We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small hotel on the edge of the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Marsili Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Marsili Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Marsili Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Cesare Battisti 13, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Charming small hotel on the edge of the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in October 2012. Hotel is well located at the edge of Cortona and allows you to walk everywhere. Parking on the street is free. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Breakfast is included in room and there is a free apperitivo every evening in the lobby. The staff can help you with anything. This is the place to be in Cortona.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    47
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
292
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had the best breakfast I think I've ever experienced in my world travels. The service was precise friendly and informative!
I can't say enough about the breakfast experience. There were 3 types of home-made yogurts and countless exceptional home-made jams and preserves. The variety of seeds, nuts, muesli and fresh / preserved fruits were amazing.
My travelling companion felt that the meats, cheeses and arugula plate was outstanding. There were 3 types of mozzarella at breakfast! The olive oils were delightful!
Service was delightful and friendly. I would stay here again just for that.
The rooms were fairly average and had no air-conditioning! Thankfully it was late in the season and weather was turning cool. Had to leave the windows open for circulation but that brought the problem of traffic noise, since this hotel is situated at the base of the town adjacent to the main road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I wish I could have stayed longer at this lovely hotel and spent more time with the delightful staff. I had a single room which was bright, spacious and had a great sized bathroom. All the furnishings were great quality and the bed was really comfy. I came back from a walk and the housekeeping staff had prepared my room for bedtime which was a nice surprise! Yoana on the front desk is incredibly kind and friendly. She took the time to really make sure I got the most out of my brief stay, advising me where is nice to eat and where sells good souvenirs. I was travelling alone but felt as though I had a friend there with me! Also special thanks to Marina on reception who very kindly gave me a lift to the station at the end of my stay. The breakfast is delicious - best croissants ever! - and there is a nice range or fresh fruit, pastries, meats, cereals and yoghurts. In the evening they set out lots of little snacks in the comfy lounge area and you just pay for your drink, which is very reasonably priced. This hotel definitely lives up to its four stars and I would go back in a heartbeat. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for one night in Cortona as part of an twelve day tour of Italy. The hotel is ideally situated in Cortona. The rooms are large and very clean with a king bed, sitting area and large bathroom. The view of the valley below is spectacular. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the town center. The staff is very welcoming and the buffet breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, tx
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lovely room, great view, nice breakfast and good location. Very friendly and helpful staff could not have been more eager to assist and please. All of the accolades from other reviewers are well deserved. Giulia and Joanna were particularly helpful and the linens, toiletries, fabrics & furnishings were all top notch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

That we only stayed here one night (part of tour). It was such a beutiful, comfortable, clean and relaxing stay. Short walk to town, many dining options there, as well as shopping. We had a great night sleep and wonderful breakfast. Would be a great place to stay and relax for a few nights.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

When planning our 10 day trip thru Tuscany, I read a very brief article on the top 5 cities to visit, and one of them was Cortona...a place I had never heard of. So, for the heck of it, I scheduled one night in Cortona and the Villa Marsili Hotel, and I must say, it was the highlight of our trip. A gorgeous, small town....a nice respite from the hustle and bustle of Florence! If you get a chance, walk to the very top of Cortona, it's steep, but SO worth it!

This hotel was fabulous...an extraordinary example of Italian hospitality! When we checked in the woman at the desk took a lot of time telling us about places to eat, getting around town...and get this, she offered up her parking space to us as she was about to end her shift! As we were talking to this desk clerk, the other desk clerk took the time to sit down with another hotel guest to give them the same introductory treatment!

Then after we explored the town, experienced the recommended restaurant for lunch, then dinner, we returned to the hotel relatively late and we were offered a traditional Italian dessert wine with biscotti for dipping. An unexpected (but delicious) treat! We also had turn-down service (who does that anymore?!). And in the morning there was great buffet breakfast.

The view from the hotel was spectacular...not only from our large room, but also from the front terrace and breakfast room. The hotel is a convenient (but a little steep) and short walk to town.

My only tip for folks visiting by car -- don't use the GPS! Print out directions from the hotel's website or use a map, because the GPS did not have accurate representation of the location of the hotel, and the hotel itself does not have large signage.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Marsili Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili Hotel

Address: Viale Cesare Battisti 13, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#3 Family Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Marsili Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Marsili Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.