We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Dardano

Trattoria Dardano
24 Via Dardano, Cortona, Italy
0575 601944
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 86 Restaurants in Cortona
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice food, pleasant staff.

Not flash, good value, can't go wrong if you want a pleasant meal.

Very busy.

The Locals use this place as far as we could tell.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    152
    65
    21
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hearty but rushed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Large portions of hearty food that's tasty and fresh. My husband had the lamb and was really impressed. I think I overdid it with the mushrooms, but it was a specialty, so I think I had them on every dish.There's a large menu, great wine, but don't bother leaving room for desert. Both choices looked and tasted like a hurried afterthought. It's a busy place, so the food comes quickly to clear the table for the next party waiting on the street. It was a great meal, though not really a place to linger over several bottles of wine. Good food and service though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Least favorite of the three places we had dinner in Cortona (and they don't take credit cards)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This place is fine - our experience was just nothing special. It was one of the few places open Monday night so despite assurances to the contrary we had to wait about 30 minutes for a table.

We shared a caprese salad which was good and plenty for two people. The lamb entree was flavorful but my scaloppine (veal) was rubbery and rather tasteless. The wine selection was decent and seemed reasonably priced but I saw better at other trattorias in Cortona.

To be fair it was 20h45 before we were seated and 21h15 by the time we were served - this is late by Cortona Monday night standards so maybe it was just an off experience. Not a clunker but in a place where incredible food and wine are abundant I was disappointed.

Note: Make sure you have cash on hand as they do not take credit or debit cards.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice food and wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

You can taste the typical roast meats such as Chicken, Rabbit, Duckand Guinea Hen at this Trattoria all cooked to perfection. We all enjoyed our food.The wine selection as with most trattoria was wonderful .My partner had the soup which was a Vegatable .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Bruschette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was a great meal and local wine. They had the best Bruschette. I am trying to copy at home but still know luck. Best meal that we had in Cortona. We also went to the wine shop in the square which was alot of fun

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Dardano also viewed

Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
Cortona, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Trattoria Dardano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Dardano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.