We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but a little noisy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Hostel

Save Saved
You added Ciao Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ciao Hostel
Via Guido Monaco 34, 50144 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Rolim De Moura, RO
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location, but a little noisy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at Ciao Hostel for 2 nights and I can say the location of this place is wonderful. You'll be within a walking distance of the main train station of Florence and from this hostel you can make all your walking tours without any trouble. The street of the hostel is almost always full of cars (seems like it's a conection road from the suburbs to the center of Florence), so you will have to take care when crossing this street.
The staff of the hostel was always very friendly and helpfull for us, and we had no trouble at all with cheking in.
You have to keep in mind that the hostel has only one tiny elevator, but it's not always busy, so the stairs (which are large with confortable steps) can be an inconvenience to some people.
The room in wich we stayed was for 4 people, and it was very large and clean. The beds were very confortable. As we were in a room that was facing the street it was a little noisy (and add to that the fact that some guys who stayed in the upper floor got there at 3am one day and started partying), but the windows worked out pretty well when it came to block the sound of the cars.
There were two full bathrooms in the floor we stayed, but one of them had a damaged locker, so if one of us was going to use it, someone else would stay at guarding position. The bathrooms were always kept clean.
The wi-fi worked pretty well in the room (i'm not sure, but i think we were in the second floor).
The hostel has NO breakfast included.
I think this was a great place, and we would definately stay there again if ever we go to Florence.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room that does not face the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A bit of a walk from the city center, but doable. Location itself not very pleasant, no bars/cafes and a very trafficked road. Would not walk home alone at night. Room was fine apart from a little dirty floors. Bathrooms were also not exactly spotless (which might be expected from shared facilities, but still), and in one of the bathrooms the door couldn't lock. For a couple traveling on a budget it's an ok place to stay, but if I were traveling alone I would go somewhere with a more "hang-out" atmosphere. I also think the price per room per night with shared facilities in a non-central location without breakfast, is somewhat expensive for a hostel, even for high season.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Located on a very busy main road so traffic noise was a bit of a problem. Reception were unfriendly and unhelpful. No problem with room itself (very nice), 2 communal showers on floor, but door to one bathroom broken so couldn’t lock. Self catering facilities provided, but we didn’t make use of these. Quite far from the centre of town (30 minutes). It was walkable, but quite a distance after a long day of sightseeing. No breakfast provided. Close to the train station. Wouldn’t recommend because of the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Decent hostel situated on the main rain on the side end of the Firenze Railway station. Please be careful while walking towards Railway station, you might have to cross roads many times.

The Hostel reception is open until 10 PM. I checked in late night and the staffs were helpful. Initially i was allotted in a double bed room in 3rd floor where there was no curtain and hence it was very inconvenient for me. When i discussed this Mr. Mahendar, the front office staff .. he immediately helped me my allotted much more convenient room next day. Special thanks to him.

The room was nicely decorated and quite spacious, with bath towels and liquid soap.There is also a fully equipped kitchen in each floor. I never had issues with common washroom, it was clean and didnt had long queue. There are two washrooms to use in each floor.

There were no hand wash in toilet and the lift was extremely small, hardly a person can stand with two luggage.

Overall the stay was decent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hostel was clean and pretty convenient, was very close to the station. The rooms are nice and they have a pretty functional kitchen for each floor. Only issue was that the person at the counter wasn't overtly enthusiastic and was a little grumpy. Else, had a comfortable stay that was a bus/walk away from the attractions in Florence.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Kitchen and facing the road may be quieter than you think cause the kitchens are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great hostel that offers walking distance the best parts of Florence (according to me). Really friendly staff, they helped me a lot when my bag got stolen at the streets. This hostel is more like an hotel to be honest and that could be good or bad in some cases, it depends on what you're after. Comfortable beds but the AC did not functioning as it would so the temperature were pretty high in the room at nights (not too hot though). The place itself were clean and most of the interior looked great for the price of the hostel. Great kitchen with a lot of equipment and the bathrooms (2 per floor) were great too. I paid 150 EU for seven nights and for that price I would recommend this place without any doubt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Ciao Hostel. The rooms are spacious and the single storey beds are a nice touch. Could do with additional bathrooms. I had a long and frustrating wait on a couple of occasions. Excellent wifi. Well equipped kitchen but small communal area with no power sockets. Each floor is isolated and self contained so opportunities to mix with other people are limited. No safes or lockers. Had to carry my valuables around with me all day.
Biggest problem was that reception is only open during office hours. I arrived late and despite emailing to advise of late arrival found the building in darkness with the front door firmly locked. Wouldn't have been able to gain entry all night but for the good fortune of a kindly fellow guest returning from a night on the town, letting me in to the lobby area. Not a good start to my holiday.
Good value for money, spotlessly clean, a ten minute walk from the train station. You could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciao Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciao Hostel

Address: Via Guido Monaco 34, 50144 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 189 Specialty lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ciao Hostel Florence offers interested travellers the opportunity to take a look around the cheap backpacker hostel without even stepping foot in Florence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Ciao Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.