We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Italian Dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle

Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle
Loc Pierle, 30, 52040 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Italian Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Yet another wonderful stay at Rocca di Pierle. As we have found on our three previous visits, this property has everything you could wish for. Exceptionally clean, well furnished, comfortable beds and idyllic surroundings. If you choose to self cater, the kitchen has all the equipment you would require, together with a BBQ for guest use. Andrea gives 200% to ensure that his guest's stay is perfect. Nothing is too much trouble. The surrounding area is very interesting, with plenty of places to visit, whether your interests are historical, cultural or culinary. If sight seeing isn't your forte, then just sit by the pool, relax and absorb the tranquility and beautiful views. You don't know what you're missing, it is magical!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
58
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Attleborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our fourth visit to Rocca di Pierle and I am sure it won't be the last. The whole experience is first class and very intimate as there are only 3 apartments. The pool area and landscaping are immaculate and are never crowded even when all apartments are booked. It truly is a magical place and a terrific way to unwind. The Tuscan hills surround you and you are very near Cortona, one of the beautiful Tuscan cities. Andrea is the perfect host and can not do enough for you. Try it for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in May 2012. The location is good, the owner, Andrea Luchini goes out of his way to make your stay special. He is very personable, speaks English very well and I appreciated that he has all the services clearly defined that are included and those with an extra charge. He gives a briefing with an overview of the area, provides a packet with places of interest and specifics about the facility. He also gives you a cell phone that can be used while you are a guest.

An example of his hospitality is on the day we checked out to drive to Venice we had a problem with the ATM in town; we called Andrea and he called his father, who lives in town. His father met us at the ATM and helped with the problem. He also followed up with an email to be sure the problem was addressed.

The location of the property is beautiful and inspires relaxation. It was a little chilly during our stay, so we did not spend too much time outside by the pool. We could see how this would be fabulous if the temperature is warmer. We stayed in the La Loggia apartment; it was immaculate; nicely furnished, comfy beds, felt like home. We had internet access, used the washing machine (for a reasonable fee). There is a patio with table and chairs outside the front door; however the wall around the patio blocks the gorgeous view. You have good views from the windows, but the best way to see the hills and the valley would be from the pool area.

The kitchen has all of the items needed if you want to cook. You need to stop to get some basic items like paper towels, dish washing soap, condiments, plus food. Speaking of food, we participated in the cooking lesson that was offered. Ms Anna, the teacher, was wonderful and we had a very enjoyable time; but I would not do this again as the cost was relatively high.

Bear in mind that you are in the Tuscany region and a car is necessary. We found that it took about 45-60 minutes to get from Rocca di Pierle to other places of interest. The drive is breathtaking, but you will spend 1.5 to 2 hours each day getting to/from. Our favorite trip was to Sienna; cute town, nice size and great eating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Last year, my wife, daughter and I all stayed at Andrea Luchini's Agriturismo Rocca Di Pierle for three weeks. What a special treat!

The house is located in the hills of Tuscany near a little village that has a castle. The castle itself is closed and under repair, but it sets the backdrop looking down into the valley that, from the house looks fantastic. This is a rural area, where the men head into the woods in the morning on a tractor to selectively cut trees (no big bald patches).

Andrea went out of his way to accommodate, coordinating wine tasting and helping with a rental car, but was not "in your face" all the time. He and his family were more than gracious hosts, especially considering they were working through his wife going to the hospital, recovering from a car accident.

The grounds are very well maintained with a wonderful pool, lots of flowers, and many butterflies that my daughter enjoyed chasing.

I personally can not think of a place where I have been on vacation that was more comfortable, relaxing and welcoming.

The only shortfalls that I experienced was the weather (odd for the time of year and out of Andrea's control) and entry / exit of parking can be challenging if the tenants are not in a sharing mood.

This is a centrally located place, with easy access (once you figure out the roads) to many things to see and do. Be sure to stop in the grocery in Mercatale, who went well over and above to help us.

Saturday was market day in Camucia, which is something to experience. Parking in Cortona can be challenging, so if you are there during prime time and see a spot - take it!

To this very day, my daughter (4 1/2 years old at the moment) still says "remember, in Italy we...". This was her first trip to Italy and was obviously a memorable one.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms tend to stay a very constant and cool temperature, which is a significant ben...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We were in Cortona with our year old son to get married and could not have booked a better place to stay. I haven't stopped recommending since we got back!
Everything people say about this place is true. Not only is the accommodation perfect and location magical, you have the perfect host in Andrea.
The first night we arrived my son was poorly and had a very high temperature - Andrea gave us his number and his fathers and said not to worry how late it was but if we needed a dr to ring. I found out a few days later that at the time Andrea's wife was in hospital after a crash.Unless he told you, you would never have known as at no point did his attentiveness and eager to please and look after his guests falter.
The garden areas and pool area were beautifully maintained and it was so peaceful and relaxing to sit outside during the day and night. You easily forgot you were there with other guests!
Mornings were glorious, waking up above the clouds.
It was a perfect holiday in ever way. Not only did we get married whilst there but staying here really helped make it a special holiday.
The great thing about here is it caters for all, young old, couples, families - yes there is no activities for children such as 'club, climbing frames etc' but there is a pool and gardens and your imagination which is better than anything else.
Whilst here you eat at Borgo Di Vagli. Had a lovely meal and they were so helpful with our son - we forgot his cup but they had one they could provide and played with him.
I really can't say enough about this place - stay here and see for yourself

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

"Andrea's farmhouse is a very special place, made more so by its host, Andrea. We spent a wonderful week here for our honeymoon and had the most amazing and happy time. From the moment we arrived, Andrea made us feel so welcome and at home. The cake was a lovely gesture and incredibly tasty! Our apartment was beautiful, in a fantastic location with wonderful views of the Pierle Valley. The gardens and pool are gorgeous and it is clear that Andrea takes great pride in the entire property, working hard to ensure guests have a great holiday. You'll need a car to get out-and-about but lots to see in the area, including Cortona, Siena and Montepulciano. We will definitely be going back. A truly magical place. Thank you Andrea."

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011 via mobile

Mg husband, daughter and I stayed at Rocca Di Pierle for five days. Andrea was a wonderful host, who welcomed us with a cake freshly baked by his wife, and provided us with great local advice. The pool was a perfect place to relax and unwind after days out exploring beautiful Cortona and other cities. It was a wonderful holiday. We would be very happy to return one day!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle

Address: Loc Pierle, 30, 52040 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Specialty lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the green hills of the Pierle valley, only a few miles awayfrom the Etruscan town of Cortona, lies the Country House Rocca di Pierle,an ideal place to seek and find tranquillity and peace. The completely restoredfarm house, finished in the end of 2004, overlooks a beautiful valleyand is bathed from early morning to evening by warm sunshine. Besidethe apartments the adjoining storeroom has been restored and is now usedas a breakfast room and is available to guests for their lunches and dinners.Rocca di Pierle Country House is only 10 miles from Cortona, and is 500m above sea level. Its central position is within easy reach of the major culturallocations and natural areas of Tuscany and Umbria., such as Florence,Siena, Perugia, Assisi and Rome. Vineyards nearby include the Chianti region,Montalcino and Montepulciano. After their excursions guests can relaxin the Country House’s own swimming pool (7,5 x 14 m) and enjoythe breathtaking natural surroundings. The “Country House Rocca di Pierle”has been beautifully restored and is a relaxing and comfortable residence,where guests enjoy faultless service and an incomparable atmosphere insurroundings that are cared for in every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.