We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little piece of heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Italia to your Saves list
Hotel Italia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Ghibellina 5/7, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Italia for a few days in September of 2011. The location of the hotel is great- just steps from the main street and within walking distance of everything in town. My single room was very small, but very clean. Having a/c was such a treat after long days exploring the town and its many hills. The staff was charming and I look forward to staying here on my next trip to Cortona!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    45
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
87
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012 via mobile

Too often Tuscany these days is known for poor value and grudging service. Not at the Italia. We stayed four nights and were brilliantly looked after. Great advice on nearby restaurants, help with travel arrangements, great warmth and friendliness. Fabulous old Palazzo, great breakfast, ideal central location. OK, so the room was a bit dark and could use an armchair, but the Italia was our base for a memorable wedding and we will always remember it as "doing it's bit" to make everything as perfect as one could imagine. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I often travel to Cortona for work and stayed at this hotel several times, always in a room with a nice view on the Val di Chiana. Good room even though it would need some refreshing. Great location, warm and friendly service.

Room Tip: Single rooms are very small. Superior rooms with a view are large and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights this past September. We had a jr suite which had an amazing view of the surrounding countryside! The hotel is in an excellent location. It is clean and charming. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful! It was our favorite experience in Tuscany!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a panoramic view. I think room 425 has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011 via mobile

I had originally wanted to stay at Villa Marsilli where I'd happily stayed before, but it was booked out. So, deciding to give Hotel Italia a try because it was well positioned just around the corner from the main piazza, I chose a superior room with a view. Great decision. The room was gorgeous - large, clean, a view over roof tops like a postcard, classy Tuscan styling, spotless, large bathroom. I was delighted with the place as it's better positioned than the popular Villa Marsilli, but cheaper because it isn't as many stars, but you wouldn't know the difference in the superior room. It was serene, but so close go everything. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was okay - not a huge spread, and sad fruit salad, but this didn't bother us as it left more room for us to treat ourselves with delicacies from town. The restaurant right next to the hotel is great - try the ravioli.
We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The service was very warm and friendly and the room was spotlessly clean with a bathroom the same size as the bedroom which was fabulous. The best shower we had on our two week trip to Italy. Very quiet at night but close to the main area in the town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel is in a old buiding in the centre of Cortona but not far from a huge and free parking lot out of the town walls. Although the hotel looks fine and the breakfast room has a very impressive view on the landscape, there were some problems that affect my review: 1) the towels in the bathroom were old and grey, they didn't even look clean; 2) internet is free for one device, but the wifi connection was so slow that browsing the web was almost impossible (it took several minutes only to display google startpage!); 3) the hand held shower was completely broken: when I reported it to the reception I was told that it would have been immediately fixed. After two days I checked out and nobody ever came to my room to fix it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: via Ghibellina 5/7, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italia 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Italia Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.