We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Marsili Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Marsili Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Marsili Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Cesare Battisti 13, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our stay here for two weeks in early to mid May. Besides the excellent breakfast buffet, the happy hour complimentary snacks and the late night vin santo, the rooms were spotless, large and offered a beautiful view of the valley. However, the best part was the staff. They were so upbeat and helpful and pleasant. I was actually ill for a couple of days and they got a local doctor to pay a house visit and sat and translated for us. I recovered quickly and it made only a tiny dent in an otherwise spectacular trip. The girls at the reception desk know the area well and were great sources of information for us as we were driving to the various hill towns in Tuscany and Umbria with Cortona as our base. They made reservations for us for dinners, for wine tastings, and for cooking class at Toscana e Gusto. I have been meaning to email them directly to tell them how wonderful our time was with them.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    47
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
292
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Staying in Cortona was a wonderful choice. You can visit all the other lovely towns all within an hour, and Cortona is just beautiful. We loved staying in Villa Marisili. The location was great, with a spectacular view! In addition, each and every one of the staff was amazing...warm, incredibly attentive and helpful! The minute we stepped in after a long flight they greeted us with a hug and a welcome as if we were family.They made our stay complete and couldn't do enough for us. The deluxe room and suite was spacious, bed was very comfortable, and spotlessly clean! Loved staying here and would recommend Villa Marsili to anyone visiting Tuscany. FYI, it was also easy to park there and walking to town was 5 to 7 minutes, very easy. Keep up the great work. A million thanks and hope to visit soon again!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 30 and 35, view was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges Belgique
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Excellent location and easy to reach by car. The reception was super friendly and very helpfull in finding a parking space. We also got good advice for the restaurants in Cortona. We immediately felt at home. The classic room was very nice and spacious enough. We had a nice view over the tuscany countryside. Nice well furnished convenient bathroom. The building is a real juwel with cosy lounge and breakfast room and an garden terrace where you also can take breakfast. The breakfast buffet is super. Large choice of everything. So, be hugry!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We got married in Cortona, and stayed here one night before we moved into our villa. We parked in the little courtyard, the porter ran around unloading wedding dress, bridesmaid dresses, bag after bag and then happily reloaded the next day! Everyone was so friendly and helpful and very excited that we were marrying in Cortona.
I have no doubt we will return, hopefully for longer as we were there in the heat wave and the air conditioning was amazing!
Thank you for an amazing stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was the second time I've stayed at Villa Marsili and I hope to return again and again. The staff treats you as though you are a family member visiting their home! The rooms and other common areas are beautifully appointed and immaculate. Breakfast was a cornucopia of delightful items carefully prepared with love each day by the staff. Appetizers each evening and Vin Santo and cookies every night when you return. The wonderful staff will help you plan your site-seeing tour of Tuscany and give you marvelous suggestions for dinner in Cortona and nearby villages.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor have gorgeous views and the corner rooms have the most!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have travelled through Tuscany many times before and encountered some of the best hotels, but have never experienced such a dreamy stay as we did at Hotel Villa Marsili.

From the minute we walked in, we felt we had died and gone to heaven. There was an angel waiting for us, Luana. Villa Marsili is part of Historic European Hotels. The artwork, the antique furniture, the handpainted details on the ceilings and walls create an elegant mood. The reception staff obviously love their job and make you feel like family. They are always willing to help you with restaurant reservations, routes, maps and tips to make your daytrips fully enjoyable.

The rooms are all beautiful. Ours, # 36, located in front of the Hotel had an outstanding view of the valley below, a king size bed and was well furnished. The inroom amenities also include a large safe, flatscreen TV and high speed internet with wifi (Skype connections were very good with Canada). A complimentary minibar is replenished daily with water and cola. Fresh homemade marshmellows and candy are also a nice touch.

The morning breakfast, italian style, is to die for. The smell of freshly baked croissants, quiches, and capuccino fill the room. Fresh tuscan cured meats, local cheeses, fresh fruit and cereal complete the spread. Signora Marina, the owner, bakes some classy goodies every morning and was kind enough to share some of her recipes, the Camilla o torta di carote and the Tartelette con prugne e crema pasticerra.

At aperitivo time, from 7pm to 8pm, the Garden patio welcomes you to share a glass of wine with other hotel guests and a lovely selection of tuscan appetizers are served, again complimentary. A nightcap of brandy and biscotti is also available when you come back from dinner.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk into old Cortona and most popular restaurants. For dinner, we recommend you ask the reception staff to reserve a table for you. We enjoyed, La Buccacia, Trattoria Toscana, ... but our favorite was PRELUDIO, suggested by Joana. The gourmet menu was impressive and so were the wine list, the food presentation, the attentive service, the ambiance, and to top it off, your choice of limoncello or grappa offered to conclude the meal. All of this at a very reasonable price.

We highly recommend you visit Cortona and choose to reserve at Hotel Villa Marsili. We wish to thank Signora Marina, for a wonderful stay. Special thanks to Luana, Joana and Julia who have made the whole experience, truly out of this world. If you stay here, we promise you will shed tears when you leave, ... and make plans to return !!!

Read review of things to do: Scenic drive to Val d'Orcia

Room Tip: Rooms on high floor in front of hotel have better view. Room # 36 is a Superior double with king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We selected this place as a base to visit the area . From the pictures the hotel looked ok , we were a bit worried ..... When we arrived Luana was so gentle , sweet and very welcoming. Our rooms were so pretty , spacious and very clean and very comfortable . The breakfast was full and again the service was great. This was like a 5 star Ritz Carlton in Cortona !
Definitely the right place to stay in the area :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Marsili Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili Hotel

Address: Viale Cesare Battisti 13, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Family Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Escapio, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Marsili Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Marsili Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.