We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded every expectation. Superb!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granduomo Charming Accomodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Granduomo Charming Accomodation to your Saves list
Granduomo Charming Accomodation
Piazza del Duomo, no 1/7, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Exceeded every expectation. Superb!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've just returned from a 5 week round the world trip which included hotels generally rated on Trip Advisor as 4.5 to 5 star ratings.

Upon my return I can state without doubt that this hotel in Florence was among our favourites.
A brilliant choice.

Don't look further. Book this hotel!

Location: Superb. Further from the train station than it looks on the map but very close to the major attractions. The location however is much closer to the Basilica than it appears on Google maps. With this in mind I will attach photos. From the front the hotel is just a single door. If arriving late be sure to email the hotel in advance as they will need to provide entry codes to the door, and will leave a key at the front desk for you. We arrived late, and the entry was no issue. Finding the hotel however… was.

Rooms: I had low expectations. This is Italy and in most cases rooms provided will be old, small and have terrible plumbing. This room was so good it was out of character for Italy. The ceilings were 7 metres high and white. We had a very usable kitchette and the beds were comfortable. This hotel must be congratulated on making our stay one of the most memorable on our round the world trip. It’s actually one of the best hotels we stayed in despite the fact we had the lowest expectations for it.

Staff: The staff we met were all elderly and very sweet Italian women who were able to speak English and with this, went out of their way to make us feel as if they were our Nonna’s and looking after us. We felt very comfortable.

Would I stay again: Most certainly. Although Florence can be a little dirty, this hotel is much cleaner than most – and was our safe haven.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    23
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
147
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama-shi, Kanagawa, Japan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, our room wasn't yet ready so, we were offered refreshments in the library until our room was available. I've never seen a more quirky and interesting collection of 'artefacts" in one place. There was definitely something for everybody. Our room was clean, light and airy with all amenities (including complimentary breakfast makings) replenished each day. To our absolute delight (to make up for us having to wait a whole hour for our room on the first day), by surprise we were upgraded to the Deluxe suite, overlooking the Duomo, for our final night. I can honestly say that we have never been so close to the centre of things, and yet able to look at it from a different perspective (first floor balcony over the street leading to the Duomo entrance). The sounds and atmosphere of this last night made out holiday a truly memorable experience. The staff could not do enough to make our stay pleasant and were just so friendly and helpful that I would recommend this charming hotel to my friends, family, ANYONE! Thank you Granduomo for your hospitality and attention to detail.

Room Tip: If at all possible I would recommend booking the deluxe suite. It overlooks the Duomo and the promen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverstone, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The location, the rooms, the staff were all just incredible! I/we agree with what all the other reviewers have said. From the moment of our arrival we felt so pampered by the wonderful staff, our room was spacious and beautifully appointed and the location was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Incredible location just across from the Duomo and a short distance from all other major attractions in Florence. Amazing to walk through the sea of people around the Duomo and walk through the little door to the apartments and your little oasis of calm. There is a roof terrace at the top of the building with tea making facilities and also a library with tea/coffee and cake! on offer. Our apartment was beautiful, parquet flooring, a sofa, kitchen area and great bathroom - all incredibly clean and well looked after and with a view straight onto the Duomo (the sound proofing is amazing, none of the very loud noise from the square can be heard in the rooms). All of the staff were exceptionally helpful and there is parking nearby if you have driven into Florence. It was great to have a little bag of pastries left every morning for breakfast and there was even butter, jam and milk in the fridge. The whole building of apartments is decorated in a very eclectic manner and I loved it!
To help with the location (if you book!) - the apartments are on the north side of the Duomo towards the none Dome end and the doorway is to the left of a leather shop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Granduomo has several things that make it the perfect place to stay in Florence. First the location is as good as it gets, directly across from the Duomo and a short walk from absolutely everything. The apartments are beautiful and comfortable and completely live up to the photos on the website. The thing that really makes it special is the people that run this place. There are hundreds of little details that show how much these people care about their guests. Marinella really makes you feel as if you are not a customer but a guest in their home. The staff is attentive but not in the way, they are quick to offer help on any subject from tours to grocery shopping for the rooms kitchen. The location, the apartment and the wonderful homelike feel makes this a opportunity not to be missed.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms facing the Duomo are amazing. Don't worry about noise, the windows are complete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I kept telling my husband to 'pinch me'!! I couldn't believe where we were and where we were staying. Could not have asked for a better location!! AMAZING AMAZING View of the Grand Duomo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We would look out the window and it felt like I could literally touch it!! It was a sureal experience for sure!

Accommodations were VERY VERY nice! Wondeful!!! Room was large to say the least. King bed, small kitchenette. Could make our own coffee in the AM as wells as some items in the fridge. Ammenities were great!! Beautifully decorated!! It was a suite with a couch,small table with fresh fruit and little goodies every night.

Front desk reception was very nice and helpful!! Marianna(?)

Niceroom on rooftop. Wish it was open tho. Coffee maker up there and some snacks. great view of the 'dome'.

Breakfast could have been better. Four pastries left in nice cloth bag hanging on door in the AM. Would have been nice to have more choices, but still nice.

We also had a view of the Baptistry Piazza to the right. It was fun people watching out our window. I thought it was interesting that every 15 mins. before the hour the bells would toll. Soooo exciting to hear them. Made the experience that much more exciting and sureal! To top it off outside our window was a guitarist. His music was beautiful. It echoed off the walls of the Duomo and sounded amazing. We watched him and listened out our window with a glass of wine in hand. Magical!! I made my husband go down and buy his CDs. :-) We will listen to them and remember our special and magical time there everytime. It just kept getting better and better!! What a wonderful experience and trip of a lifte time we had!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you Ganduomo for making it so special.

Again....AMAZING view!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Wish I could remember the room #, but we were on the 3rd floor. Facing the Duomo. AMAZING as I menti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Granduomo hotel is in the best location in Florence, right on the doorstep of the Duomo and within minutes walk of all the key attractions. Its relaxing roof terrace is the perfect place to chill out after a day of sightseeing amongst the crowds. It is managed by a charming Italian lady for whom nothing is too much trouble. She arranged garage parking (essential in Florence) and recommended and booked a typical local restaurant serving perfect Florentine steak.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granduomo Charming Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granduomo Charming Accomodation

Address: Piazza del Duomo, no 1/7, 50122 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 220 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granduomo Charming Accommodation enjoys a fabulous location in the historic center of Florence. The elegant decor of the aparments, on four floors with elevator service, reflect Italian tastes in the the harmonious colour, the choice of brocades, the furniture, pietra serena , parquet flooring, and travertine marble. The walls, painted in soft, restful colours are embellished with fine stucco works. A charmingly intimate property, the Granduomo offers guests the atmosphere of a private home and, at the same time, all the amenities of a Hotel. Twelve windows overlook the Cathedral of Santa Maria del Fiore, the Duomo, our guests can enjoy their stay in the heart of the city, the main monuments and museums, the most exclusive boutiques and all points of cultural and architectural interest are all within walking distance. Garage service is available for our guests upon request. The exclusive location and the refined ambiance are an unspoken invitation to return to enjoy the beauties of our incomparable Florence again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Granduomo Charming Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granduomo Charming Accomodation Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granduomo Charming Accomodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.