it didn't end there as she recommended another hotel that did have a room in the area. Talk about service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just got back from Firenze, I cannot thank Ulrika (the owner) enough for her wonderful hospitality,she made our stay a great experiance, a genuine person and a great host. If it is your first stay in Florence and you want a clean safe home from home place to stay then look no further, Great value, very clean, great location.Just a 5 minute walk to Duomo and all the main attractions. Set in a back street and close to some awesome resturants. Ulrika will point you in the right direction..Get the Pork steak at Mario's, great price ( the bill for both of us came to 17euro's) and recommended by the Suday Time's newspaper. Eat at the food market the food is out of this world...it was our annivesary whilst staying at Le Seggiole, we got back from a day of sightseeing and in our room was a bottle of Chiati wine, courtesy of you guessed it Ulrika and her Husband Fabio. We are going back next year.......
Thanks Ulrika and Fabio for a great stay in your cute hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Seggiole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Seggiole

Address: Via delle Seggiole 4, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 553 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Seggiole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Seggiole Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Seggiole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.