We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about Casa Lea - short stroll from Duomo etc. gorgeous quaint hotel that I definitely recommend & will certainl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Lea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Casa Lea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa Lea
Via Fra Bartolomeo, 21, 50132 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #244 of 461 hotels in Florence
1 review
“Loved everything about Casa Lea - short stroll from Duomo etc. gorgeous quaint hotel that I definitely recommend & will certainl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel - great staff, location is a gentle stroll from Duomo etc. loved everything about this hotel - ambience, staff, furnishings, room & cleanliness. Can't recommend highly enough & can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
11
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed there for 9 nights. 1st impression was that the hotel is very calm and atmospheric. Well hidden, on a very quiet place, but still very close to city center. And there is a big supermarket like 2 minutes walk from hotel; and also very nice place for breakfast (Crazy bar), like 1 minute from hotel; and also bus stop is like 1 minute walk from the hotel (in front of the Crazy bar). Rooms and furniture are very nice - historical, original, very old but in good shape. Even when its very hot outside, its still nicely cool inside. Very friendly personal, rooms are cleaned every day. Next time I come to Florence, I will definitely book this hotel again. Great choice for a great price, and with a lot of style; most recommended if you are looking for nice, small and quite place, near city center but still cheap.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a delightful stay at this hotel in early June. The decor is unusual but the room was large and quiet, the bathroom sparkling clean and the bed linen white and crisp. The hotel is full of interesting objects and the proprietor, Massimo, a charming host.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I like the hotel. It is not a luxury hotel but rooms are charming in their own way, and the area calm unlike the center of Florence. It takes less than 10 minutes by bus to reach the center or railway station.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are so hot it makes for a really uncomfortable stay-no air con only fans, much hotter inside the rooms than it is outside! Staff were fine until we told them we had a problem with our room then they were very defensive and unprofessional. Depending on which room you get they can be ok sized or very very small- we were given a very small room to begin with, we had booked a 'superior double room' but we're given the room advertised on their own website as for single occupancy. When we asked if we could change to a proper double bed room we were told we would have to pay over 100 euros to change for our four night stay. We negotiated the price down but not without a lot of hassle and we still ended up paying more for a room we should have had anyway. Location is a plus- 15 minute walk into the centre and near quite a nice non-touristy area. Bathrooms aren't that clean and its not that secure ad you are asked to leave your room key in reception but no one is ever around and the front door is often left open so anyone could just walk in and help themselves to room keys, we left ours on the first day but not again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel is walking distance from main train station and city centre but if you are travelling with luggage I would recommend taking a cab. Walk without luggage to Duomo may take 15 mins.
The room with bathroom which we booked was spaciuos and... thats it. Smell of putridity from batroom and noise from the street destroy all the advantages the room might have. The bed was quite comfy for two people and the decor of the room may suit somebodys taste. However, the bathroom was disaster. Too small, dirty and smelly with leaking toilet. Wi-fi was loosing connection so it was difficult to do anything like booking train ticket etc.
In general I have mixed feelings about it. Walking distance to centre and size of the room are advantages but the bathroom was unacceptable.
The other thing. They want you to pay full price at check-in so be prepared for it

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
max1881, Direttore at Hotel Casa Lea, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Google Translation
Buongiorno,le rispondo che il bagno da lei tanto criticato è si piccolo,ma non mancante di niente,la camera le è stata consegnata in ordine e dopo la sua partenza abbiamo trovato il gabinetto intasato con un pannolino da donna,perciò è stato ripulito con un costo a carico nostro,il pagamento anticipato è ormai applicato quasi dappertutto.

Tanto Dovevo
Il Direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Casa Lea for 2 nights in florence. We walked there from the train station which was a terrible decision given that we had a lot of bags and it was a loooong walk. Definitely take a cab. Service was not bad, bed was not comfortable but overall the room was clean and served our needs. Wifi cut in and out. Definitely walkable to all of the main florence attractions, but it's a good 15-20 minute walk. We like walking so wasn't a problem for us, but if you don't enjoy walking, maybe stay somewhere else (public transport isn't great in that area). Overall a very good value for the price and we would stay here again (maybe with less luggage).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Casa Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Lea

Address: Via Fra Bartolomeo, 21, 50132 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Casa Lea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Lea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.