We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Luca

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Luca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Piazza Garibaldi, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 hotels in Cortona
Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a week here in September and enjoyed all aspects of our visit. Beginning with the location, a good choice! No need to haul luggage all over town as the road leads right up to the front door. The staff were very helpful at all times looking after all of our needs, big or small, promptly and with a smile. Our room was very comfortable, and although the bathroom was "cozy", it was a normal European size. If you want a Hilton, stay in North America. The view from our balcony was magnificent. No complaints, just praise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    50
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
20
56
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel and we highly recommend it. The first time we just came across it. The second time we specifically chose to stay here. Both times we had view rooms and the view is a spectacular one over the valley below. We stayed two nights and as we were on a motorcycle we were allowed to leave it in the front of the hotel (which was important to us). Mariano and staff were helpful and friendly. This hotel is wonderfully situated for walking around Cortona. Breakfast is extensive but would recommend getting up early if you want eggs for breakfast. Cortona itself is one of our favorite places in Italy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Unbelievable location! Tremendous views. Very close to shops and excellent restaurants and wine shops.

Mariano at the front desk exceeded our expectations for service and his accomodating manner.

can't wait to go back

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the valley below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Hotel San Luca is actually in a great spot if you are staying in Cortona for a couple of days to see the museum and church(es). Parking is just down the hill and was pretty convenient. We were allowed to park in the small lot on the hotel property overnight the first night when we checked in, which was nice. Views are great but remember with roughly 60 rooms, only 30 of them will have any view of the valley at all. Seemed like they were understaffed as the breakfast crowd had just one person taking care of a LOT of people. Friendly staff but, again, if convenience is your key, this is a good stay, but not a great stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a rooom with a view when booking and book very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were recommended to the San Luca Restaurant by our hosts at the B&B Casa Chilenne - the girls fancied fish, and this far from the coast on a Friday in August apparently there are few good options.

Jeannette from Casa Chilenne not only spoke to the chef. but also took us to the restaurant and ensured the maitre d' gave us the right table and menu.

The restaurant terrace is a stunning place to eat; built out over the side of the hill and commanding vast views over the Chiana Valley below.

In response to our request for fish, the chef had compiled a fish menu degustazione - seven courses of beautifully-prepared and presented fish dishes which had the girls purring in appreciation, accompanied by a lovely local Tuscan Sauvignon Blanc.

Highlight for the girls was undoubtedly the dish of mussels and clams stewed in a chilli and white wine sauce and served with a pastry topping.

Highlight for me was the final dish - a beautifully-fresh griiled turbot.

The staff and service were sublime - attentive without being intrusive and equally happy responding to our lame Italian or speaking good colloquial English.

We'd tried the restaurants in and around the main piazza on previous visits to Cortona; this was a very welcome and enjoyable alternative which we'd never have known about were it not for our B&B hosts. Thoroughly recommended for a memorable meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We moved from a noisy B&B in Cortona to Hotel San Luca. Our expectations were minimal but we wanted a good nights sleep! The views are fabulous. The location is easily accessable. The rooms are spotlessly clean and we were not disturbed once with noise or distractions. Breakfast could be improved upon as you must get down early in order to have full choice but everything was fresh and staff were most obliging. Overall the staff of this hotel made our stay a dream. They were continually offering assistance and at all times pleasant, courteous and obliging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

After trying to find our way in to Cortona we literally ended up at the end of the road which had the San Luca gently nestled on the side of the hill. We had no idea where we going to stay and after checking out the hotel room in this 4 star property for 93 Euro, decided it would be ideal.
The hotel clings to the side of a cliff where you catch the lift down to your floor.
The rooms are generous, clean and the view from the window is awesome. The staff at the desk are helpful and informative and its position is perfect. The only criticism we had was that night at dinner we sat at a table with commanding views over the Tuscan valley below. The restaurant was quite busy seating around 60 covers all being waited on by one waitress and a runner who had to be directed by the waitress. Needless to say the service was very slow and although the waitress was efficient she was struggling badly and obviously in a tizz. When we were ready to leave we had to get up and go to the register to pay as we couldnt catch the waitresses eye. While we were waiting to pay we noticed the counter next to the register was covered with dozens of plates waiting to be taken to tables. Im sure many of the meals would have been cold by the time they reached their destination. A real shame considering that this was the only fault we could find with the hotel. So our tip would be to eat earlier as we did.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of the valley below
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Address: 1 Piazza Garibaldi, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cortona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luca 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Luca is in Cortona historic centre, a 15-minute drive from Lake Trasimeno. It offers air-conditioned and stylish rooms with satellite TV and minibar.The hotel’s terrace offers a panoramic view of the surrounding countryside. There is a gym on the covered terrace and a separate sun terrace with a hot tub.Free Wi-Fi is available in the whole building. Reception is open 24 hours a day.The hotel is around 3 km from Camucia di Cortona Station and a 25-minute drive from the A1 motorway. You can reach Perugia by car in 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel
San Luca Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Luca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.