We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay - price is right!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Hostel

Save Saved
You added Ciao Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ciao Hostel
Via Guido Monaco 34, 50144 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 203 Specialty lodging in Florence
chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“good stay - price is right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Spent three nights with my family of four in mid-July. Our room (four beds) was clean and comfortable. Shared bath was fine (there were two on our floor) but one toilet was missing a seat and the other did not have a lock on its door. The kitchen was certainly serviceable and good to have. Location is a good 20 minute walk to the Duomo, but of course we knew it was a bit of a walk. The immediate area was fine, felt safe walking to/from. Our room was a bit noisy with road traffic though. Staff was very helpful and friendly and of course the price was right.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the street - a lot of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    28
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst in Florence. The location was fairly convenient, walking distance to the train station and the historic centre. Each dorm has a number of single beds, rather than bunk-beds, which were comfortable and made for a nice change. Our floor (and I'm assuming the other floors also) had two bathrooms with showers and a well equipped kitchen and nice communal area, which were all clean. Security is fairly good, you need a key to access your floor and your room. However, there are no lockers in the rooms which is inconvenient. The staff behind the counter were nice and allowed us to store our laptop behind the desk, but some lockers would have been better. Overall, our stay at Ciao Hostel was really good and we would recommend it. Note that reception is not 24 hours. Also there are a few mosquitoes in the building so maybe bring insect repellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hostel is what you would expect, if not a bit more. There are very helpful receptionists willing to advise you on where to go, book you on to anything and answer any questions.

The room was very spacious, with a big mirror, clean, modern and white. We stayed there 3 days and our only issue with the rooms was there was no maid service so it got a bit messy.

The kitchen is communal, basic pots and pans, 2 fridges. Strangely you have to walk through a living area to use one of the two bathrooms. But it was a nice space to use with a fire exit also. The showers are very good but there are 4 rooms in your block for 3/4 people per room so it's a bit of a fight to get a bathroom at times. Also toilet paper ran out very quickly and showers got a bit dirty quickly.

This hostel would be much better if situated nearer to the city, it became a bit of a trek walking to and from the hostel. At night this is a bit scary and the road crossing are a bit awkward - the roads are very busy and you cannot avoid crossing to get into the city.

Another issue is how noisy the room is at night as you are based next to a main road... so noisy that my friend asked me to close the window – but it was already closed!

Overall, it was good value for money, but location not great. Perfect for young people travelling - not couples.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I did not actually stay at this hostel, however, I accidentally made a booking with them while I was trying to book for Mary's Hotel in Paris. After my confirmations were sent and I double checked everything, it came to my attention that I had booked for Ciao Hostel. Realizing that the two had completely different addresses and were not even in the same city, I quickly emailed them to ask for a clarification. Not only were they very prompt in replying my email - I received a response in 16 minutes, they immediately assured me that my reservation will be cancelled. Worrying that my credit card would still be charged, I asked again to make sure there would be no charges, and surely enough, a very prompt reply was received confirming with me that no charges were made to my credit card.

If I were to ever visit Florence, I would definitely stay with Ciao Hostel judging by this awesome experience. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The hostel is perfect for the money paid. It is new, clean, close to the train station and has a good room.

You wont have any surprise with this one simple, clean and confy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The room was of a reasonable price and one gets what they expect. It is relatively close to the main train station. It wasn't that close to the main centre but as Florence is a small city this isn't the biggest deal. Rooms are clean, there is a kitchen facility and clean bathroom. A shared bathroom was okay, however, one of the doors did not lock. Airconditioning was fine.
However, for a group of four travelling students, this suited our needs for the price well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

When we arrived in this hostel we had to wait about one hour for the room to be ready, but we were on holidays, so no stress at all. The room had a good size, facing the main road with a balcony and was absolutely clean. The elevator was broken, so it can be difficult to climb the stairs with heavy luggage.
The bathroom was on the opposite door, cleanness so so... there was also a big kitchen, well equiped and always very clean.
The hostel is not central, you have to walk 5-10 min to SMN train station and some supermarkets and 15 min to historical centre, but the area is nice and safe, and there many bus stops too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciao Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciao Hostel

Address: Via Guido Monaco 34, 50144 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 203 Specialty lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ciao Hostel Florence offers interested travellers the opportunity to take a look around the cheap backpacker hostel without even stepping foot in Florence! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Ciao Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.