We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for exploring Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Agrisalotto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Agriturismo Agrisalotto to your Saves list
Agriturismo Agrisalotto
S.Caterina, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great base for exploring Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hosts are hospitable and the setting beautiful. A wonderful place to use as your base for exploring Tuscany, and close to Cortona. It's possible to do a little cooking for yourself and it's wonderful to come home after sightseeing and relax on the lovely grounds. Did I say "home"? Yes, that's how it feels. Have returned several times, and going back in another few weeks with anticipation.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have beautiful old timbers in the ceilings, just as you would see in the movies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    12
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
43
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bermuda
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

the food in the restraunt is fantastic the best dinner in our 2 weeks in Tuscany/Italy. Very very nice people that own and run the place. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay May 28th .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Thanks Dimitri and Simonetta!
We felt very welcome and at home.
The food was superb (Especially the ravioli with gorgonzola and pear!)

Until a future encounter :-)

Mark, Charlotte, Sterre and Sophie.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Nature and food lovers will delight in this agriturismo set on an expansive plain below the hillside town of Cortona. Dmitri and Simonetta are warm and generous hosts. Their restaurant serves outstanding steak, pasta, and desserts. They will also customize your breakfasts, like making you an "American" breakfast with eggs if you wish. The pool was not open while we were there, but looks to be fabulous. We made use of their mountain bikes, and our apartment had a large bathroom and kitchen. This was the best of 3 different lodgings we stayed at in Tuscany.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you may want to ask for the rooms away from the farm animals (rooster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This place is magic!! Highly recommened to anyone wanting to experience a Tuscan villa with true hospitality and generous warmth; Dimitri and Simonetta are an absolute delight and made us feel very welcome with their kindness and generosity. Even after we had a 'sleep in' the morning after arriving, the offer of a late breakfast and a personally made espresso by Simonetta was too good to refuse; another kind gesture from our gracious host. The food from their restaurant is sublime!! Would not be out of place in any 5 star restaurant in the world!! Very pleasant countryside surrounds Agrisalotto; vineyards, olive groves, rolling Tuscan hills and fields of sunflowers - very picturesque. Our accommodation was very comfortable and beautifully decorated; serviced daily. (We opted for a self catering apartment which was enormous). The pool area is resort like and has everything you need to relax and unwind; fancy a snooze in a hammock, swaying gently in the summer breeze??
Dimitri & Simonetta: congratulations and thank you for sharing your home with us :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is a place you will want to visit! A beautiful farmhouse surrounded by vineyards, rolling hills, Cortona hilltop town in the distance, and comfortable relaxing areas near the pool. Gardens that are kept so nicely and hammocks, lounges, tables for relaxing at with a delicious bottle of their own wine! The host and hostess welcome you with warmth and kindness. The host, Demitri, is the chef and you will experience the best Italian meal ever! This is a must and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

From the moment we arrived we both felt relaxed! Simonetta and her husband were very welcoming and our apartment was large, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We even had our own little outside area with bistro table and chair.
On our first evening we were invited to join their Flower party they were giving for all their employees, which they do every 6 months I believe. What a delightful evening - delicious food, music and very friendly people.
Breakfast was good with their own honey, and amazing pastries, as well as all the normal cereals etc. We sat at a huge table in their restaurant area which has bottles of wine and antiques everywhere - all beautifully done.
Agrisalotto is set in the middle of their vinyards which in turn is surrounded by fields and fields of sunflowers. We went in the beginning of July and it was a true picture. Cortona has to be one of our favourite Tuscan hill-top towns. Unspoilt with stunning views over the countryside and Lake Tarrissimo.
It was over 35 degrees during our stay so the pool was perfect to dip in to, have a swim and then come out and rest on one of the many places in their garden. They also have chickens, goats & a donkey which you can see from the garden.
For our second night we were lucky to have their tasting menu - which I have to say was outstanding. Sitting outside in their garden, with amazing food, excellent wine, hearing the crickets buzzing around with the shimmer of lights from Cortona in the distance, is a moment I'll never forget.
I cannot reccommend this lovely place too much, but hurry as I know Simonetta is getting very booked up now!! :0)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Agrisalotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Agrisalotto

Address: S.Caterina, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agrisalotto, an Elite "agriturismo" and hotel restaurant, set in the heart of Tuscany... Set in a recently restored 18th century "Leopoldina" farm house, Agrisalotto is sober but impressive and its building retains a peaceful and rural atmosphere.A well-known restaurant offers the opportunity to taste excellent Tuscan cooking with traditional and genuine dishes accompanied by selected wines. Our property also offers a modern swimming-pool, a 6.000 Square metres garden, a vineyard, an orchard, a vegetable garden and a lighted and partly covered car-park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Agriturismo Agrisalotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Agrisalotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.