We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Day Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 500 Touring Club

500 Touring Club
Via Gherardo Silvani, 50125 Florence, Italy
+39 346 8262324
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$125*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take the wheel of a vintage Italian 1960's FIAT, a car so stylish that you look cool even in the heat of August! Voted "sexiest car in the world" by Top Gear. Join one of our convoy tours for the most fun you've had in years!Itineraries include picnics, panoramic swimming pools, wine and olive oil tastings and more.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a special way to spend my daughters 21st. The 500 Touring club will always be part of milestones for us. We were recommended this tour through a friend and loved the whole idea. We have been to Italy numerous times but never had an experience like this. The other people were good company and we enjoyed the wine tasting and cake at the end of the day, that was organised for my daughter.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Well worth the time and cost.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

First of all this touring club is a one-of-a-kind idea. We signed up for the wine-making tour but I think the owners are smart and savvy enough to know how to make all of their offerings special. We met with our guide Giuseppe at a Villa just outside of Florence. He introduced us to our fellow drivers and to our machine of the day - a classic 1967 Fiat 500 - in amazing condition. In almost flawless English he explained some of the history and peculiarities of the car and, in turn, taught us how to double clutch in his "simulator" (an old 500 without a rear end). Then we revved them up and were on the road in a caravan around Florence. Most of the time we were on perimeter roadways - at least until the last leg. We made 3 stops along the way to enjoy some landmarks and the spectacular views of the city. Then we returned to the Villa where we discovered the wine was made. We stood in the vineyard while the winemaker, Fabrizio, explained the process and answered questions with Giuseppe translating. We picked grapes, then drove them up to the main building where we saw the machinery and vats used. Then it was shoes-off time so that we could crush our grapes (get your camera out for that part!). Then into the cellar where the wine is aged in barrels. Finally out to the pool for a wonderful cheese, wine and meats lunch. All the while our guide was pointing out the sights around us and explaining the details of wine-making, tasting and enjoying. The wine you will drink was made and bottled on the property! The Villa only produces 10,000 bottles a year - so the expression "rare treat" is no exaggeration. What a day! Lots of fun and well worth the expense.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant honeymoon trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a fantastic tour around Florence as part of our honeymoon - would recommend this to anyone who wants to see Florence in a different way! Excellent double-declutching lessons (I think we just about learnt the basics...), and we got a great recommendation for a restaurant for bistecca alla fiorentina (Il Latini) too. All in all had a brilliant time and would definitely book another tour (also was the first and only time our modern 500 looked big next to anything!)

Thank you, Jake and Elena

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'm still grinning with delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was in Florence with a group of friends and we took the picnic tour with Andrea and it was amazing! The best thing we did in Italy by far! The tour starts just outside of Florence, and I was a bit scared about driving the old cars, but the double clutch wasnt hard at all after the lesson, and starting on a private road through a vineyard gave me the practice I needed. The lunch was amazing and the pool just what we needed in the summer heat! AAAA++++!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a brilliant day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were in Florence in September 2012, and wanted to hire a new Fiat 500 to tour Tuscany in – we stumbled across this website, and decided to do the Wine Making tour in one of the lovely old 500s. It was just brilliant – fun driving the little car (which attract a lot of attention and interest - get that waving hand ready!) The wine making tour was excellent also – I've been on loads of these before, but have never had a go at treading grapes. The day ended with a lovely lunch and some wine sampling. If you are in Florence for a day or two, do yourself a favour – get out of the busy and hot city, and take one of these lovely vintage 500s for a spin!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 500 Touring Club also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to 500 Touring Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 500 Touring Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.