We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite B and B and meal in Italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bellavista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Bellavista to your Saves list
Casa Bellavista
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Case Sparse Creti 40, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 42 Cortona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our Favorite B and B and meal in Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Ciao Simonetta,
I had to write another review because your hospitality is so beautiful. My family and I visited here last year and never wanted to leave. Traveling again to Italy we missed this place so much we stopped in to say hello to Simonetta and seethe place. She was busy as always but stopped to welcome us in for an espresso and some home made biscotti. We spent about an hour showing our family around and getting some attention from her lovely dogs. We wanted to stay a night here and were willing to even sleep on the couches in the living room. Sadly we had reservations in Florence but bought some of her own olive oil and cook books. Thank you again Simonetta and we cannot wait to visit you again!

Room Tip: Any room is great but having Simonetta's dinner is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Legit,
has been a pleasure to meet you again with all your family
Simonetta Dante and Trilly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
116
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had stayed at three 5 star hotels in Milan, Florence and Sienna before spending 3 nights near Cortona at Casa Bellavista Bed & Breakfast. This experience upstaged all of our previous stays! Simonetta and Guido are the most warm, welcoming and hospitable hosts. Their respective upmarket hotel backgrounds stand them in good stead for running such a superb farmstyle establishment. The attention to detail is quite extraordinary and the accommodation / bathrooms were outstanding in every respect. The views from this property are breathtaking and Simonetta gives the best advice about where to go to experience the real Tuscany and where to eat, taking personal pride in the wellbeing of each guest. Within minutes of checking in we felt as though we were staying with family as everyone including the dogs made us feel so welcome. As the owner and CEO of South Africa's leading travel services group for the past 37 years I can honestly recommend Casa Bellavista as the perfect home base from which to explore the region. It provides truly great value and wonderful photographic opportunities. And if you can persuade Simonetta to cook you one of her most incredible dinners by special request, do so as it is truly a gastronomic Italian experience to relish! Gavin & Delys Simpson.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Gavin and Delys,
I'm very happy that you enjoyed your staying at Casa Bellavista, many thanks
Hoping to meet you in South Africa soon, with my best regards
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Simonetta is wonderful. She is on hand to help with anything from taking your baggage to your room if necessary to helping you to plan your stay, with restaurants and towns to visit. We ate at CB the second evening of our stay and what a wonderful experience it was too. Simonetta's culinary skills are amazing and her husband Guido served all the dishes, explaining the Tuscan food in great detail so that we could really appreciate and savour every mouthful, which we did!!! The wine list is extensive, although you are able to drink your own wine for a corkage charge of 10 euro, we chose this option as we had bought wines from our previous stay in Chianti (an Agriturismo) that we wanted to enjoy with our meal. We did also have a bottle of the house Chianti which was 18 euros and very pleasant. They have about 80 wines to choose from so you will be spoilt for choice. The bedroom we had was the camera rosa (the pink room). We had our own balcony which we love. The bed was enormous and the comfiest bed we have ever slept on apart from our own. The room is big with a very traditional feel to it (as is the case with the whole property). The bathroom was fab with everything you could need. Casa Bellavista even has a vespa for you to use if you fancy a ride over the tuscan hills. Its a very peaceful place, we did have a little difficulty in finding it but the locals were so helpful, even offering to take the lead in their own cars to take us there. We did find it eventually. Just make sure you download the instructions that Simonetta sends you in her confirmation email! Breakfast is very nice with homemade cakes, cheese, ham, bread which I think Simonetta bakes herself. If you are looking for peace and tranquility with a touch of Tuscan finesse then don't wait, just get it booked. You have hammocks, table tennis, a small football pitch with goal posts! And of course a beautiful swimming pool. Plenty of books to read.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Debadez,
I will be very pleased for all the words that you wrote about Casa Bellavista,
Grazie Mille
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Without hesitation. Book your reservation with Casa BellaVista TODAY. Simonetta and Guido have done an excellent job in restoring this farmhouse, making it simply the loveliest retreat in the Tuscan countryside. You will immediately feel welcomed, if not by the owners, then by their two well-behaved dogs!) If you’re interested in a cooking class, Simonetta is known in the area as an excellent cook. If you’re interested in learning more about olive oil, Guido is an expert on the topic, plus they produce their own limited virgin olive oil from olive trees on the property. (We bought some for gifts to give friends in the U.S.) Simonetta’s green thumb also boasts some of the prettiest rose bushes and other flowering plants in the area. Artichokes and other foods used for cooking are grown on the property as well. One of the best dinners of our three-week Italy trip was at Casa BellaVista. The other guests (a couple from Holland and a couple from France) and my friend and I dined for four hours! We would have carried our conversations past midnight, but we really felt the owners would appreciate getting some sleep as their days start quite early. Breakfasts were yummy with Simonetta baking an assortment of breads, cakes and other surprises. We were booked to stay five days, and extended our stay to a whole week. Simonetta has developed a map with 10 different sightseeing routes from their B&B. (The blue route is especially lovely.) We used Casa BellaVista as our base and always looked forward to coming ‘home’ to our beautiful room with ample space, comfortable beds and big bathroom. During our stay, we encountered a couple minor ‘problems’ (like our GPS/Tom-Tom quit working and you have to have one when exploring Tuscany), but Simonetta headed the rescue squad and helped us resolve the couple of problems quickly and efficiently. She makes everything seem so effortless, and her mind is always alert and attentive to guests and their wants and needs. It was a wonderful and memorable stay at Casa BellaVista. I hope our paths cross one day again. As said in the beginning. Book your reservation today --- without hesitation. (And follow Simonetta’s directions as to how to drive to their B&B.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Google Translation
Dear Marilee,
grazie Mille, I appreciate your review
Ciao
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kfar saba
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The house of Simonetta & Guido was the best place we stayed in during our trip to Tuscany.
The minute we got there, we received such a warm welcoming.
Everything is so fine! The rooms, the garden, the view.
Simonetta is like encyclopedia of history and art. We followed her tips on where to travel, and we had a wonderful time.
We would love to visit this splendid place again!!!

Oren & Inbal

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Oren and Inbal
many thanks for your review....
Grazie Mille
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I had a great trip this past March in Italy - with a highlight certainly being our time at Casa Bellavista. Simonetta was amazing and the cooking course unforgettable. She was quick to recommend things to do in the surrounding areas and was spot on with picking activities geared toward our interests. We loved relaxing by the fire, drinking wine and reading. It was the perfect place to relax and unwind! And of course, Dante and Trilly were gracious hosts as well =) We would highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Nattierb,
grazie Mille for your review, Dante and Trilly are missing you!!! by the fireplace.......
Waiting to meet you again, with my best regards
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My girlfriend (now my fiancee', after an unbelievable Tuscan meal prepared by Simonetta), and myself, enjoyed six days at Casa Bellavista. We were welcomed by Simonetta and Guido the minute we arrived, two of the most gracious hosts I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Of course, I can't forget my new puppy friends, Dante and Trilly.

The house is spotless, with a separate entrance for guests, common areas for reading, small billiard tables and just plain ol' lounging. We had the Camera Rosa which had it's own private balcony with stunning views of Tuscany as far as the eye can see. Quiet, relaxing atmosphere...just what we needed after traveling from Rome which is less than three hours away.

Centrally located: We easily traveled by rental car to San Gimignano, Siena, Montalcino, Montupucliano, Lake Trasemeno, Cortona, Arezzo...I think you get the picture. Casa Bellavista is easy to find with or without the aide of a GPS. Simonetta was more than happy to give us back routes to towns we wanted to visit and is more than happy to suggest certain 'must sees'. For instance, we would have never stopped in Oriveto if she didn't suggest it on our way from Rome. The Cathedral there is out of this world!

The breakfast is outstanding!....Pastries, fresh homemade breads, prosciutto, cheese, eggs, toast and excellent coffee and tea. The rooms were cleaned before ever making it back upstairs from breakfast. After returning from our day trips, we return to a room with turned down sheets and candy on our pillows. The private bath was very large with all amenities. The room temperatures were perfect day and night.

I don't know what else to say other than the Casa Bellavista isn't getting 5 star reviews for nothing. We will not even begin to look for another place to stay when we go back. We have found our home in Tuscany. Simonetta....Guido??? We will never forget your great hospitality! It was truly a dream come true!

Grazie Mille,
Dan
USA

Room Tip: Loved the balcony with the Camera Rosa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Dan
has been a pleasure to meet you and your fiancee.
I'm waiting for your wedding at Casa Bellavista
Grazie Mille
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bellavista

Address: Case Sparse Creti 40, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bellavista 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Bellavista Bed and Breakfast in Cortona, Tuscany. We decided to open our home to whoever wishes to live the simple but true rhythm of theTuscan countryside. It is definitely an unforgettable experience to stay in a comfortable and elegant environment, with furnishings belonging to our family for generations, have breakfast of homemade cakes and breads, relax in the garden with a good glass of wine, amongst birds singing and candle lit dinners, with genuine products of this land. To fulfill this goal, we have set ourselves four simple rules: • Warm and friendly welcome, professional punctuality, and with attention to individual needs • A respect for the environment and an eco-friendly approach in every day tasks. • Use of products linked to the territory, philosophically, if not completely biologic or bio-dynamic • Regard for and presentation of typical products, and of culinary culture local to our territory. It is with these intentions that we welcome visitors in to our home, and put at their disposal the magnificent territory of the Valdichiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bellavista Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.