We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding at Rocca di Pierle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle

Save Saved
You added Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle
Loc Pierle, 30, 52040 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our wedding at Rocca di Pierle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had our wedding here in June and could not have picked a better venue. We stayed here with our family and had our wedding reception at the house. Everyone had a fantastic time. The owner, Andrea, is lovely and very accommodating.

The house is at the top of hill with beautiful views of the valley below. The gardens surrounding the house are also beautiful and very well kept - perfect for wedding pictures. It feels like you are in middle of nowhere but is actually only about half an hour from Cortona.

We would love to go back and visit someday.

Room Tip: We hired out all 3 apartments and I would be happy to stay in any of them again. They are very well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
58
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

A fantastic location steeped in the history of the region.
Where else can you watch the dusk creep slowly along the valley floor, or watch the first rays of sun burn off the light mist in the valley below?
We have booked our third holiday for next year and are really looking forward to it.

The three separate apartments offer varied accommodation, each to a high specification in sympathy with the Tuscan setting. The owner was always available, but never intrusive. The kitchen and bathroom, provided all we needed, and the seating was ample and comfortable. The standard of cleanliness was exceptional. Discreet on-site laundry facilities are available.

The carefully tended garden gives colour and a relaxing environment, and the pool offers an opportunity to relax.

The villa is situated within easy reach for day trips to Florence, Siena, Assissi, Cortona and the islands of Maggiore and Polvese.

Room Tip: The Loggia is the best and most private of the three apartments, with its own covered balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Excelllent holiday, great house, helpfull owner...all you really want for a great holiday stay in toscany. Kids loved the pool and suited our smallest 3y. old boy also well.
We really want to return to Rocca di Pierle. Cortona is nicely only 20 minutes away and within an hour there is Prada outlet, the Mall and other shopping. The area of course have awsome food and wine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Our second stay here and we will return again. A wonderful setting and excellent accomodation where we had another peaceful and relaxing break, yet near to lovely hill top towns (e.g. Cortona, Montepulciano, Gubbio) that are a must when visiting this area. The appartments are of a very high standard and well equiped, together with the lovely gardens/pool, and set in beautiful Tuscan countryside with amazing views of the Mercatale Valley. Andrea the owner is very helpful, friendly and welcoming and always there when you need some local kowledge for e.g. trips and restaurants etc. We can't wait to be there again!

Ian & Ros

Room Tip: The appartments are well appointed and the Villa has wonderful views so choose according to size nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dears Ian & Ros,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I’m really very happy to know that you spent a lovely time here and that my Villa is your favourite in Tuscany, even if it’s also a great responsibility…

I try to do my best in order to offer a very nice and relaxing accommodation,
You know my method of work; I'm at disposal of the guests 24 hours a day, I organize for the people who come here daily trips in the most important Tuscan and Umbrian cities nearby.
I reserve restaurants (I have many good selected restaurants to advise my guests), I provide cooking classes ruled by a professional and speaking English Teacher Cook and wine and cheese tastings with a guide, trekking trails and many others facilities…

I’m very proud to know that you will return again in my Villa, I will be happy to drink a glass of wine together in your favourite Tuscan “Digs”….

Thank you very much for your time.

Regards,

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

You need a car if you wish to stay at this delightful place as the nearest airport in Perrugia is a couple of hours away.Set in the beautiful Tuscan countryside, the three apartments overlook a wide valley and enjoy their own private garden spaces and a beautifully maintained shared swimming pool.Its an excellent base from where to visit the art and architectural wonders of Tuscany and especially the Tuscan hill towns. Villages close by have good restaurants . We also made good use of the thoughtfully furnished kitchen buying provisions from the village. Overall it was a wonderful experience mainly on account of the care and attention to detail shown by our host ( Andrei is a sweetheart ) and his entire family..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This place is just perfect. The house is built of high quality materials and the apartment La Loggia is furnished by tasteful and comfortable furnitures. The kitchen and the bathroom are well-equipped. The garden is tended expertly. The pool is large and has a very unique position on the highest point of the lot. The view is wonderful especially in the mornings after a rainy evening, when the fog spreads over the valley for a few hours.
A cool breeze comes down from the hill each evening and cools down the house, so there is no need for air-condition even when the days are very hot.
The whole property is maintained by Andrea and his family and they make a perfect job.
This place absolutely worths the money. We can highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

What can one say that hasn’t already been said…

A very special thanks to Andrea and his family for sharing Rocca Di Pierle with us; it truly is a labour of love. Apartment La Loggia-what a little bit of heaven on earth, a wonderful respite from the “maddening crowds” yet well situated for day excursions. The photos on the internet do not do justice to the beauty of the accommodation and surrounding countryside. It was exciting to wake up each morning and be greeted by the breathtaking views from each and every window. Early morning views of ‘the white lake’ (fog/mist) were spectacular.

Thank you too Andrea for your caring and warm hospitality it enriched our stay. The loan of your ‘visitors’ cell phone’ was a great comfort to us while we explored “uncharted” territories. We appreciated you introducing us to Gubbio and Montone in Umbria. Montone, in 2003, was initiated into the Club of The Most Beautiful Towns in Italy, we concurred. Your wife’s welcome cake was a lovely gift and treat.

After travelling for a month, Rocca di Pierle stands out as one of our favourites. Coining another guest’s expression…”we came too late and left too early”. We called Pierle home for seven days and were both reluctant to bid Andrea arrivederci. There is so much to see and do and it seems never enough time. The people, the food, the wine and the history combine to make Italy a country worthy of more than one visit and the same can be said of Rocca di Pierle. Andrea thank you for so many memorable moments and your guidance to great wines and restaurants.

Room Tip: car is necessary for full enjoyment of this area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle

Address: Loc Pierle, 30, 52040 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Specialty lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the green hills of the Pierle valley, only a few miles awayfrom the Etruscan town of Cortona, lies the Country House Rocca di Pierle,an ideal place to seek and find tranquillity and peace. The completely restoredfarm house, finished in the end of 2004, overlooks a beautiful valleyand is bathed from early morning to evening by warm sunshine. Besidethe apartments the adjoining storeroom has been restored and is now usedas a breakfast room and is available to guests for their lunches and dinners.Rocca di Pierle Country House is only 10 miles from Cortona, and is 500m above sea level. Its central position is within easy reach of the major culturallocations and natural areas of Tuscany and Umbria., such as Florence,Siena, Perugia, Assisi and Rome. Vineyards nearby include the Chianti region,Montalcino and Montepulciano. After their excursions guests can relaxin the Country House’s own swimming pool (7,5 x 14 m) and enjoythe breathtaking natural surroundings. The “Country House Rocca di Pierle”has been beautifully restored and is a relaxing and comfortable residence,where guests enjoy faultless service and an incomparable atmosphere insurroundings that are cared for in every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Rocca di Pierle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.