We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven in the hills of Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle to your Saves list
Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle
Loc Pierle, 30, 52040 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven in the hills of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I had the absolute best vacation of our lives at Rocca. The accomodations were outstanding, clean and spacious, fully stocked with every amenity you could want. The property is beautiful, a piece of old world Italy with positively breathtaking settings. Our host, Andrea, could not have been nicer. Andrea's advice on dining (even making our reservations) led to some of the most delicious food in Tuscany. His advice on what cities to visit, alternate routes and timing our visits allowed us to see much more of the countryside then we would have dreamed possible. Andrea being on the property daily and welcoming our every question, conversation and giving his well informed opinions made our vacation more than we could have ever imagined. I cannot wait to return to the property!!

Room Tip: Every apartment is perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaLuchini, Proprietario at Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Carla,

First of all thank you for the wonderful review you wrote for Rocca di Pierle.

Read that your holiday time at Rocca di Pierle was the best you have ever spent, is a great satisfaction for me.

My mission is to make sure that the holidays of my clients remain a beautiful memory in their mind.

Your happiness and your appreciation help me to improve my work and my attention to the details.

My special greetings to your husband… waiting to meet together again in my garden to enjoy a good glass of Chianti wine…

Thank you again for your kindness, from all Rocca di Pierle’s staff.

Ciao.

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
67
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I can heartily recommend a visit to Rocca di Pierle. The location is stunningly beautiful with breathtaking views. The apartment and gardens were of a high standard and clearly very lovingly maintained. Andrea was a wonderful host and couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. Our holiday was an enjoyable and relaxing experience. You do need a car. There are local shops within a few minutes drive and a variety of restaurants in Cortona and the surrounding villages.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Couldn't have asked for more. The spot is so relaxing we extended our stay which Andrea made very easy for us. He is the perfect host and went out of his way to be helpful. The facilities are done to very high standards. I have no reservations in giving this holiday 5 stars.

Jez Foster

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

we have stayed at this property four times and we will do so again. If you are looking for peaceful and beatuiful surroundings with understated but attentive service then I can't recommend it highly enough. there are many attractions to see in the locality which are both on and off the tourist route but all of which give the true Italian experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

...I really don't have to say much other than GO! When starting the search for a trip in Italy...the reviews on here obviously helped sway our decision. It really was just perfect...& then we met Andrea & his father Stefano & it became even more perfect.

As per other reviews...you really have everything covered. We visited with our 3-yr old daughter so limited with some things (especially with the August heat) but it was exactly what we needed. Fabulous pool to cool us down...catch some rays whilst our daughter was able to remain shaded by the umbrellas by the pool. BBQ every night outside our own 2-bed accommodation...with THE most amazing food from the local shops (local butcher / bakery / grocery store...).

We visited Cortona a few times....Siena, Assisi....& loved every place for different reasons. Only wish we had stayed longer to add more to our trip (...next time!).

Would love to return & encourage anyone to visit. Thanks Andrea!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I am looking back on a perfect holiday. All ingredients are present, you can choose whatever you want: just relaxing in the garden, swimming, enjoying the sun, city trips, hiking, biking, cooking classes, wine tasting, visiting fine restaurants. The owner Andrea gives perfect advise, you can do a lot but you can also enjoy doing nothing.
Besides Andrea the whole family is involved in the business, his wife made a cake for us, his father build the house and takes care of things, together with Andreas mother.
The apartments have a nice traditional atmosphere but with modern facilities like airco and wifi.
There are only three apartments on a 5.000 m2 property with a big swimming pool, that is what makes Rocca di Pierle uniquely relaxed, together with the modest presence of the owner Andrea who helps you exploring the region.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Just back from another (our seventh) wonderfully relaxing holiday in Rocca di Pierle. I can confirm that the standards of hospitality and accomodation are as high as ever - and in one significant respect they have improved even further.
We have never felt the need for air-conditioning during any of the holidays we have spent in this fabulous accomodation. However this year the owners have installed an environmentally friendly air-conditioning system which we used only at night. We didn't it but the result was that our sleep was even better than before. The particular system installed must be the quietest one available as it was almost silent in operation.
The best is now even better!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle

Address: Loc Pierle, 30, 52040 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the green hills of the Pierle valley, only a few miles awayfrom the Etruscan town of Cortona, lies the Country House Rocca di Pierle,an ideal place to seek and find tranquillity and peace. The completely restoredfarm house, finished in the end of 2004, overlooks a beautiful valleyand is bathed from early morning to evening by warm sunshine. Besidethe apartments the adjoining storeroom has been restored and is now usedas a breakfast room and is available to guests for their lunches and dinners.Rocca di Pierle Country House is only 10 miles from Cortona, and is 500m above sea level. Its central position is within easy reach of the major culturallocations and natural areas of Tuscany and Umbria., such as Florence,Siena, Perugia, Assisi and Rome. Vineyards nearby include the Chianti region,Montalcino and Montepulciano. After their excursions guests can relaxin the Country House’s own swimming pool (7,5 x 14 m) and enjoythe breathtaking natural surroundings. The “Country House Rocca di Pierle”has been beautifully restored and is a relaxing and comfortable residence,where guests enjoy faultless service and an incomparable atmosphere insurroundings that are cared for in every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.