We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, GREAT location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Italia to your Saves list
Hotel Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Ghibellina 5/7, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, GREAT location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Italia for 2 nights. Although it was difficult to find at first (our fault), it ended up being in the absolute perfect location for the trip. The staff is young, helpful, and quite proficient in English. The hotel lobby was gorgeous and our room was so beautiful and unique with the wooden ceiling, modern light fixtures and comfortable bed. The only down fall of the room was the super outdated and useless hair dryer but that wasn't a big deal. Francesco at the front desk helped us tremendously with booking a wine tour (Leuta wine garden, Denis Zani) and with giving us directions. Breakfast was nice, great views on the 4th floor, and when cappuccino was offered, it made it even better. Highly recommend it !

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    45
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
87
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Cortona is the epitome of the quaint, hilltop Italian town - all small cobblestone alleyways and a great view of the valley below. The staff were great, especially the two women who ran the front desk. We arrived very late the first night, but they waited for us. We completely forgot to make arrangements to get to a winery, Felsina (highly recommend), so that morning they called around until they found us a driver, who arrived within an hour. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and the view at breakfast amazing ( even with the October morning fog). At first we thought it would have been better closer to Florence, but being in the countryside away from all the tourist traps was very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Stayed here whilst cycling from Lancashire to Sicily in June 2014.
Loved this place! Located in a side street just off one of the Squares in Cortona it is a tastefully modernised hotel in one of the old original buildings. Very friendly and helpful owner, terrific room with a huge en suite and breakfast at the top of the hotel with the most amazing views! Great restaurant directly opposite the hotel and my visit coincided with the medieval festival in beautiful Cortona.
Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Italia in Cortona from 9/29/14 - 10/1/2014. What a pleasant surprise after the hectic time in Rome and a cruise. The Hotel is within the walls of the town and just a few steps from the main piazza and in walking distance of everything in Cortona. This is a great option if you don't plan to rent a car. The hotel staff was warm, friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is included in the price of the hotel and is served on the top floor of the hotel. The view from the breakfast room is simply beautiful overlooking the valley and surrounding areas. We enjoyed our time in Cortona and if you are looking for an excellent experience at a reasonable price, Hotel Italia is a great option.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Very very basic rooms for the price paid. I upgraded to a room with a view....not worth paying the extra. You can't see out of the window unless you are standing at it.....and the window is like .8m x .8m......and given the room is average you will only sleep in it, not hang around. Breakfast is basic but Ok and The staff are helpful and accommodating.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We booked the first two nights of our honeymoon after marrying in Cortona Town Hall and left after the first night with the hotel refusing to refund the second night. We had reserved Cortona suites but a double booking meant we were offered to move here. A steep downward step in every regard.

The room was very basic for the same money, the shower was broken, the shower curtain was useless resulting in water all over the floor. There are no curtains or drapes of any kind in the room or the overlooked bathroom window. There are no drinks facilities in the room, no wastebasket.

It's clean at least but very basic and I would expect to pay half the price for this. The staff were pleasant at least. Don't let this put you off Cortona though. the town is stunning.

Room Tip: Choose in another establishment, these are very basic and overpriced for what they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Italia for five nights in early October, 2014. The location, the staff, and the price were all as good as we could want, but the breakfast room (and the breakfast itself) was a uniquely delightful experience. The room is on the top floor of the hotel, and the top floor in a hill town like Cortona provides an exceptional view indeed while you drink your coffee and juice, and eat your rolls. I would say that it was uplifting, but it would be hard to be uplifted any higher. We would definitely stay at the Italia again. I give it four stars rather than five simply because, as with most Italian hotels, the shower stall allowed water to flow onto the floor of the bath. Why is it so hard to raise the lip around the shower stall? But, there are several very good places to dine and/or drink within just steps of the hotel. So, we had a great time in Cortona (we used Cortona as a base for driving to other hill towns) and the Hotel Italia was a big reason for our positive experience.

Anderson G.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: via Ghibellina 5/7, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.