We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tuscan Idyll (Ruffignano)

Crystal waters in perfect seclusion
Crystal waters in perfect seclusion
Crystal waters in perfect seclusion
How green was my valley!
Guest Flat spans 2 lower floors of our 'casale'
Main Bedroom, with quality bed linen, opens to patio
Ergonomic kitchen area, with oven, gas top, built in fridge and quality equipment
Cortona
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TreacleMu...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dream Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We like to holiday in style and this cottage was up with the best. Very well maintained, peaceful, super private pool, and relaxing. The owners were very helpful in many respects yet out of sight. Local food was super and well priced. Our children settled in very easily and enjoyed their independence in this secluded spot. We would like to think we will go back again as you would never get tired of the scenary or privacy that we enjoyed. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The peaceful environment at the cottage and pool
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
CarolineR...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“A true Tuscan idyll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We came here on the recommendation of our daughter Tallulah (see her review) and her husband, who spent their honeymoon here in 2012. And I would like to say 'ditto' to her review: the long and winding road was worth every hairpin bend for the views, position and tranquillity of the house. The warm and friendly owners were there when you needed them but never imposed - nothing was too much trouble for them; the apartment was perfectly equipped and comfortable... and the infinity pool was wondrous indeed, hidden away on top of the world. It was hard to drag ourselves back into the real world below but Cortona is a gorgeous hill town and we were there during their cultural festival and were lucky to see a spectacular ballet gala with dancers from major ballet companies worldwide.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 2 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: the hairpin bends
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Tallulah...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing views, tranquil, secluded but well looked after”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

We had a wonderful honeymoon here, just what we were looking for. The cottage was recommended to us by close friends who had stayed there for their honeymoon, and whose parents had then had a fantastic holiday there, so it already came very highly recommended. My parents have booked for their holiday this summer, so all in all word spreads, and although I would quite like to keep it our little secret, the owners truly deserve a great review.

They were incredibly helpful, warm, friendly and accommodating from the minute we first made contact, and continued to be such a blessing during our stay. Although we wanted privacy and seclusion for our honeymoon, which is exactly what they offered us, it was also fantastic to have them there if ever we needed help or advice or a friendly chat.

The cottage was lovely and very comfortable. We are keen cooks and loved making the most of all the lovely local produce which we cooked in the very well equipped kitchen. We ate so much, sat out on the patio, overlooking the most incredible views, we could barely move by the end of the holiday. But our saving grace was the lovely pool, where you could truly relax.

I would highly recommend this cottage, and would look forward to going back when we can.

The only bit of advice I would give (and the owners will help with this) is to make sure you hire a car that can cope with the very rough and windy road that leads to the cottage. Unfortunately we had been given a bigger model than we had specified with the hire company, but with just as small an engine, and it didn't cope very well with the track - but Andrew very kindly helped us out when I was struggling a bit.

All in all a great experience.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: helpful owners, pool, and views
Liked least: the roads
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
cemarwood
Orpington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A relaxing paradise in the Tuscan hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

This the perfect spot for a completely relaxing holiday, and Kate and Andrew were extremely helpful from the moment we first contacted them. They were the perfect hosts, making us feel totally at home whilst always respecting our privacy. The cottage is very well looked after and extremely well equiped. It felt both homely and spacious, and we really did feel that our every need had been anticipated. Although temperatures were in the thirties for most of our stay, the apartment remained relatively cool, and lots of choice in terms of outside space meant that we could eat and relax in sun or shade as we chose. The swimming pool, a short walk from the house was impeccably maintained and very secluded with fantastic views along the valley.
We could quite happily have spent the whole week relaxing by the pool and enjoying the quiet beauty of the valley, but this area of Tuscany is so beautiful that some exploration is essential. We were already familiar with the charms of Cortona, having visited the area twice before, and spent several evenings enjoying its very special atmosphere and excellent restaurants.
We would certainly recommend this property to our friends and relatives but, perhaps more importantly, we really want to go back there ourselves!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The peace, the pool and the warm welcome.
Liked least: Rather terrifying approach road until you get used to it.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
BasvtE
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“A perfect hide-away in the tranquil hills of Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 for a stay in July 2012
Google Translation

We zijn nu 6 jaar hier geweest en we staan op de rol voor het zevende jaar. De rust en de afzondering van dit huis zorgen ervoor dat we graag op deze plek terug komen. Direct uit de voordeur kan je een heerlijke wandeling beginnen in een verlaten bos. Alleen de bosbouwer verstoort de rust af en toe omdat zij elk jaar wel een nieuw perceel onderhanden nemen in dit productie bos van tamme kastanjes

Kate en Andrew zijn heel plezierige gastvrouw en –heer. Ze zijn beschikbaar, maar niet opdringerig. Zij wonen in het huis boven het appartement, wat maakt dat je hen tegenkomt als je bij het huis bent. Het zwembad is een 200 meter verder op. Daar en op de terrassen van het terrein zit je in alle rust alleen.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: quite surroundings, the pool and the hospitality
Liked least: groceries require some planning: its a 30 min drive to a proper supermarket
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$158
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Kate U
39 0575 691040
Speaks English, Italian
Listed since : Feb 2013
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 48 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing