We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ciao Hostel to your Saves list
Ciao Hostel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Via Guido Monaco 34, 50144, Florence, Italy (Santa Maria Novella)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 264 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days on our way to Rome from Switzerland. This did not feel like a hostel (had a hotel feel to it), was very clean and extremely affordable. The location was perfect with just a few min walk to the train station.

-- The receptionist was very helpful with the places to visit, mode of travel, answering our question etc. in fluent English which was a big plus in Italy.
-- We had picked a double room and a single dorm bed. The double room where I stayed was quite spacious with a balcony facing the main road.
-- The rooms are very clean and wifi is accessible even in the top floors.
-- The shared kitchen is quite neat and has everything that is needed.
-- The hostel is located within a few min walk to most attractions and sights like the Duomo, Palazzo Vecchio, Ponte Vecchio etc.

The only issue we faced was with the bathrooms.
There are 2 shared bathrooms per floor and get quite dirty based on the number of people using them. Our floor had 4 double rooms and at peak time it was almost impossible to get a vacant bathroom.

All in all, a great value for money.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the top floors; less traffic noise and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Spent three nights with my family of four in mid-July. Our room (four beds) was clean and comfortable. Shared bath was fine (there were two on our floor) but one toilet was missing a seat and the other did not have a lock on its door. The kitchen was certainly serviceable and good to have. Location is a good 20 minute walk to the Duomo, but of course we knew it was a bit of a walk. The immediate area was fine, felt safe walking to/from. Our room was a bit noisy with road traffic though. Staff was very helpful and friendly and of course the price was right.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the street - a lot of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddieras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst in Florence. The location was fairly convenient, walking distance to the train station and the historic centre. Each dorm has a number of single beds, rather than bunk-beds, which were comfortable and made for a nice change. Our floor (and I'm assuming the other floors also) had two bathrooms with showers and a well equipped kitchen and nice communal area, which were all clean. Security is fairly good, you need a key to access your floor and your room. However, there are no lockers in the rooms which is inconvenient. The staff behind the counter were nice and allowed us to store our laptop behind the desk, but some lockers would have been better. Overall, our stay at Ciao Hostel was really good and we would recommend it. Note that reception is not 24 hours. Also there are a few mosquitoes in the building so maybe bring insect repellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hostel is what you would expect, if not a bit more. There are very helpful receptionists willing to advise you on where to go, book you on to anything and answer any questions.

The room was very spacious, with a big mirror, clean, modern and white. We stayed there 3 days and our only issue with the rooms was there was no maid service so it got a bit messy.

The kitchen is communal, basic pots and pans, 2 fridges. Strangely you have to walk through a living area to use one of the two bathrooms. But it was a nice space to use with a fire exit also. The showers are very good but there are 4 rooms in your block for 3/4 people per room so it's a bit of a fight to get a bathroom at times. Also toilet paper ran out very quickly and showers got a bit dirty quickly.

This hostel would be much better if situated nearer to the city, it became a bit of a trek walking to and from the hostel. At night this is a bit scary and the road crossing are a bit awkward - the roads are very busy and you cannot avoid crossing to get into the city.

Another issue is how noisy the room is at night as you are based next to a main road... so noisy that my friend asked me to close the window – but it was already closed!

Overall, it was good value for money, but location not great. Perfect for young people travelling - not couples.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banannena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I did not actually stay at this hostel, however, I accidentally made a booking with them while I was trying to book for Mary's Hotel in Paris. After my confirmations were sent and I double checked everything, it came to my attention that I had booked for Ciao Hostel. Realizing that the two had completely different addresses and were not even in the same city, I quickly emailed them to ask for a clarification. Not only were they very prompt in replying my email - I received a response in 16 minutes, they immediately assured me that my reservation will be cancelled. Worrying that my credit card would still be charged, I asked again to make sure there would be no charges, and surely enough, a very prompt reply was received confirming with me that no charges were made to my credit card.

If I were to ever visit Florence, I would definitely stay with Ciao Hostel judging by this awesome experience. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prismui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hostel is perfect for the money paid. It is new, clean, close to the train station and has a good room.

You wont have any surprise with this one simple, clean and confy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcgottgtroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room was of a reasonable price and one gets what they expect. It is relatively close to the main train station. It wasn't that close to the main centre but as Florence is a small city this isn't the biggest deal. Rooms are clean, there is a kitchen facility and clean bathroom. A shared bathroom was okay, however, one of the doors did not lock. Airconditioning was fine.
However, for a group of four travelling students, this suited our needs for the price well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devaki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#77 of 264 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 1,693 reviews
Duomo
Academy Hostel
Academy Hostel
#24 of 264 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
San Marco
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
Hostel Gallo d'Oro
#63 of 264 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Wow Florence Hostel
Wow Florence Hostel
#41 of 264 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hostel Archi Rossi
Hostel Archi Rossi
#59 of 264 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
7 Santi Hostel
#109 of 264 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciao Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciao Hostel

Address: Via Guido Monaco 34, 50144, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 264 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Ciao Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ciao Hostel Florence was recently refurbished upgrading the entire hostel to a very impressive and competitive standard. Guests are ensured clean cheap backpacker hostel accommodation in the centre of Florence as well as a wealth of services that would befit many hotels. Guests arriving at the Ciao Hostel Florence will be impressed by its reception and meeting area. The hostel strives to maintain a high level of service and sustain its favorable image. The hostel also boasts its own garden area. There is plenty of storage space, fridge and a gas cooker. La posizione centrale di Ciao Hostel Florence assicura che molti servizi della città si trovano a portata di mano. Firenze è una città moderna e il capoluogo della Toscana che significa che non sarà necessario andare lontano per il miglior espresso della regione, croissant appena sfornati, aperitivo o cibo da leccarsi i baffi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ciao Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing