We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations met at this great restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafaggi

Cafaggi
Via Guelfa | 35 Rosso, 50129 Florence, Italy
+39 055 294989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #221 of 1,967 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $41 - $68
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Rome, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expectations met at this great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our friends told us how great the food was at Cafaggi, so we looked forward to trying it ourselves. We were not disappointed. The food was amazing. The price very reasonable. It's a family run business, friendly and unpretentious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    94
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic family place - no tourist trap !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you wonder where the locals eat or whether there still are restaurants in Florence that are not aiming at tourists as such, then Cafaggi is the place to go !
The family has been running the place for a long time, food is genuine and very good and prices are more than democratic. I only saw local people eat there the only time I went and they all looked like habitués, which means that the quality is constant.
As the place is slightly off track, a stop there is easily combined with a visit to the Mercato San Lorenzo or the Accademia gallery (among others)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful local food generously served at democratic prices. Situated in a lively street just off the beaten track.Good for large groups and small.Frequented by locals and tourists. Set menu very good value. Chef dealt with special dietary reques with no fuss.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant! Def worth the 10 min walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stumbled across Cafaggi on a walk and booked a table. Upon arrival we were a little worried as it seemed quiet - we then realised that this really is a hidden gem frequented by the locals. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and helped us choose the best bottle of wine, which was only €8 - a far cry from the rip off stalls near Ponte Vecchio. The food was simply amazing. We had the Ossobucco, turkey escalopes and a mix of fried zucchini and artichokes. The whole bill for 3 courses, wine and an aperitif was $75. A great restaurant which we will be recommending to anyone coming to Florence

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth the visit to Florence on its own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just returned from four nights in Florence.
We were pondering where we were going to try a Bistecca alla Fiorentina, and while walking past Ristorante Cafaggi on our third day, my wife was attracted by the huge joint of T-Bone meat in the window. I think the thinking was 'if they're confident enough to buy that much meat, they must serve up quite a few portions'. We checked the menu and decided we should try there for dinner that evening.

On arrival, we were welcomed in a very friendly way and they managed to get us a table in the very busy restaurant. To start, my wife had the roasted aubergines to start and I had a huge plate of bresaola (air dried beef) with rocket. Both dished were delicious, especially the bresaola.
As a main we shared a plate of Tagliata - sliced beef steak - which came with rocket. We had sides of fried potatos and salad. I've eaten a lot of steak over the years, and have recently started dishing up a Nigella Lawson version of Tagliata myself, but this was heavenly.
The meat was obviously of top quality, but the way it was cooked and seasoned was just perfect. The house red chianti was a perfect accompaniment to it - and extremely good value too.

The atmosphere was really nice and friendly. The place is obviously run by an extended family, from the guy carving the dried meats and plating up desserts (good work sir!) to the head of the family manning the till. The waitress was helpful and effiicient but also inobtrusive.

This really was one of the best restaurant meals we've ever had.


In fact...It was that good we decided to go back the next night!!

It was busier when we arrived and we feared we might not get a table, but the waitress recognised us and managed to move tables around to get us some space.
This evening we went for the special Florentine menu.
This promised a typical florentine starter, bistecca with fried artichokes and salad, and the dessert of the day.
The starter was a massive selection of dried meats with a plate of cheese and honey. Absolutely delightful (and substantial!).
The main course did not disappoint in the slightest. Meat of the highest quality cooked and served to perfection.
We thought we'd struggle to manage a dessert, but the panna cota was probably one of the tastiest and most wonderful dolce I've ever had.


So. Two of the best restaurant meals we've ever had, on consecutive nights in the same restaurant.

I can't recommend this place highly enough

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafaggi also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Cafaggi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafaggi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.