We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright spacious rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Hostel

Save Saved
You added Ciao Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ciao Hostel
Via Guido Monaco 34, 50144 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 208 Specialty lodging in Florence
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bright spacious rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Travelled with 2 other friends so we shared a room. Location was alright, short walk from the main station.

Small lobby with friendly and helpful staff. Elevator was small.

Relatively quiet street for a good nights' rest while we were there. The rooms were spacious, bright, clean and comfortable and wifi was a plus point! The hostel has two shared bathroom for each level so it gets dirty after awhile but it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
12
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location, just a 10 min walk from the main train station. Staff were helpful and friendly and it was relatively cheap. Rooms themselves were quite good, each bed had a PowerPoint and light, towel and little soap; they were clean and the air con and wifi worked. I will say that there were no lockers, which I think is important in a hostel, so I couldn't lock up my valuables. Each floor has its own communal kitchen and two showers/ toilets, which get quite grubby with som many people sharing them (which is to be expected).
The hostel has no common area, so really the only people you meet are the ones in your room, unless you run into others while cooking (which I didn't really) and this makes it hard to meet other travelers.
So overall my stay was fine but if you are hoping to meet other travelers I wouldn't recommend staying here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuiaba, MT
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at Ciao Hostel for 2 nights and I can say the location of this place is wonderful. You'll be within a walking distance of the main train station of Florence and from this hostel you can make all your walking tours without any trouble. The street of the hostel is almost always full of cars (seems like it's a conection road from the suburbs to the center of Florence), so you will have to take care when crossing this street.
The staff of the hostel was always very friendly and helpfull for us, and we had no trouble at all with cheking in.
You have to keep in mind that the hostel has only one tiny elevator, but it's not always busy, so the stairs (which are large with confortable steps) can be an inconvenience to some people.
The room in wich we stayed was for 4 people, and it was very large and clean. The beds were very confortable. As we were in a room that was facing the street it was a little noisy (and add to that the fact that some guys who stayed in the upper floor got there at 3am one day and started partying), but the windows worked out pretty well when it came to block the sound of the cars.
There were two full bathrooms in the floor we stayed, but one of them had a damaged locker, so if one of us was going to use it, someone else would stay at guarding position. The bathrooms were always kept clean.
The wi-fi worked pretty well in the room (i'm not sure, but i think we were in the second floor).
The hostel has NO breakfast included.
I think this was a great place, and we would definately stay there again if ever we go to Florence.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room that does not face the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A bit of a walk from the city center, but doable. Location itself not very pleasant, no bars/cafes and a very trafficked road. Would not walk home alone at night. Room was fine apart from a little dirty floors. Bathrooms were also not exactly spotless (which might be expected from shared facilities, but still), and in one of the bathrooms the door couldn't lock. For a couple traveling on a budget it's an ok place to stay, but if I were traveling alone I would go somewhere with a more "hang-out" atmosphere. I also think the price per room per night with shared facilities in a non-central location without breakfast, is somewhat expensive for a hostel, even for high season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Located on a very busy main road so traffic noise was a bit of a problem. Reception were unfriendly and unhelpful. No problem with room itself (very nice), 2 communal showers on floor, but door to one bathroom broken so couldn’t lock. Self catering facilities provided, but we didn’t make use of these. Quite far from the centre of town (30 minutes). It was walkable, but quite a distance after a long day of sightseeing. No breakfast provided. Close to the train station. Wouldn’t recommend because of the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Decent hostel situated on the main rain on the side end of the Firenze Railway station. Please be careful while walking towards Railway station, you might have to cross roads many times.

The Hostel reception is open until 10 PM. I checked in late night and the staffs were helpful. Initially i was allotted in a double bed room in 3rd floor where there was no curtain and hence it was very inconvenient for me. When i discussed this Mr. Mahendar, the front office staff .. he immediately helped me my allotted much more convenient room next day. Special thanks to him.

The room was nicely decorated and quite spacious, with bath towels and liquid soap.There is also a fully equipped kitchen in each floor. I never had issues with common washroom, it was clean and didnt had long queue. There are two washrooms to use in each floor.

There were no hand wash in toilet and the lift was extremely small, hardly a person can stand with two luggage.

Overall the stay was decent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hostel was clean and pretty convenient, was very close to the station. The rooms are nice and they have a pretty functional kitchen for each floor. Only issue was that the person at the counter wasn't overtly enthusiastic and was a little grumpy. Else, had a comfortable stay that was a bus/walk away from the attractions in Florence.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Kitchen and facing the road may be quieter than you think cause the kitchens are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ciao Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciao Hostel

Address: Via Guido Monaco 34, 50144 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 208 Specialty lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ciao Hostel Florence offers interested travellers the opportunity to take a look around the cheap backpacker hostel without even stepping foot in Florence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ciao Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.