We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views and Incredible staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Marsili Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Marsili Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Marsili Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Cesare Battisti 13, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Spectacular views and Incredible staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This elegant and beautiful hotel more than lives up to the exuberant reviews. The views dazzle, the old world charm captivates, the suite was decadently marvelous. However it is the incredible staff who surpass all expectations. Luana and Joanna, Marina and Stefano at the front desk, Iliana, the creator of extraordinary breakfasts, made every interaction a delight, they deserve every single accolade, every abundant praise in these reviews. This was a special trip for my 40th and the beautiful Villa Marsili and more importantly the warm and kindness of it's wonderful people made it a unforgettable vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    47
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
292
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kigali
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our room was very nice albeit the bathroom was rather small. We had lovely views. What made this hotel really nice was the staff. Both the day and evening managers were very helpful. The breakfast is amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prospettive, Public Relations Manager at Villa Marsili Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to share your nice comments on Villa Marsili . We are always interested in learning what our guests really enjoy about our property,.

We are glad to hear everything was to your liking, on particular our staff and our breakfast , but we feel sorry the room which you stayed did not have a bathroom as big as you expected. All our rooms are different and have different sizes. If you will come back kindly remind us of this fact and we'll be help you to book a room according to your needs.



Looking forward to welcoming you again to Villa Marsili
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in Villa Marsili for 3 nights during a recent trip to Cortona and found it to be in a great location, with easy free parking just up the road. The staff were all very friendly, the turn down service is an added bonus! Free appetisers when you order a glass of wine (€3.50 upwards) between 7-8pm. Rooms are not luxurious but very clean and we had no problems with noise despite overlooking a street. Free wifi. Few mins walk to main square in Cortona. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prospettive, Public Relations Manager at Villa Marsili Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are very fluttered by your nice review. Thank you for having understood the spirit and the atmosphere of our Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We've been to Cortona many times but hands down this hotel tops all other places we've stayed. Elegant rooms, delightful sunlit breakfast room and the staff are spectacular! Julia is the most gifted hostess that we've ever had the pleasure of meeting. Not only with us but every guest that entered her facility. I've stayed at the Villa Marsilli twice and will definitely being going back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Valdichianna
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I've just come back from a week's stay at the Hotel and can hand on heart say it was outstanding. The room I stayed in had incredible views over the valley and the heating kept us nice and toasty at night. The Jacuzzi bath was a nice surprise! The staff is what sets this apart from any other hotel I have stayed in. Their personal approach where nothing is a problem is exceptional. The food is a delight for even the most discerning of taste buds and they have a well stocked bar (although a nice single malt would be a good idea). They were fabulous with our three year old Daughter and even provided a babysitter when we wanted a night out on New Years Eve! There are no bad points at all but I would suggest that they mention the prices when a guest orders a drink or laundry as we weren't expecting some of those charges (five euros for a cup of tea). The 'complimentary laundry service' is chargeable but they do a fantastic job to be fair. Don't let these pointers put you off however as I am a well seasoned traveler who expects very high standards and this hotel did not disappoint. Book now as I will be returning with my Family again and again...

Room Tip: Room 15 was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartfield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Spectacular vistas! Impeccable service! A professional and friendly staff! Spacious and charming rooms! Delicious breakfasts and evening aperitiffs! Truly a "fairytale" experience! This hotel, located on the edge of the walled medieval city of Cortona, is a gem and so are the employees who work there! We will never forget the genuine hospitality, kindness and helpfulness of Julia, Luana and Joanna at the daytime front desk. In the evenings, and equally impressive at the front desk, we could always look forward to interesting, informative and multilingual conversations with Marina and Stefano (our favorites!) We also began every morning in the dining room with wonderful Iliana, our server, who always shared great tips and suggestions with us. They were ALL simply fantastic! Our five day stay at this exceptional hotel totally enhanced our 30th wedding anniversary celebration trip to Italy. We almost felt sad leaving and are so looking forward to a return trip to Villa Marsili!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Points about the location, beautiful views and surroundings have all been touched on so to expand that would be to merely echo that which was written. All were as previoulsy commented- great, brilliant and more

What I'd like to focus on is the staff and owner, in one word all outstanding. The ladies at the front desk Yoana, Iulia and Luann were so helpful it made our 5 night stay all the more enjoyable. If we needed ideas, driving tips, tips on where to park in Siena, restaraunts in Cortona, they were all there to assist and did so brilliantly. In one case we asked about seeing olive oil being processed and made. Yoana contacted one of the owners (Maria) and the next thing we knew we were being offered the opportunity to be taken to a small olive oil producer by Maria and given a one on one tour along with oil sampling. It was one of the highlights of the trip and proved to be highly educational with regards to understanding olive oil and how to truly get the most character from it. Our understanding is future tours will be offered for a small fee and strongly suggest you do it

By the time our stay was over we felt as if we had been provided a rare glimpse into the Italian life and thier hospitality, so much so my wife and I felt as if we now have extended family. In fact the door to our home will be open to them anytime they can come.

In closing I travel a lot and stay in hotels that while nice with all their perks can not and will never match the warmth and personalized attention we received while we stayed at the Villa Marsili. For me a traveler there is no money that can buy that and can only be found in people who genuinely care.

Thanks again to everyone at Villa Marsili, and rest assured- we'll be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Marsili Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili Hotel

Address: Viale Cesare Battisti 13, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#3 Family Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Marsili Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Marsili Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.