We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced veg place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Sedano Allegro

Il Sedano Allegro
Via Farini 1/3 r, 50121 Florence, Italy
055 2344020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #922 of 1,939 Restaurants in Florence
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Vercorin
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced veg place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had supper there with a local friend. Nice variety of veg dishes, neatly presented, not overcooked and pleasantly spiced. Desserts were rather average. Ample wine selection. We arrived early and had booked a table but by 8:00 PM, the place was chockfull so despite the rather negative comments from other travellers, locals seem to appreciate this type of veg cuisine. We're glad we were introduced to this restaurant and will return. It's opposite the synagogue so relatively easy to find.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    110
    69
    24
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“reasonable vege restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Given that it seems italian vege restaurants don't often serve dishes based on lentils or pulses we found this one quite good. Went at lunch time when it wasn't very busy and had good and pleasant service. Thought they depended too much on seitan - but enjoyed what we had. Would return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“don't bother, especially at lunch time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

When I was recently in florence with my husband, I wanted to have lunch in a place that serves plenty of vegetables and not just the regular pasts dishes. I found this restaurant, and decided to give it a try, even though it was quite the walk from Florence's Duomo.
We arrived there, and had to proactively ask the waitresses to bring us the menus or to come and get our orders, even though the place was not that packed. The lunch menu was pretty limited (which is fine), but they were already out of at least one dish from the entrees and their main courses. i was seriously disappointed to see that they too offered mainly carb-based dishes, loaded with cheese, with hardly any veggies in sight.
I had their risotto in tomate sauce and found to be very bland, so was my husband's pasta in cheese sauce. For the main course, I had the salad, which is bigger than your usual "small tomato and some lettuce", but still- no where near satisfying. my husband had the egg, creamed with cheese, and it was basically an egg, covered with cheese that someone put int he microwave.

Maybe this place shows is true, amazing spread in teh evening, but it was such a disappointment- such basic food and after quite the "schlepp". I would definietly pass.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“WHY BOTHER?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Many years ago this restaurant was the ONLY vegetarian restaurant in Florence at a time when vegetarian options at most restaurants were almost non-existent. As a result, Sedano Allegro developed a faithful clientele. But times have changed and now there are several excellent vegetarian restaurants here with imaginative menus focusing on seasonal vegetables and inspired seasonings. La Raccolta, open only at lunch, is an excellent example. These newer vegetarian restaurants offer excellent value and are always packed with satisfied customers. Nevertheless, Sedano Allegro remains fixed in the 1990’s with their same tired menu and high prices. Pasta pomodoro? Melanzane alla parmigiana? Zuppa di vedura? PLEASE, USE SOME IMAGINATION!!!! Their menu is the same all year and does not vary with the seasons. In my opinion Sedano Allegro is more appropriate for carnivores who “occasionally” want to try something different. But the majority of the Sedano Allegro menu can be found at any regular Italian restaurant here in Florence, which almost all offer vegetarian options these days. However, for true vegetarians and vegans who eat a non-meat diet every day, this restaurant is sure to be a huge disappointment.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Sedano Allegro also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Il Sedano Allegro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Sedano Allegro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.