We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is THE place in Tuscany.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Sole del Sodo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Il Sole del Sodo to your Saves list
Il Sole del Sodo
Strada Provinciale Del Sodo 5/6, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 41 Cortona B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is THE place in Tuscany.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

There are not enough words to compliment this B & B. There are many choices for accommodations at the Il Sole del Sodo B&B from apartments to double rooms. The motif is so unique in each unit. We only stayed for three nights, but I could see using it as a base and making day trips out to the surrounding areas. On-site managers, Paula & Jim, could not do enough to help with everyone's needs. They were sooooo helpful. They would make every guest feel like they were family and at breakfast time especially. The daily baked tarts were always a treat.....especially the one that Jim baked for my wifes birthday - song and all completed by the other guests. Jim and Paula made our stay seem surreal - like our visit was as though we were still at home. Goodbys were difficult, but we knew they were going to be busy with a thirty member wedding party soon to arrive. Don't hesitate making this your choice for accommodations....you will not regret the choice - especially when you mention this place as being your favorite. Ciao for now to Jim, Paula and of course Claudia. M&J

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    27
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
69
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego,California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The highlight of our Italian vacationing is staying at Il Sole del Sodo and being cared for by Jim and Paula. They are San Diegan expats that guided us like family. They are incredibly knowledgeable on the things that Gringos like to do. They spent inordinate time with us explaining all the things to do and people to meet. They were friends with many, many local shops and guided us well. The rooms are Hansel & Grettle fantasy; their breakfast in the homey breafast room was incredible, highlighted by with the aroma of fresh pastry that Paula makes daily. We strongly recommend Il Sole del Sodo to our friends.

Room Tip: Each room is decorared uniquely. All rooms are very quiet, as the Inn is in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We spent 6 nights surrounding the Easter holiday at II Sole del Sodo, and it was fantastic. Claudia has done a wonderful job at making sure this B&B is very cute, comfortable, and relaxing. A Special Thanks to her staff (Jim & Paula) who were not only hospitable and friendly, but were also very helpful in looking at the maps and providing information on what cities, restaurants, shops, and even hikes. They helped us navigate the train system and ultimately showed us that they sincerely enjoy meeting new friends.
The location was perfect for our trip. We spent evenings in Cortona (just a 2 minute drive up the hill, or a 15 minute walk). We took a great 40 minute hike leaving from our room to the Le Celle monastery (built in early 13th century) for picnic. We were able to drive to Arezzo, Montepulciano, Sienna (twice), and also took a day trip to Florence via a beautiful 1:15 train ride.
Thank you Claudia (and Jim & Paula) for making our inaugural visit to Italy the trip of a lifetime that we hoped it would be. If / when we get the opportunity to come back to Italy, II Sole del Sodo will be our preferred place to stay. CIAO!

Room Tip: We had suite Bianca. It served our purpose very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

If you have the chance of driving through Tuscany from Sienna to Florence as we did, then do pop in for a couple of relaxing days at the Sole del Sodo. Claudia made us feel like long lost cousins and her dog made us feel at home. The house does give you a bed and breakfast feel, which many places using that name don't. The breakfast is a high point, when you come down those old stone stairs into a colourful living room type breakfast room with its shelves full of books and a bar with an incredible copper and bronze winged coffee machine. Claudia told us she used to have a restaurant in New York, although she is a native Italian, she speaks a perfect manhattan english which helped too. Good value all round for your travel purse. This medieval town has some great churches and the country side is perfect for a "...lets get lost in each others arms..." type stroll. My wife forgave me for abandoning her in Florence, and I forgave her for losing my favourite cashmere scarf (which was the reason why I had abandoned her in the first place, but now: Our hearts beat as one again...

Room Tip: We didn't see all rooms, but there are some that are seperate from the house, I saw a japanese c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Had the most wonderful stay there, Claudia is an excellent hostess and the fact that she speaks English fluently helped a lot as our Italian language skills are virtually non existent! Lovely, stylish rooms and excellent breakfast.The location is great too, peaceful and quiet and just two km outside Cortona. Will stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had a wonderful experience with Claudia at Il Sole del Sodo! We spent three nights here. Claudia was so welcoming and helpful. Her cooking is fantastic! My husband and I agree, that her dinner was one of the best meals we had in Italy.
We left Cortona via train for Venice. Claudia drove us to the train station because she was unable to get us a taxi. After we were dropped off, we discovered that our train (and several trains after us) to Venice was canceled due to a strike in Tuscany. I was able to call Claudia. She said she would call Trenitalia and if every train was canceled she would send us a taxi and we could stay with her another night. So comforting to a very scared and stressed American experiencing her first Italian strike!
We spent the rest of our trip telling everyone we could how wonderful Il Sole del Sodo was and how accommodating Claudia was.
We hope to stay here again, if we can make it back to Italy for our anniversary! Thank you Caludia!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We are a Canadian family of 5 with 3 girls ages 6, 8 and 10. This was the kids first trip to Europe and our first week of a month long journey. We wished we would have stayed longer! Claudia, our hostess, was the sweetest and most helpful. She made us feel so at home. We stayed in 2 interconnected villas (blu/red villini) which was perfect for a family. The rooms are so quaint and comfortable. We did some of our own cooking but also really enjoyed eating at Claudia's restaurant. This is a great combination of hotel and holiday rental. It has a very romantic quality but also a great gathering place for families or friends travelling together. Easy to meet other travellers in the common areas which includes a pool that of course our children loved! This property is a great location for exploring Tuscany and Umbria but you must have a car. We highly recommend this area and especially Claudia and Il Sole del Sodo!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Sole del Sodo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Sole del Sodo

Address: Strada Provinciale Del Sodo 5/6, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Sole del Sodo is a small and cozy Bed & Breakfast with 6 charming rooms and 5 cousy apartments-allowing you to sleep-in and relax by the pool while being surrounded by our stunning Tuscan countryside. Situated outside the ancient Etruscan walls of Cortona - only 1 1/2 miles from the town centre. Our property is named after the neighborhood in which it is located and the sunshine that illuminates our gardens during the day. We offer the ideal holiday location, making our property the perfect base for daytrips to valleys and charming towns in close proximity to Cortona - from Valdichiana to Val D'Orcia, Montalcino to Pienza, spas to churches frescoed by Piero della Francesca and to nearby Umbria with its enchanting landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Il Sole del Sodo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Sole del Sodo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.