We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Casale...lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Il Casale - Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Il Casale - Apartments to your Saves list
Residence Il Casale - Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. San Pietro a Cegliolo 434, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Il Casale...lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

My wife and I have stayed here twice, and have booked for a 3rd stay. A terrific spot. I cycle and Lily walks (big distances) and the place is perfectly situated for these activities. Full well equipped kitchen (we love to cook) and close to myriad restaurants. Cortona at the top of the hill, against the foot of which Casale sits. Day trips from here very convenient. A pretty place with lots of Tuscan authenticity, and nice and helpful staff. Highly recommended.

lilybilly

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Three friends and I have just completed six weeks at il Casale.....September 17-October 29, 2011. What a wonderful place!!! We have no complaints at all. Our apartment was spacious and comfortable. Beautiful antique furniture graced the interior. The apartment was clean, spacious, kitchen well stocked and very suitable for four American ladies whose desires were to experience the culture, and minimal tourism. The location was great for day trips to surrounding wineries, etc. The grounds were beautiful and well-kept. Fruit trees bounded.. lovely outdoor spaces for morning coffee or alfresco dining....
Many occasions we asked the Reception office for guidance and she was always helpful. Signor Vittorio , the owner, had his personal phone number on the door so that he was always available to us as well. He was frequently walking the grounds, interacting with his quests, and ensuring that everyone was having needs met and enjoying themselves.
As regards the mosquitoes...they come with the territory! I live on St. Simons Island, GA USA and we have mosquitoes, too. Just take a little spray and keep your windows closed!! Our group is planning another trip to Italy for next year for multiple weeks and we will definately stay at Il Casale for its comfort, value, and most of all hospitality! It feels like we have found a vacation "home."

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Il Casale as part of a villa and bike package from BikePlusRentals, and we loved every minute of it. Having booked a studio, we were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment on arrival by the owner, Vittorio, who was a wonderful host, helping us with our wi-fi connection and stopping by every night as we sat outside for dinner to make sure our stay was going well. We also loved the other guests--especially two couples from the Netherlands who were in Cortona to sing at a relative's wedding and invited us to share a bottle of wine after we'd listened to them practice. And after a glorious day of cycling through the Tuscan hills, it was wonderful to return to our apartment to take a swim or sit out in the garden, watching the sun set over Cortona.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We spent our honeymoon and one of the best holidays at this point. It was ideal place for romantic trip, especially for relaxation, taking break from everyday live and known the italians hospitality. Big advantage of this place is location close to many attractions of cities, and many vineyards around. We have a great memory of this holidays - our son ;-) Surely we will return to this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

The property is absolutely beautiful and has breathtaking views of Cortona on the hill...the grounds are very well kept and the apartment was very nice. During the week the reception is very helpful and ready to take care of any needs you have however make sure you have what you need for the weekend as the opening hours we were given for Saturday were not followed and it was difficult to find anyone on property. The apartment was beautfiul and mostly very comfortable. The only complaint I had was that while the bathroom was mostly very clean there was some mold in the shower stall and on the wall above it, which is why I only gave it 4 stars in that category. We stayed in the apartment that sleeps 4(Tulipano) and while our bed was quite comfortable the couple we were with complained that one of the twin beds in their room was lumpy and hard to sleep on so when they pushed them together they were forced to crowd together on the other one. All in all Il Casale provided us with a beautfiul respite in Tuscany, a great place to unwind for a few days and enjoy some quiet time before we headed into the chaos of Rome. Make sure you ask to be informed about all the fees up front, they told us about a cleaning fee when we checked in however when we left they also wanted a fee for the heater (9 euro per day) which we hadn't used and weren't informed about. Thankfully when I told the lady we hadn't used the heater she was very polite and did not make us pay the charge. I would say if I came back to Cortona I would gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask them to explain any/all fees before hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

It was advertised with King size beds but most of suites we were shown had double beds large enough for 2 children,After complaining ,we were shown their best apartment;one Queen and 2 single beds which were very uncomfortable.The bathroom had a shower smaller than a telephone booth.We were supplied one towel each for the week and 2 rolls of toilet paper.All condoments (salt,pepper,sugar ,etc )had to be supplied yourself and the place was not very clean when we arrived.Between the hordes of mosquitos and the owners constantly barking dog,it was not a peaceful Tuscan experience. Everything was "cost plus"when you actually found someone who worked there.For the money,it was a one star at best

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerCortona, owner at Residence Il Casale - Apartments, responded to this review, December 9, 2009
With reference to your comment we would like to explain you the following points as we believe that the satisfaction of our guests is vital in our sector.
We don't know where you find the description that in our property we have king size beds, this is very strange because except one apartment we don't have king size beds.
We would be curious to know where you read about king size beds.
Our property is a ancient farm house of 1500 and furnished with tipical antique furnitues (as beds, tables etc).
The showers of the bathrooms measure about 80x80 cm.
About the foodstuffs you mentioned we would like to inform you that we are not obliged to provide them, and on the contrary -according to the latest hygiene rules- we are not allowed to provide it, sometimes when the packaging is well maintained and not damaged we leave them available for the following guests inside the apartment.
About the mosquitoes has been a general problem in the area of Cortona and not exclusively for Il Casale due to heat and humidity that there was in this particular year.
Furthermore, the reception is open both in the morning and in the afternoon in order to help our customers in everything the may need, therefore, if you had problems you should have mentioned them to our staff always at your complete disposal.
we are sorry to learn it now and only throughout the comments posted on Tripadvisor an an other site. If you had communicated them at the beginning of you stay we would have given you another apartment and we are sorry also to inform you that only you complained about all those lacks in our service in fact all the other guests have had a pleasant stay.

Your sincerely,
The Staff
Residence Il Casale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed at Residence Il Casalle for a week in May. The weather was wonderful as were the accomodations. Our host was very hospitable, helping us out with anything we needed. The pool had not been opened when we arrived but they opened it early for our use.
The location was good too as it allowed us to do some exploring each day and the proximity to Cortona was just a short drive.
The whole ambience was exactly what we were looking for from the sound of Church bells ringing, singing birds, to the lush greenery that surrounded the grounds and of course the 16th century architecture. We would definitely return to the Residnece Il Casalle.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Il Casale - Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Il Casale - Apartments

Address: Loc. San Pietro a Cegliolo 434, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Il Casale - Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SELF CATERING APARTMENTS WITH POOL NEAR CORTONA.Il Casale, a residence out of a building of the year 500 sits in front of the towers, the domes the green and the sky of Cortona, a city of ancient origins, often visited by the ex French president Mitterand, and today by the University of Georgia (UGA). During august it is the chosen location for the National Antiques Showroom, where for the occasion, in the old rooms of Palazzo Casali and Palazzo Vagnotti, all the most important Italian exhibitors gather. The rural complex is situated nearby the San Pietro a Cegliolo neighbourhood. Today it is a very comfortable and accommodating Residence, hidden in the silence of a spectacular and suggestive creation of the nature. It is laid out around a huge garden and the mother tower which overlooks the main building, which is also the oldest and still maintains the original features, like the double slope roof and the external stairway with a wide landing for the middle floor access. Behind one of the complexes’ wings, finds room on over an hectare of green grass, the swimming pool which is for guests use only. Built with the most modern and efficient techniques its size is 16 by 8 meters. Furnished with deck chairs, comfortable pillows, umbrellas, showers and everything to help relax and fun for the kids, while watching Cortona’s skyline. The garden is one of the most beautiful features of the complex. Very well grown and cared, shines with plenty of different flowers varieties and plants which give colour to the spectacular green English carpet. Here you’ll find the tables and chairs for breakfast and dinner in a relaxing environment.The residence is made of 10 apartments, of which 8 sleep 4, one sleep 3, and one sleep 2. They all provide a stylish and elegant solution, floors and ceilings made with old cotto tiles and antique furniture aging around the year ‘800. Everything carefully planned and put together in respect of the most modern way of living. The apartments have two bedrooms, some of which with two double beds, some other with one double bed and a room with single beds, bathroom with shower and the living room with a cooking corner (fire spots, electrical oven, fridge, double sink). The general feeling is of a relaxing and “antique” luxurious environment. The bedrooms are especially thought in the way they’ve been furnished. Antique beds (‘700 and ‘800), carpets who match the period of the furniture, practical closets also from the ‘800 style. Everything is planned to match with the floors and the ceilings. Apartment sleep 4:two bedrooms with two double beds or one double bed and two single beds, bathroom with shower, living room/kitchen fully equipped. Apartment sleep 3: one big bedroom with a double bed and a single bed, two bathrooms with shower, living room/kitchen fully equipped. Apartment sleep 2:one bedroom with a double bed, one bathroom with shower, living room/kitchen fully equipped.Possibility to have additional beds on request. SERVICES:Every apartment has its own external space furnished with garden chairs and table, and inside provides Satellite TV, air conditioning/heating direct phone line. WI-FI CONNECTION ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Il Casale - Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Il Casale Cortona
Residence Il Casale Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Il Casale - Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.