We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Marsili Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Marsili Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Marsili Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Cesare Battisti 13, 52044 Cortona, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Cortona
Uk
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Of course we read the reviews on here before we booked this hotel, but I have to say that, if anything it was even better than we could have possibly expected. I don't need to repeat what others have said, I'll just endorse them. It truly felt as if we were spending a few days with friends from the moment we arrived until the time that we left with heavy hearts! We really want to return to this amazing hotel, and we only left at 11 this morning! If I could give more than 5 for a top rating I would!

We had room 26 which had a view across the Valdichiana, and the room was so peaceful that we slept until gone 9 each morning . . . not an easy thing to do in most hotels. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with so many local specialities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    46
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
46
276
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Like many other travellers, we checked out the reviews on tripadvisor before booking this hotel as part of our Tuscany tour. It is a beautiful hotel, typical historical Italian design with a lovely garden to sit in. The hotel is only 5 minutes from the town centre. The key difference between this hotel and any other I have stayed in is the friendly and personal service. There is no car park so we parked up the road initially. When we checked in Julia, the delightful receptionist sent a colleague out to make sure we had parked in a safe place and we received a free bottle of sparking mineral water. You can help yourself to free dessert wine and fruit throughout the day in reception. We were given a good introduction to the area with all the main sights highlighted on a map and it is unusual not to have to ask anything. This really was a little gem and I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Cortona.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We knew we were going to enjoy our stay when we pulled into the drop off area and were immediately welcomed by a member of staff who helped with our luggage and ensured we were checked in before directing us to the free local parking. The receptionists were exceptionally pleasant and very knowledgable about the area. Nothing seemed too much trouble. There were lovely touches too, such as the complimentary water, biscuits and soft drinks in the fridge, the dishes of sweets in the room, and the complimentary and delicious antipasta in the bar in the evening. The views from our spacious room were stunning, the bed very comfy and we even had a bath as well as a shower. Excellent air conditioning which had a quiet setting for night time. Breakfast service was calm and relaxed with a fantastic buffet, and the only hotel (we stayed in 5) where there was table service for tea and coffee. A few niggles such as a wardrobe door which wouldn't shut, and sound proofing wasn't great, but the ambience and the location (just a few minutes from the centre) more than made up for it.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with two windows so a view across countryside as well as a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We loved our time in Cortona and our stay at Villa Marsili. This was where "Under the Tuscan Sun" was filmed and Diane Lane stayed at Villa Marsili. The Villa was great and the staff were so lovely they made our experience fabulous. The location was perfect for walking around the lovely town of Cortona. The views are magnificent. This was an incredible value and if you have any plans to go any where near Cortona, we strongly suggest you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We enjoyed staying here. The management and staff are very friendly and helpful. They provided excellent dining recommendations and would spend considerable time drawing out directions on the local map. The hotel is older like the town, but it is maintained very well and kept very clean. The room was a bit warm, but it was very hot during the time we stayed. The breakfast was very nice and the waitress was very polite and helpful. Also the convenience bar in the room was complimentary. The hotel is located at the bottom of the town, so you will have to walk a bit to get to restaurants and shops, but this whole town is full of hills, so bring your walking shoes.

Overall, a very relaxing stay. A nice change of pace after a few days in Rome. The town is charming and very fun to visit for a few days. The views from the hotel and from all over this town were fabulous!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the end of the villa that is by the road. The scooters and cars an be a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at Villa Marsili for five days during our Tuscan holiday and loved it. The hotel is located on the cliff of Cortona. The views of the Tuscan landscape are amazing. We stayed in a suite and enjoyed every minute being there. The staff was fabulous - helpful, polite, and spoke English very well. Breakfast each morning was excellent. We highly recommend this hotel for a beautiful Tuscan experience. If there was one con - the hotel does not have a pool. Having an available pool close by would be nice for summer guests. Also, if you are traveling by car, the parking is free on street parking. If looking for a parking spot before 2 pm you may have to search. However, the staff is very nice about letting you pull into the courtyard and they will assist in parking. The staff at this hotel go above and beyond to make your stay the best it can be. We will definitely return to Villa Marsili when in Tuscany again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We had 1 night at Villa Marili and wished we had stayed longer. We had high expectations of Cortona but our expectations were far exceeded. It is an extremely charming town with true class. The hotel had a good location, just a 5 min walk up the street. We received an exceptionally warm welcome when we arrived at the hotel and they spent about 15 mins introducing us to the town with lots of recommendations of things to do and places to dine at. The enthusiasm of the staff left a great impression with us and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the basic room which was quite sizeable and had a fantastic view out over the valley. Pleasant surprise was that our fridge was fully stocked with drinks that were all included in the room price- water, coke, iced tea. Breakfast was plentiful and the waitress was quick to ask if we would like additional cappuccinos. All in all, highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Marsili Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Marsili Hotel

Address: Viale Cesare Battisti 13, 52044 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#3 Family Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Marsili Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to TuscanyAmong the colours of a beautiful, generous land offering the smile of a naturally friendly people..Welcome to CortonaA medieval village surrounded by the gentle hills of Valdichiana Far from noises and hectic routine...Welcome to Villa MarsiliWith its refined lounges, and finely furnished, frescoed bedrooms. Welcome to the cosy atmosphere of one of the town's most elegant residences ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Villa Marsili Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marsili

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Marsili Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.