We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Volpi E L'Uva

Le Volpi E L'Uva
P.zza de' Rossi, 1, Florence, Italy
055 2398132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 1,976 Restaurants in Florence
Cuisines: European, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place is a little gem. Decided to pop in as we were on our way back from the Boboli Gardens and it didn't disappoint. It is a charming place, staff very nice. A couple of glasses of white wine went down very well in the warm afternoon, then opted for some delicious cold cuts and cheese; needless to say, we ordered another couple of glasses and enjoyed whiling away the time. Fantastic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    60
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Back again, and again, and again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Le Volpi is a wild card-great on a date, entertaining for an aperitivo with friends, cozy for a bite alone. The multilingual staff is friendly, competent and attentive-they'll help you with suggestions and chat with you as little or as much as you wish. It's a must with foreign friends, a welcome ice-breaker with clients: the wine list is varied, but approachable by all, the food flavorful and particular, without being pretentious. The price is right for in-house dining and for take away bottles. Whenever you are in Florence, do stop and smell the wine!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Truffle sausage with melted cheese is heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We went to this petit bistro for some wine but ended up having a full lunch there and taking a bottle back to the hotel. The lady recommended a plate of mixed cheese/cold cuts and truffle sausage + melted cheese on the bread to go with our wine. I think they made every food out of the two small ovens behind the bar which is absolutely amazing. Staff are super friendly and prices are very reasonable. Will def come back for truffle sausage & melted cheese.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near the M25
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Out of the way Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Le Volpi E L 'Ueva was recommended by our guide Angelo (review to follow) and what a find it turned out to be, a short step from the tourist chaos of the Ponte Vecchico, you enter this oasis of calm. Apart from being outstanding value for money the wine list is second to none. The owners search far and wide for the best wines, from those hard to find wines that make you try and look for them once you get back home. My particular favourite was the Tuscan Viognier, delicious. Although not a fully fledged restaurant the food is not bad either with locally sourced cheeses, meats and breads which are an ideal partner for the wine.
We paid a visit at about 5pm every day, and a great way to finish off the day when you are all "Fresco'd out".
Go on, get there and enjoy the wine, before 'the best kept secret in Florence' gets out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Really, this small place is great of its kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We went to Le Volpi e l'Uva—barely a stone's throw from Ponte Vecchio, but an oasis from the tourist madness—because an Italian colleague recommended it as a nice place to get a crisp glass of Italian wine, along with some expert advice, before dinner. We got the glass of wine—a Verdicchio for us both—and the advice, and a plate of Tuscan charcuterie to go with. And then we decided that we were so happy with the wine and the advice and the food that we'd make our dinner there, as we did with another lovely glass of wine—Colli Orientali Friulano—and a plate of smoked trout. The discovery and the oasis and the wine and the food all made for a perfect evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Volpi E L'Uva also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Le Volpi E L'Uva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Volpi E L'Uva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.