We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat, clean and incredibly well located hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Il Duca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Il Duca to your Saves list
Hotel Il Duca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Pergola 34, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #360 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Neat, clean and incredibly well located hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Like a few others we read the reviews AFTER we'd booked this place and were a little worried. However, we've just come back after a week at the Hotel Il Duca and can say without any hestiation we'd stay there again. Its a family ran hotel, located right on the edge of the pedestrianised area of the old part of the city (okay saying pedestrianised is pushing it as the locals seem to ignore the rules but hey we're in italy :) )
Yes we were a little worried when the first thing we had to do was pay a 42 euro `tourist` tax, which came into effect in July (after we'd booked), this would have been fine if the man on reception could have said it himself, but he was trying to find his crib sheet which had it pre-written for him, but couldnt find it, so we were really worrying why we were being asked to pay more on a pre-paid trip. Needless to say once we had paid and settled into the room we were more then happy. Clean and simple rooms, with 1 english speaking channel (CNN - be prepared to see a lot of Piers Morgan and the same adverts over and over) but we not in italy for the rooms, thats just our place for sleeping).

Breakfast was at 8am, so yes not exactly early, but what the give was really fresh and tasty. Brioche and light cakes and coffee. Fruit juices available too oh and cereal. Not an `english` breakfast, but i wasnt in England. :)

After our first day out, we returned (our italian becoming a little more flowing then when just arrived) and the simple nods and afternoon/evenings to the staff were reciprocated with a smile.

If you have any problems with the room i can understand that the family may struggle if cannot communicate easily, but i found a quick check on google translate gave me an idea of what to say etc and we didnt have any issues arise.

On evening prior to our check out, i spoke with the gentleman on reception asking for our passports to be returned as we had an early start (5am), he wrote down the time as he returned our passports, and i thought nothing of it. We got up at 4 and were all packed up and rang the taxi company (note - when they say will be 5 mins they MEAN it, they are QUICK and its fixed cost from airport to hotel and back!!). Carrying our luggage down the stairs (there is no lift for the 1 floor there is) and in reception was the lovely gentleman who was waiting for us, he unbolted the huge door and waved us off.. people who said they found the family cold and unhelpful missed something i think. He wished us a safe trip and we left. As i said, we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    33
    25
    16
    27
See reviews for
20
58
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I read some of these other reviews before my trip to Florence and if I hadn't booked the room beforehand I probably wouldn't have chosen this hotel, and that would have been a mistake.

I found Il Duca a quite nice, peaceful and clean, well-run hotel. The staff members weren't overflowingly cordial, but friendly and helpful enough for my taste. Admittedly, they didn't speak English that well but that didn't bother me. I'm not a native English speaker myself so I understand that not all the people in the world are fluent in English...

All in all I would recommend Il Duca for travellers who are looking for a reasonably priced basic hotel in Florence and who understand that you can't have five star quality with three star prices.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Location? Perfect! No more than 500 meters from Duomo and the very pleasant (and cheap) Zio Gigi restaurant. Rooms? Reformed, clean, a/c working very well, free wi-fi and cable TV. Breakfast? Ok for a small "albergo", but starts at 08:00, so late in my opinion. Staff? That´s the big problem... the hotel is a family house, so they make the roules... no smiles, no helps, nothing... but in anytime they were stupid with us, just without affection with the guests. If you are looking for a cheap hotel (not easy in Florence) with comfortable rooms, don´t worry, stay here, but, don´t care about with antipathy...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Proprietario at Hotel Il Duca, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
The customer is always right is a concept invented by a customer. He's right who is polite, courteous and sympathetic to anyone who is doing a job in which the client is not competent. Why after 12 hours spent smiling, explain, listen, answer the phone, respond to email and, in the midst of all this, groped to work while the state does everything to get you shut down. I should add that our maniacal attention, about the proper use of the equipment the hotel is because we want to maintain a good level of quality, even for customers who stay after your departure.
Angela Musacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

In its favour, this hotel has a convenient location for access to the major attractions of the area. It’s not in an appealing road but the interior is tastefully decorated and looks clean. Fittings appear modern and the beds were comfortable.
Despite the efforts made on the building however, the owners do not appear to like visitors and have little concept of the fact they are paying customers. When the air conditioning did not work in one of our rooms, the receptionist offered no help and just said you need to have the doors and windows closed. Having confirmed they were and it still didn’t work, she just ticked a box on her PC screen and said that would make it work with windows open. As it still didn’t, my daughters had to keep windows open and had little sleep due to traffic noise. The next day I asked the receptionist if they could look at it while we were out but nothing was done. An even less helpful receptionist later just insisted it did work but when I asked her if someone could show us how, she just groaned, turned her back on me and walked out of the hotel. The room was only on the next floor, so it would hardly have been any effort. At around 22:00, all electricity to the room failed but without calling anyone, a man knocked on the door to fix it. After altering something in the circuit breaker box, the air con then started to work – so clearly there was a fault that they could easily have fixed before.
Apart from their rudeness, there was a general “don’t care” attitude from staff. Breakfast was supposed to be from 08:00 but when we came down there was no food or sign of staff. Others rang the reception bell and a woman came out looking like she had just got out of bed. She offered no apology and just told us to wait. After about ten minutes, we went through again to find the food had been put out but she couldn’t even be bothered to come back to tell us.
The notices in the rooms about use of the fridge and washing clothes (see pictures) give some indication of their attitude towards guests.
For anyone still considering staying here; their custom made electric sockets (with the hotel name inscribed) only accept 4mm pin plugs or adaptors but each of our rooms did have one socket closer to floor level that would accept our adaptors with 5mm pins.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Proprietario at Hotel Il Duca, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
The customer is always right is a concept invented by a customer. He's right who is polite, courteous and sympathetic to anyone who is doing a job in which the client is not competent. Why after 12 hours spent smiling, explain, listen, answer the phone, respond to email and, in the midst of all this, groped to work while the state does everything to get you shut down. I should add that our maniacal attention, about the proper use of the equipment the hotel is because we want to maintain a good level of quality, even for customers who stay after your departure.
Angela Musacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in May. Overall I would have to say that the hotel was reasonably priced, good location (very close to the Duomo and David), basic breakfast.....however....as the hotel is family run, one of their daughters was often on reception. She was rude, unhelpful and said she was 'too busy' to help us with the room's safety box. This was disappointing as the owners - her parents - were quite friendly and definitely hard workers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We arrived at Il Duca around 11am, dropped our bags off and were told to come back at 3pm for check in. After walking around in the heat we were looking forward to resting in the air conditioned room.
We arrive around 3pm and were told to wait while our room was being made up. this took half an hour. We went up to our rooms without a key, when we asked for our key the younger lady working seemed very annoyed by this.
When we tried the air conditioning system it did not work. When we asked about this we were told it was not working.
Falling asleep was hard, as there were no fly screens and with the noise, and humidity we were bitten by mosquitos.
The owners seemed to be in the wrong line of work. & if my mother had not been travelling with us (she speaks fluent italian) i believe our stay could have been worse.
When we went for breakfast we saw other guests, who seem as surprised as we were to see that there were other people staying at this hotel.
After long walks around Florence city, especially during summer the last thing you want is go back to an even hotter hotel room. which is what we disliked most about our trip.
location was close to the Duomo which was probably the only plus side to this hotel.
If you dont speak Italian they will probably seem less interested in your comfort and stay..
Save your money, dont stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Proprietario at Hotel Il Duca, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
The customer is always right is a concept invented by a customer. He's right who is polite, courteous and sympathetic to anyone who is doing a job in which the client is not competent. Why after 12 hours spent smiling, explain, listen, answer the phone, respond to email and, in the midst of all this, groped to work while the state does everything to get you shut down. I should add that our maniacal attention, about the proper use of the equipment the hotel is because we want to maintain a good level of quality, even for customers who stay after your departure.
Angela Musacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

We arrived at this hotel our agent had booked for us...The management was an old gentelman who was watching TV and could not speak any English, and didnt really care if we were there or not...he gave us a key to our room without a word... we dragged our suitcases 2 flights of stairs (no lift) and found a very hot small room, with wals covered by mosquitoes... tried to put the aircontitioning on without success... went dowstairs to ask about the airontitioner, and we were told by the same gentelman that it is not working, and when his daughter who could speak English come in she would explain.We went for dinner, andcame back at 10pm..rang the front office bell, and an old lady came angrily out of a room. We asked about the aircontitioner again, as it was very hot, and thats when she started abusing us in Italian, and ordered us to get out of her hotel.. the old gentelman came out at this time, and told us to wait outside until his daughter will arrive, so she can talk to us...by that time we had enough and started dragging 2 suitcases at 10pm, looking for another hotel with available rooms... not easy in Florence..it took us about an hour and lots of km to find rooms.

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela M, Proprietario at Hotel Il Duca, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
The customer is always right is a concept invented by a customer. He's right who is polite, courteous and sympathetic to anyone who is doing a job in which the client is not competent. Why after 12 hours spent smiling, explain, listen, answer the phone, respond to email and, in the midst of all this, groped to work while the state does everything to get you shut down. I should add that our maniacal attention, about the proper use of the equipment the hotel is because we want to maintain a good level of quality, even for customers who stay after your departure.
Angela Musacchio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Il Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Duca

Address: Via della Pergola 34, 50121 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Duca 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Il Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Il Duca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.