We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene beautiful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Bellavista

Save Saved
You added Casa Bellavista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Bellavista
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Case Sparse Creti 40, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 40 Cortona B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Serene beautiful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Bellavista for 3nights and it was everything and more than I could have expected. This B&B is in a gorgeous part of Cortona with beautiful scenery but close enough to other major attractions.
Simonetta and Guido are fantastic hosts and will help you with anything u need to know. They will inform u of great places to eat and guide u to fantastic destinations to see. A meal cooked by Simonetta is a must as the food that was served was restaurant standard.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and large and the beds comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious and there was nothing I could fault with this stay.
Even the pets are lovely with Dante being the definite favourite.
I would love to thank Simonetta and Guido for a fantastic time in Cortona and the memories of our stay will be forever in our hearts.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for a once in a lifetime experience in the most beautiful part of Cortona. This place will relax you and make you feel like you truly have been spoilt.

Gina and Ken.

Room Tip: All rooms in this B&B are as beautiful as the next.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Grazie Mille Gina and Ken I appreciate very much your review
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
106
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Give yourself a gift and stay with Simonetta and Guido at Casa Bellavista! We spent three weeks in Italy last fall for our 20th wedding anniversary. All of the accommodations we selected were gracious, warm, comfortable and well located. And, Casa Bellavista was the crown jewel in a once-in-a-lifetime experience.

The innkeepers are very special people, with a magnificent home and property, and passion for true hospitality. Simonetta is a fantastic chef, and Guido's background in wine and hospitality shines through. The rooms are incredibly comfortable, we didn't want to get out of bed in the morning, even though Tuscany beckoned. The bathroom was spacious, well appointed and very comfortable for two, for several days. Everything was clean, clean, clean. The meals were unbelievable and it felt like we were in our own home, it was so comfortable and relaxed. The grounds and the countryside are the quintessential Tuscan experience. We were there for the full moon -- it was out of this world!

In Cortona we met a couple who didn't stay at Casa Bellavista yet took a cooking course with Simonetta; they too sang her praises. The City of Cortona is a delight. The people are incredibly kind and the driving throughout Tuscany was much easier than I expected. (We planned to train everywhere, and when we changed our mind Guido helped us rent a car as that was much more convenient and very easy.)

Rick Steves has free downloads about Cortona on his website. They are helpful. And when you stay at Casa Bellavista and travel into Cortona be sure to go to St. Francis of Assissi's retreat monastery nearby. It shouldn't be missed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Grazie Mille, Many thaks I appreciate very much
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I spent six nights here after running the Maratona di Roma and visiting Florence - which were both great - but our stay at Casa Bellavista was the highlight of our tour of Italy. The inn is located in the midst of a peaceful and pastoral countryside, and the cozy home is only made warmer by the gracious innkeeper, Simonetta, and her friendly dogs Dante and Trilli. We enjoyed great food in Rome and the various Tuscan towns we visited, but the most memorable dinner was the one my wife prepared in Simonetta's kitchen using some of her family recipes. If we ever return to Cortona, and hopefully someday we will, we'll again stay at Casa Bellavista.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Many thanks for your review, I hope to meet you in the near future Grazie Mille
Simonetta, Dante, Trilly and Beo (the cat)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed at Casa Bellavista last summer during our family vacation and it was absolutely wonderful. The house is impeccable and the surroundings are beautiful. The rooms are large, with comfortable beds and lovely decorations; the bathrooms are big and very clean. Simonetta is a phenomenal host and makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive. The food is delicious, from the amazing breakfast display to the terrific dinners she and her husband Guido made for us. We truly felt like home away from home. The kids enjoyed the pool and gardens along with Trilli and Dante the well-behaved dogs. My older kids became friends with their own teenage children. Simonetta is very helpful with day trip planning to nearby towns and gives great advise on restaurants and places to visit.
Our vacation could not have been better. The peacefulness of being in the middle of Tuscany, the gorgeous sunsets and the clear starry nights along with the wonderful hosts made this place one we can’t wait to go back. Thank you so much Simonetta and Guido !!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Cristina
grazie Mille for your review, I appreciate, but I really enjoyed very much your big family.....
A big hug to all of you!!!!
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My friend and I returned a few weeks ago from a trip to Italy, and were delighted with our stay at Casa Bella Vista. Simonetta and Guido were charming, warm, welcoming and very helpful. The food was amazing, the ambience so charming -- and the other guests delightful. Guido and Simonetta really know their food and wine. My friend and I took a few cooking classes that were just terrific. Simonetta is so knowledgeable about food and it's preparation -- and her classic Tuscan fare is superb. Guido's knowledge of wine was outstanding and he referred us to a local winery that was just lovely. The room was terrific, the dogs lovely :-) we not only felt at home, it was a magical place all around. We will definitely be back! Grazie mille Simonetta and Guido!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Grazie Mille
Many thanks we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our home, and also our dogs in the countryside .... !
Hoping to meet you again
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We just got back from our stay in Italy which included two nights at Casa Bellavista. We are so glad we chose to stay with Simonettta and Guido during our time in Cortona. It truly felt like a home away from home with such comfortable surroundings and their two lovely dogs. Simonetta gave us wonderful recommendations on places to eat in the neighborhood and different places to visit during our stay. The grounds of this property are absolutely amazing and the rooms are very clean and styled to the smallest detail. We loved this place and can't wait to go back someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simonetta D, Proprietario at Casa Bellavista, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Grazie Mille,
many thanks for your review.....from all the staff (dogs and cat too!!!!!)
Ciao
Simonetta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I decided to book Casa Bellavista for our group of 4 because it just looked so beautiful from the pictures and also the reviews. We were not disappointed!

We arrived at night and Simonetta drove out to meet us so we could find the house. Even in the darkness of the night, when we arrived at the driveway of the house, we were so happy to be there. It was warm and inviting and so were the hosts and even their energetic pets (2 dogs and 1 cat). Our rooms were lovely and distinctive.

During our 3 night stay, Simonetta gave us suggestions on where to go as we wanted to make day trips to Siena and Cortona and also helped arrange for a local winery visit, which was off the beaten path (my favorite).

However, what may be the best service I have ever gotten anywhere happened on the day we left the B&B to head to Rome Fiumicino as someone in our group needed to catch a flight back to Asia. We had driven about 2 hours to the airport and we had almost dropped off the car, when I received a call from Guido. He said that someone had left her passport at the B&B (OMG). Immediately, we were all taken aback. What to do? Guido offered to have someone drive out to the airport (2 hours) to drop off the passport. The driver arrived almost 3 hours later, we got back the passport and although he did not ask for any money we of course gave some as a token of our appreciation.

A great big GRAZIE to Guido and Simonetta for their help and generosity on this trip!!

Room Tip: If you need separate beds, feel free to ask Simonetta as they can provide that option in certain roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bellavista

Address: Case Sparse Creti 40, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bellavista 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Bellavista Bed and Breakfast in Cortona, Tuscany. We decided to open our home to whoever wishes to live the simple but true rhythm of theTuscan countryside. It is definitely an unforgettable experience to stay in a comfortable and elegant environment, with furnishings belonging to our family for generations, have breakfast of homemade cakes and breads, relax in the garden with a good glass of wine, amongst birds singing and candle lit dinners, with genuine products of this land. To fulfill this goal, we have set ourselves four simple rules: • Warm and friendly welcome, professional punctuality, and with attention to individual needs • A respect for the environment and an eco-friendly approach in every day tasks. • Use of products linked to the territory, philosophically, if not completely biologic or bio-dynamic • Regard for and presentation of typical products, and of culinary culture local to our territory. It is with these intentions that we welcome visitors in to our home, and put at their disposal the magnificent territory of the Valdichiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bellavista Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.