We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cortona Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cortona Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Cortona Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campaccio 5/8, 52044 Cortona, Italy (Formerly Hotel Villa Aurea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
Netanya, Israel
1 review
“Disappointed ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

17 November 2014.
Rooms under expectation relative to price in several aspects:
Double room with one chair.
One fixed hanger, no tissues, small soaps, spa water not warm enough.
Only bright spot is the warm smile of the receptionist.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    45
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
6
78
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Had a great one-week stay at the Villa Aurea / Cortona Resort & Spa. Excellent and discreet service from the entire team, nice spa & pool facilities, lovely and very comfortable room. Restaurant offerings could be a little bit more diverse but they are fine and quite reasonably priced.
Quiet and elegant are two adjectives that fit this hotel/resort extremely well!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Lovely place, we had a larger garden room, enjoyed the spa area.
We only had breakfast which was very nice but typically italian - sweet pastries etc.
my error but I thought a 5 min drive from Cortona would be a 20 min walk approx - as it is all uphill it is easily 45 mins on a narrow busy road - wouldn't reccomend walking. Taxis were easy to book via reception and approx 10€ so all good.
Only very slight niggles were having to ask for wine glasses in the room - only plastic cups provided even in the bathroom.
Also lighting was really dim - but very typical of italian hotels.Wifi was good.
All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Although the place was physically beautiful and very convenient to Cortona, I had reserved here a suite, a double and a room for a family with two children, 4 and 1 year old. We were 5 adults and two children.
I was never told that children were not welcome. There was a pool and a spa so it matched exactly what we were looking for the last day of a wonderful vacation where we were all going our separate ways.
I was SO disappointed. My grandchildren were frowned on from the moment that we arrived. The rooms were well appointed but my very elderly mother found that the public restrooms were not even checked regularly and out of basic necessities... you get what I mean. NOT what you would expect from such an expensive hotel.
The pool was unusable because there was an OVERDOSE of chlorine and the children's eyes which were not effected our entire vacation so it is NOT because they have sensitive eyes. And my daughter for whom a last massage was so important before she headed home said it was the WORSE massage she had ever had. They did not even take a history and never asked her any questions about her health. So disappointing especially since I was treating.
The last insult which was just amazing they tried to charge us EUR 50 in damages for scrambled eggs that had dropped from the babies chair onto one of their upholstered chairs.
So perhaps it is a place that is lovely, but we didn't feel it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have spent four days with my wife in this resort. The place aims high and does not disappoint. The main building is a typical Tuscan villa recently restored to a high standard
The room we had was quite spacious and had great views over the resort's park. The bathroom was big and of course spotless clean. Staff is very helpful. Breakfast was great. I did not use the spa but my wife did and was very happy with it. The swimming pool is surrounded by the park and is great for relaxing. The location is a few km from Cortona. A car is needed to explore the surroundings. The only thing is that restaurant needs to improve to match the standards set by the other services offered. It won't stop me from visiting again though...

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Overall I loved Cortona Spa and Resort. The staff at this location made us feel welcome, were always professional and hospitable. Best espresso I had in Italy. Not sure why this location was so good. Food at the restaurant was very good. Off the beaten path a bit, needed to use a taxi to get to and from to see the town and get to train station. Would recommend.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is one of the places you want to visit spend a day or 2 to total re-charge yourselves. You are greeted invited in and put into this wonderful feeling of total relaxation and at home.
Very comfortable and spacious rooms wonderful grounds to sit out or walk around to enjoy the Tuscan landscape. The restaurant is truly a delight the staff and chef cater to your every need. They have different menu each day for each meal accept breakfast it a buffet. For us being vegetarian a special vegetarian menu down to deserts was prepared and wonderfully served. Great stop great people a must visit again hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cortona Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortona Resort & Spa

Address: Campaccio 5/8, 52044 Cortona, Italy (Formerly Hotel Villa Aurea)
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cortona Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cortona Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurea Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortona Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.