We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
View of the Valdichiana valley from the living room
View of the Valdichiana valley from the living room
View of the Valdichiana valley from the living room
View of the Valdichiana valley from the living room
View of the Valdichiana valley from the living room
View of the living room from the entrance door
Cortona
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
robnleigh
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“We'll be back soon...don't hesitate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The week at this lovely rental in Tuscany was the best place we stayed on our entire one month vacation in Italy. The rental is perfect - it couldn't be lovelier - from the amazing doors that make your whole house open-air (with mosquito screens) to the fully stocked and lovely kitchen. We love the layout and decided to bring our teenage daughter next time because the place is quite spacious. There is a nice, large bedroom, bath with shower and dining/living room with a futon. Everything is spotless and painted in bright, Tuscan colors. You'll even find a washer (no dryer, this is Italy!) - which was perfect for us as we had been travelling for weeks. (There are other apartments at this property as well - I would email the owners if you are looking for more than 1 rental. They all open to a terrace with a big dinning table - it would be perfect for a few families travelling together). You'll find everything you need a quick walk into town. The rental is located just across the street from the lowest gate through the town walls. Such a quick entrance into town. It is a few minutes walk to the main piazza and to EVERYTHING. We rented a car (parking is in a lot just across the street and free) but only used it a few days because Cortona is so perfect. Coffee in the piazza, then a hike up to a church to explore, stopping at the market for goodies to cook for lunch, a siesta and then back into town for a stroll and a gelato. This is a hill town so be prepared for a fairly steep walk up into town. It isn't a long walk but it is uphill (as are all the hill towns). It is a great home base location to take day trips from as well. If the location and the property weren't enough - the people who own this rental are lovely. Some of the nicest people we've met. The transaction was very easy. We emailed to VRBO and were able to put a deposit down quickly. Vanna will even do a cooking class in your apartment if you would like! We are looking at our calendars now to decide when to go back for a month (but this time just to this rental)!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The entire rental was perfect
Liked least: The small road to cross into town is narrow when there is traffic - but not a big deal.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
KelBel101...
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FABULOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This place was all that you could dream about!! Starting with working with Mirko and his mother Vanna was so easy and nice planning our first trip to Cortona. They had a bottle of wine waiting in our apartment which was wonderful after a long flight . Vanna was there to greet us and show us around. The view out the windows are breathtaking, just like a picture! They also had a great coffee machine, blow dryer, washer to do laundry mid week, it was so clean and wonderful! We also did the cooking lesson with Vanna , which I highly recommend, great food and fellowship! She does a good job with her english and you learn so much! We hated to leave but hope to go back again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: It was clean, perfect location, the view just fabulous and the owners were awesome to work with.
Liked least: nothing , loved every minute
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Barb H
Durango, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A truely perfect Cortona villa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We had a terrific stay in this Cortona apartment. The property owners, Franko and Vanna, were such lovely people and went above and beyond my expectations from a property owner. The apartment was clean, very well decorated, cheery, and fresh. Our patio was beautiful and private. The apartment is only a few minute walk from the heart of Cortona, yet is very private. I would recommend this apartment to anyone wishing for a true Italian experience.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location, welcoming, cheery
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
wcurrie
Calgary,Alberta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just truly lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 for a stay in May 2011

We absolutely loved our stay here. The condo itself is just outside the gates of Cortona. Vanna, the owner, is wonderful. She is quite happy to provide whatever you need - she even brought us lunch our first day there! We took her cooking class, which was a blast! There is a courtyard if you feel like a quiet day with a book. The entire area is incredible. We did many day trips; the scenery is spectacular. We would go back in a minute!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location to Cortona and the surrounding area
Liked least: The property is on a busy street and can be quite noisy.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Karen H
Eugene, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Fantabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Vanna is the hostess with the mostest! She is a delightful woman who extends herself in the friendliest and most helpful manner. We loved her! We loved the apartment with it's view of the Tuscany valley. I would recommend the apartment in a heartbeat to "anyone'... who can climb a steep short hill. Luckily, my husband and I (while seniors) are fit so were able to hike from the apartment just outside the wall of Cortona UP the cobblestone to the center of town. I walked into the town every day... several times... I shopped like the villagers; i.e. bought only the food we needed for that day. Would definitely recommend it to anyone who is in good health.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Please note that the wi-fi didn't work anywhere in Cortona... we went to a bakery where they supposedly had good access and after half-an-hour... gave up. (My husband is a Network Engineer so he knows his way around this)
Liked least: There wasn't anything we didn't like.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mark P
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 for a stay in June 2010

We simply loved this property, as well as, the owner/manager. The view from the living area was outstanding...just what you would imagine when considering the Tuscan region. The rental was cheerful and clean. The owners were helpful from the time we inquired about the property until the time we left the property. We would highly recommend this unit to anyone interested in visiting the lovely town of Cortona.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and owners.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jdlphotos
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A true Cortona experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

This was exactly what we were looking for in Cortona. After visiting 3 years ago we wanted to return and spend more time in Cortona. From our dealings with Mirko to book the apartment to being met by Vanna when we arrived, it was all wonderful. We loved the views over the valley and being able to cross the street and enter the town anytime we wanted was great. The only thing we didn't like was having to leave after our 9 day stay. It just wasn't long enough!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything! It was the Cortona we were looking for.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$100
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Mirko T
Speaks English, Italian
Listed since : Aug 2013
Response Rate: 75 %
Calendar Updated: 84 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing