We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know about the rooms, but the restaurant is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Luca

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Luca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Piazza Garibaldi, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Cortona
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Don't know about the rooms, but the restaurant is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were recommended to the San Luca Restaurant by our hosts at the B&B Casa Chilenne - the girls fancied fish, and this far from the coast on a Friday in August apparently there are few good options.

Jeannette from Casa Chilenne not only spoke to the chef. but also took us to the restaurant and ensured the maitre d' gave us the right table and menu.

The restaurant terrace is a stunning place to eat; built out over the side of the hill and commanding vast views over the Chiana Valley below.

In response to our request for fish, the chef had compiled a fish menu degustazione - seven courses of beautifully-prepared and presented fish dishes which had the girls purring in appreciation, accompanied by a lovely local Tuscan Sauvignon Blanc.

Highlight for the girls was undoubtedly the dish of mussels and clams stewed in a chilli and white wine sauce and served with a pastry topping.

Highlight for me was the final dish - a beautifully-fresh griiled turbot.

The staff and service were sublime - attentive without being intrusive and equally happy responding to our lame Italian or speaking good colloquial English.

We'd tried the restaurants in and around the main piazza on previous visits to Cortona; this was a very welcome and enjoyable alternative which we'd never have known about were it not for our B&B hosts. Thoroughly recommended for a memorable meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    45
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
18
52
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We moved from a noisy B&B in Cortona to Hotel San Luca. Our expectations were minimal but we wanted a good nights sleep! The views are fabulous. The location is easily accessable. The rooms are spotlessly clean and we were not disturbed once with noise or distractions. Breakfast could be improved upon as you must get down early in order to have full choice but everything was fresh and staff were most obliging. Overall the staff of this hotel made our stay a dream. They were continually offering assistance and at all times pleasant, courteous and obliging.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

After trying to find our way in to Cortona we literally ended up at the end of the road which had the San Luca gently nestled on the side of the hill. We had no idea where we going to stay and after checking out the hotel room in this 4 star property for 93 Euro, decided it would be ideal.
The hotel clings to the side of a cliff where you catch the lift down to your floor.
The rooms are generous, clean and the view from the window is awesome. The staff at the desk are helpful and informative and its position is perfect. The only criticism we had was that night at dinner we sat at a table with commanding views over the Tuscan valley below. The restaurant was quite busy seating around 60 covers all being waited on by one waitress and a runner who had to be directed by the waitress. Needless to say the service was very slow and although the waitress was efficient she was struggling badly and obviously in a tizz. When we were ready to leave we had to get up and go to the register to pay as we couldnt catch the waitresses eye. While we were waiting to pay we noticed the counter next to the register was covered with dozens of plates waiting to be taken to tables. Im sure many of the meals would have been cold by the time they reached their destination. A real shame considering that this was the only fault we could find with the hotel. So our tip would be to eat earlier as we did.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views of the valley below
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

San Luca is the hotel for someone who wants to experience Tuscany. It is not pretentious or presumptuous. There is nothing glitzy. No frills. It is authentic and simple. A friendly, clean and comfortable home away from home that does not attempt to distract from the overwhelming beauty along it's dynamic perimeter. The staff is non assuming, yet extremely gracious, deeply genuine and always helpful.

The bus from Camucia's train station arrives just in front of the hotel. Choose a room overlooking all of Tuscany. Fall asleep under a quiet starlit night and enjoy an outdoor breakfast overlooking the lake. For the solo or business traveler, San Luca offers an adequate workspace, dependable wifi and a terraced exercise room with an incredible view.

For families, San Luca is conveniently positioned at the entrance to Cortona's panoramic public garden, complete with a playground, fascinating sculptures, outdoor snacks and a trail leading to the public pool.

For couples, San Luca offers the perfect location for private romance. Enjoy a glass of wine at the Enoteca just around the corner, stroll down the main street, Via Nazionale, stopping along the way to peruse art galleries and boutiques. Etruscan museums, fabulous restaurants, wine tasting and gelato are within a short walk. Your cozy room waits quietly over a vast panaroma.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stopped for 3 days at this "Under the Tuscan Sun" famed town. The hotel is located across from the final bus stop coming up from the rail station. Not a 5 star but convinient to the main town and the view from the hotel of the Tuscan scenery is wonderful. The room was clean. It is more like a B & B rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Hotel San Luca sits right at the entrance to Via Nazionale, and adjacent to the main bus stop for regional buses. The restaurant and bar area has spectacular views out over the plains and you can see Lago Trasimeno in the distance, and on a clear day Montepulciano.

You are only a few metres from the centre of the city, could not be more convenient. The rooms are servicable and clean but not spectacular. Price is typical for the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

• Perfectly located in Cortona – exactly at entrance of main walkway to village
• Fabulous views of Toscana
• Best of both worlds for location,views and direct village access
• No instructions in room
• Some staff helpful and others were not.
• Used by tour bus operators for bulk bookings
• Breakfast good but don’t be late or you’ll miss out if the tour bus is booked in
• Appeared preference was given to tour bus group
• Kindly allowed us to park at hotel – which was great considering we were not used to left hand drive parking
• Double room small…better to ask and pay for a 3 person room, however you will not have a view from the room. No matter as the view from the terrance where you have breakfast more than makes up for it and large public viewing area next to hotel provides more than enough views for photos etc
• Wifi was available at a cost – but we were not charged for the 5 hours.
• Difficulty in having dinner in hotel as tour groups seem to book out the dining rooms
• Allowed to check out a day early when our arrangements changed without penalty
• Safe provided

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Address: 1 Piazza Garibaldi, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cortona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Luca 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Luca is in Cortona historic centre, a 15-minute drive from Lake Trasimeno. It offers air-conditioned and stylish rooms with satellite TV and minibar.The hotel’s terrace offers a panoramic view of the surrounding countryside. There is a gym on the covered terrace and a separate sun terrace with a hot tub.Free Wi-Fi is available in the whole building. Reception is open 24 hours a day.The hotel is around 3 km from Camucia di Cortona Station and a 25-minute drive from the A1 motorway. You can reach Perugia by car in 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Hotel
San Luca Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Luca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.