We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant of 20 days in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria del Teatro

Osteria del Teatro
Via Maffei, 2, 52044 Cortona, Italy
+39 0575 630556
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 86 Restaurants in Cortona
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best restaurant of 20 days in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This is an absolute "must do" when you visit the beautiful city of Cortona. "Only" 500 different bottels of wine on the wine list and some of the finest Italian dishes on the menu. The location is great and the service is warme and very personal. Just the way we like it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    259
    50
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cortona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Fabulous restaurant. Ask for their special Campari spritzer to start off your meal. Do not expect to get up from the table hungry! The waiter couldn't have been more helpful and gave excellent advice about the choice of wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Our experience at this restaurant was great, and we would travel back just to eat here again. We ate indoors in the lovely great room. The menu was incredibly diverse which we appreciate. We ate tortelloni stuffed with braised beef with sweet onion sauce from Tropea; tortellini with tartufo; pink farfalle noodles with beef; taglioni with duck and fennel. Everything was outstanding. All pastas are homemade. The onion in the bag was delicious. We also ordered desserts which we don't normally do--however this was due to the outstanding nature of. This included a mille fleur and nocciola gelato served with choolate pistachio shavings. Cool appliances included a huge pepper grind and a special server for the chocolate. Excellent ambience and service. Absolutely charmed and will long remember. Plus, prices were very affordable, especially for the quality.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortona, Italy
1 review
“Excellent experience - just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had very good dinner and lunch in the restaurant, the personal was friendly and we had an "agreeable" time, caring. Good wine recommendations. It was alround enjoyable. dont miss to visit the restrooms..... Enjoy

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I ate dinner twice while we were staying near Cortona and thoroughly enjoyed the experience both times. This is a lovely and relaxed restaurant with excellent Tuscan food, a great wine list and a staff both helpful and delightful. It's a "don't miss" when you are in Cortona.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Teatro also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Osteria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria del Teatro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.