We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What helpful people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo il Melone

Save Saved
You added Borgo il Melone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Borgo il Melone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita il Sodo Case Sparse 38, 52042 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 hotels in Cortona
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What helpful people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here in September, and after reading some of the reviews we were a bit apprehensive. The peole were extremely helpful with any questions we asked. The pool was fantastic and very clean. We stayed in one of the appartments and it was just what we were looking for, it gave freedom to do as we wanted, it was perfect. Some reviews mentioned the road noise and you can hear it as it is a busy road, but after a few hours we did not notice the noise, as the level is not high at all. I would be very happy to go back for another week.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoCortona, Responsabile reception at Borgo il Melone, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Eric,

Thank you so much for your nice comment.
I'm really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Borgo il Melone.
We always try to do our best for our kind guests.
We hope to have you as our kind guest again.
Best regards,

Alessandro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    25
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
24
55
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had one night in a hotel room and wished we were staying longer. The room was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. Staff were fantastic and helpful. The estate is to-die for - 25 acres of gorgeous gardens, old buildings, restaurant, tavern, massive swimming pool etc. Even have grape vines and fruit trees. We had a delicious meal at the restaurant with staff very knowledgeable about the food and wines. The free on-site laundry was a god-send. It can be hard to find with google maps giving directions to the locked back gate. We only found the front entry by accident. Please management - put a sign on the back gate with directions to the entry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

A fantastic place. We booked an apartment for 4 people. It is clean and spacious, with a kitchen and two sitting rooms. It is perfect for us. We drove to a Coop supermarket nearby for food shopping and cooked in the kitchen for dinner. There is also a large garden and green land with various friut trees. The grape tasted extremely sweet. And the staff is very friendly and helpful. I wish I had booked for more than one night. The only problem is that it is not so easy to find. We went astray even guided by a GPS. But we found it finally.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoCortona, Responsabile reception at Borgo il Melone, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind comment.
We're really happy to know that you appreciated your stay at Borgo il Melone.
We hope to have you as our kind guests again.
Kind regards,

Borgo il Melone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Borgo il Melone was the perfect place to start our Italy vacation. We had 2 couples in a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath, large living room with kitchen apartment. It was wonderful. The property used to be a working farm and it is truely gorgeous. The restaurant was divine with outstanding service and wine and we would have liked to eat there the second night as well, but they had an onsite wedding to attend to that closed the restaurant. Breakfast under the umbrellas on their pretty patio was very good with alot of variety. I just wish we had been there in warm enough temperatures to get into their large beautiful pool. I would definitly recommend this hotel to couples as well as families.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoCortona, Responsabile reception at Borgo il Melone, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We would like to thank you for your kind review, we are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you here again as our Guest.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Borgo IL Melone for 4 nights. We love Cortona, Tuscany and fell in love with this most enchanting Borgo. The grounds were magical and the pool was perfect. A real Tuscan paradise with very kind and decent staff. A very real place, with amazing charm.

The original buildings with both rooms and Apartments are elegant, understated and very
unique. Can't say enough about the grounds and the quality of this place.

We ate and the Restaurant 3 out of the 4 nights and we're treated to some excellent meals and wines.

We will go back and stay at Borgo IL Melone again and again. Serene and very romantic!!

Room Tip: Upper Level room is where we stayed and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgoCortona, Responsabile reception at Borgo il Melone, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very pleased to know that you had delighted time in our Hotel and Restaurant during your stay in recent days.
We hope to have you as our kind guest again.
Best regards,

Borgo il Melone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Very nice hotel with Rooms, Apartements, Taverna, Restaurant, big Pool-area and beautiful garden.
The hole property is very careful kept up.
Taverna with nice small dishes(and a lot of good beer) is open lunchtime, restaurant open in the evening.
Borgo Il Melone is very clever to handle wedding parties, celebrations etc, very good and creative kitchen(check pictures on facebook).
Close to cities like Cortona, Arezzo, Montepulciano, Pienza and Montalcino.

Room Tip: 2 of the rooms at ground floor has a nice litle terrace Apartements good for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel is very nice, landscape beautiful. Amazing pool and beautiiful views everywhere. Food in the restaurant was very good. It was a great location to visit Cortona, Asissi, Siena, and others. You will need a car to get around in that area. There was free wifi, and it worked well. Having laundry facilities was very nice too - and free! The service there from everyone was great, esp Francesco who answered all of our questions.

We wish there would have been a hot pot (coffee pot) available in the rooms. It would have useful to have a few electrical adaptors at the front desk. And while it was very hot while we were there, we wished the AC would have cooled down just a bit more. But overall lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borgo il Melone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo il Melone

Address: Localita il Sodo Case Sparse 38, 52042 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo il Melone 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In close proximity to the most fascinating towns of central Italy, renowned for their artistic beauty, such as Florence, Arezzo, Siena and Perugia, in the valley below Cortona, the oldest Etruscan settlement, surrounded by the most typical Tuscan countryside this is the unique setting of Borgo Il Melone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Borgo il Melone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Il Melone Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo il Melone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.