We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further for old fashioned hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poggio Sant'Angelo

Save Saved
You added Poggio Sant'Angelo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Poggio Sant'Angelo
Strada Provinciale Manzano, 42 | Gps: 43°13'54. 77" N - 11°50'51. 08" E, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Cortona B&B and Inns
Sydney
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Look no further for old fashioned hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Although this B&B's location does not provide that classic Tuscan scenery people should not be deterred from here.
The rooms are affordable and comfortable for families and the breakfast is ample.
Luca and Luigi are what gives this place a soul, they are friendly, efficient and always willing to help and should be the reason you book your stay at Poggio Sant'Angelo.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Caversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here briefly as part of our honeymoon and had booked our stay on the strength of the reviews here but were really disappointed with pretty much every aspect of this B&B.

First of all, it is situated right next to a road, so any illusion of a peaceful Tuscan retreat is shattered as soon as you arrive, it's not a hugely busy road, but certainly busy enough for the traffic noise to disturb your sleep. It is also with noting that the pool is visible from the road and is heavily overlooked by the car park so it's not the most inviting or relaxing place to spend any time. The rooms are large but sparsely furnished and the bed was absolutely rock hard. We also noted that the shower in our room did not drain properly and the A/C was extremely noisy, although that did help drown out some of the traffic noise. One other point to note is that there is currently some construction going on nearby so you can hear the diggers running during the day and guard dogs barking all night adding to the A/C and traffic noise cacophony whilst you lay awake on bed that is seemingly cut from a slab of granit.

As for the food, we ate there one night and whilst the terrace is quite romantic, the food is average at best and one of our fellow diners was served some rotten lamb that had to be sent back to the kitchen. That said, the staff were friendly and helpful, so it definitely has that going for it, but, honestly, given that there are so many great places to stay in the area, this one is best avoided.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poggio S, Proprietario at Poggio Sant'Angelo, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations and we will be sure to improve from your constructive notes !.
Having said that we would like to highlight some elements.
This building after renovation has been recorded as an " hystorical building" and has to be preserved as it is. There is a big part of the region's history that can be discovered from this architecture. In the good and bad this means for example that for A/C we had to use an "all internal" equipment....it is a little noisy but we try to make it as unnecessary as possible respecting the environment.
The building is located in a farming area and so it is normal and typical to ear tractors going up and down the fields to harvest or plow... the beauty of country houses .... we did not have any construction going on. Next time I would suggest to came in July, spanding more than just an overnight (!), and stay when sunflowers in the fields next to our property are spectacular.. or in june when the greens of the growing corn and the blues of the sky together with a perfect weather makes this place a paradise.
As for the food we never served and never were appointed of serving rotten lamb !! on the contrary we continuosly receive clients from all over the region and many of them comes to eat here from other resorts and hotels as we are recognized to offer a high quality food. What might have happened probably is that the client asked for a deeper cooking of the meat ... we consider ourself expert of the regional recipes and serve the food as our traditions teach us.
Some meat should not bee overcooked to remain soft and juicy .... some people don't like this... but we try to teach !
Finally ... we are open since 2 years and we have received not many comments on Trip Advisor ... this should proof that those comments are genuine and sincere .... on the contrary there are 1 or 2 competitors in the area that adds hundreds of comments every month .... and this is really unusual ...there is a suspicious high concentration of comments for them !
The gentle and friendly staff is very passionate with this job and look forward to meet you again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Luca looks after the accomdation/guest relations side of things while Luigi is the Chef. Both are at the top of their game making sure that everything is top shelf. Luigi's cooking deserves a special mention as it's fantastic, he is a perfectionist!

