We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafaggi

Cafaggi
Via Guelfa | 35 Rosso, 50129 Florence, Italy
+39 055 294989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 1,948 restaurants in Florence
Price range: $41 - $68
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Family owned since the 20's and a great experience. Excellent Osobucco! Just a great place, it is bright but don't let that bother you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    100
    82
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The original cousin and very friendly atmosphere.
Ristorante is family owned. Original owners (over 80 years old) are till working welcoming guests.
One of the best places for calf breaded brain – the very old Toscana dish.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Loved it! We're going back again tonight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Delightful family restaurant, operational since 1922. Excellent food. Connie, our waitress, spoke perfect English and is the 4th generation. We were headed to a different restaurant and stopped at a small shop (nearby as it turned out). The woman there (very tactfulky) suggested Cafaggi as typical Tuscan fare. We bypassed the other restaurant and went here. So happy we did. My only criticism is the lighting--waaaay too bright. But the food and family owners were so delightful that we're going back tonight! An excellent find that I doubt many tourists go to. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth NH
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tuscan fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a Florentine native as offering typical rustic Tuscan food at a reasonable price in a busy and expensive city. It was right on the money, Via Guelfa is near the San Lorenzo market and we were spending one night in Florence to be near the rail station. Brightly lit, nothing romantic, a place for good solid fare, usual bruschetta starters, excellent prosciutto, well priced local wine by the carafe, delicious saffron and zucchini flower pasta, great Florentine steaks, seafood, fresh strawberries nicely prepared by the owner, or a good tiramisu. The locals got a bit loud later, usually a good sign... good value for money...plenty of choice in the fixed price menus or a la carte.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cafaggi, Florence, April 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was in Cafaggi in mid of April this year with my brother. We both ordered menu for fixed price (20 EUR I belive). The menu consisted of primi and segundi, accompanied with some bread of course, and you had like 6 choices of primi and segundi (there were more primi and segundi to choose from, but it would be for price 20 EUR together). Chose filled raviolli and salmon steak with vegetable salad. Raviolli were very good, as is almost any pasta in almost any good restaurant in Italy. Salmon was excellent, very juicy and fresh as far as I can tell. We tried different restaurant each day, and never got back to Cafaggi again that time, but at the end of our 9day trip in Florence, we agreed that it was probably our best dinner of the trip. We are coming back there next month and definitely want to pay it another visit.
Dont expect some mind-blowing heavenly food experience over there, but you will surely get delicious food for average price. Primi were around 10 EUR and segundi 15-30 EUR (more likely 20-30 EUR, depending on type of segundi) as far as I remember.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafaggi also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Cafaggi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafaggi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.