We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo

Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo
Piazza dei Peruzzi, 3r, Florence, Italy
39 055 217919
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 1,976 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Luxembourg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

"Osvaldo" is an excellent choice, if you want to taste the local food.
The menu is varied and the prices are more than reasonable. When asking about the different dishes, it was clear that the owner and his staff is passionate about running the restaurant and offering you the best experience.
The owner recommended an excellent wine to go with the food, that we chose. The wine was also priced very reasonably.
It advised to book - several people came and was sent away, while we were there.
I called to book - and normally you need to say, when you will be arriving. Instead, I was told to come when I wanted, as "the table is yours for the night, so come when you want".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    114
    29
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Tuscan restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked as a result of reading favourable Tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. The food was excellent - plenty of great fresh pasta, special local produce and gorgeous desserts. We liked it so much, we went twice during our short stay in Florence.

Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantstic food, lovely atmosphere and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We met another family whilst on recent trip to Firenze, (with children who can be a bit fussy!)
Maitre'd recommended and presented a selection of starters which were wonderfully tasty and gave us fantastic descriptions of the provinence and traditions of the foods.
Highly recommended. We did book ahead as we were a large party but not always necessary.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varenna, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Buono! An absolute treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We dined here for 2 out of 3 nights that we were in Florence. This little restaurant is an absolute gem, quietly tucked away along Piazza dei Peruzzi. Browsing the menu alone is enough to tease your tastebuds. We had the liver pate (served with warm toast), wild boar pasta, spinach ravioli with butter, carved florentine steak - all of which were buono! The staff were extremely patient and friendly.

For dessert, the chef's beautiful creme brulee is worth every single calorie. The texture was creamy yet light and the caramelised top was simply magnificent. A lovely dining experience in the heart of Florence!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and i ate at Club Culinario twice on our recent trip to Florence (lunch and dinner). The food was outstanding, based on regional recipes but with interesting twists and additions. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Well worth a meal if you are in Florence. Very good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Culinario Toscano da Osvaldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.