The friendly and professional service that we received from these two and the rest of the staff at Poggio Saint'Angelo (especially towards my children) should serve as an example to the other tourism related businesses throughout Italy! This will be the place that you will measure all other Italian B&B accomodation by!
Best regards, M&K.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This charming and lovely B&B has all the atmosphere, character, and amenities a vacationer could seek. The rooms, indoor and outdoor dining, views, menus and food are the best!. Luca enhanced our stay by giving us routes each day to see off the beaten path that were supreme. Although in Cortona, one is on the edge of Toscana and the towns, scenery, and people are among the best in 3 visits to Toscana and nearby areas. Luca's routes sent us to places you won't find in the tourist books. We rate it excellent and would definitely revisit and highly recommend without hesitation. Ellen made wonderful breakfasts, Luca gave sightseeing routes daily, and Luigi prepared great meals.....the entire staff will spoil you to no end! A must to stay!
Ray and Kyle
Richmond, Virginia

Room Tip: Front suite was spacious and lovely. Overlooked flower/sculpture gardens and entrance. We were for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Since other travellers said a lot already, let me say - they are right.
You will like the house, but it is actually not about the house. It is cute, the one you would like to stay in during your first, second, third, ... fiftyeight Tuscany experience. Authentic, but with intelligent energy saving solutins in heating system, beautuful pine trees, pool, olive yard and of course - l'orto.
Not just regular l'orto, but the one with stage and small amphitheatre with Patrizio working on his new sculpture...
As I said, it is not only about the hose but about the staff led by Luca & Luigi who give house the soul and will welcome you as a friend.
We got all advices we needed - from itinerary and places to visit, GPS unit and farewell straberry pie.
Top that.
Tanti saluti di Croatia!

Room Tip: Zaferano (for couples)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at Poggio Sant'Angelo this past March and plan to recommend it to everyone we know going to Tuscany. The villa itself is beautiful - each room has it's own decor, there is a large common room, several comfy outdoor love seats/chairs, as well as a patio to lounge on, take in the country side and enjoy a Tuscan sunset. This villa is with in 30 minutes from several of the Tuscan wine towns you'll want to go to & Luca, one of the managers, has a passion for helping people figure out individualized itineraries. When you've explored all of his fantastic recommendations; the villa has a restaurant with what has to be one of the best chefs in the area at the wheel - what energy Luca has for trip planning Luigi equals in his amazing cooking and personalized service. Luca and Luigi's friendliness made us feel so at home which is really what makes this place stand out. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband and I spent one night at the Poggio Sant'Angelo and it became one of our best stay throughout our Italian trip.

The room was very nice and comfortable. The services and facilities were superb. We really felt wonderful and special during our stay at B&B. Luca did a splendid job as a host for showing us around the property and give us very valuable advice for our trip.

We also dined at the restaurant there, which is run by Luigi. The food was fantastic and i would recommend everyone to dine at the restaurant. Luigi was a great chef, very friendly and attentive to customers.

I would say that what make this place special is the passion that I felt from both Luca and Luigi. I would definitely recommend everyone to stay and dine at the Poggio Sant'Angelo

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Poggio Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poggio Sant'Angelo

Address: Strada Provinciale Manzano, 42 | Gps: 43°13'54. 77" N - 11°50'51. 08" E, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poggio Sant'Angelo is a typical farm house of Valdichiana recently renovated to become an elegant country house with fenced garden and swimming pool. Located between the towns of Cortona (15 km) and Foiano della Chiana (5 km) is the ideal place for those who want to start excursions around the provinces of Siena, Arezzo and Perugia. The nearby motorway allows you to reach Perugia and Siena in 30 minutes while passing through the rolling hills of Siena in about 30/40 minutes the towns of Montepulciano, Pienza, Montalcino, Castiglione del Lago can be reached. Many wineries are found nearby that have a small production of high quality wines, and from here you can go to horseback riding and mountain biking along the paths of reclamation. Rooms at the Poggio Sant'Angelo are all very spacious and well-appointed with private bathroom and air conditioning, and an excellent restaurant on site allows you to spend a relaxing evening followed by a restfull sleep. We speak perfect English and German and fluent Spanish ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Poggio Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Poggio Sant`Angelo Hotel Cortona
Bed And Breakfast Poggio Sant`Angelo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poggio Sant'Angelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.