We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Tuscan honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Corte dei Papi

Save Saved
You added Relais La Corte dei Papi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Relais La Corte dei Papi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via La Dogana 12, 52040 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 22 hotels in Cortona
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing Tuscan honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at La Corte Dei Papi for our honeymoon and the entire experience exceeded our expectations. David runs the accommodations, restaurant and hotel property with consummate elegance – and he joyfully assists with your every single need.

We rented bikes for a day trip through the Tuscan wine country; we walked to Cortona for a few meals (albeit the BEST meals we had while there were at La Corte Dei Papi’s main restaurant); sat by the luxurious pool nearly everyday; and enjoyed an outstanding free of charge breakfast buffet out on the patio every morning.

We did a lot of research in booking this trip; and I must say, we nailed it with La Corte Dei Papi. We think about it all the time and often tell our friends that if they ever go to Tuscany, there is no point in looking elsewhere.

One of our fondest memories of David was when he personally carved the steak at our first honeymoon dinner in Tuscany at his restaurant. He is a total gentleman. The food is to die for; the ambiance is outstanding; and this it the best place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    26
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
247
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The impression I got is that really, my family and I were being expected, not as guests but as friends, or guests or as relatives we had not seen for ages.
I felt at home, with the advantage of being in a magical setting and have hospitality and tasteful David noted in all details and pampering its guests.
It Gets leave without wanting to come back next season and take a little Corte del Papi in our hearts.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We had planned to stay here a year ago because of the reviews on Trip Advisor in order to celebrate a family birthday. We were not disappointed in the least; instead, we were continuously impressed with the Relais, with the food, with our rooms, and most especially David Papi. David is beyond charming - warm, wonderful, caring and tremendously considerate of his guests. During the week we stayed, David helped plan a wonderful birthday dinner, gave suggestions for some delightful outings, organized small group tours to Assisi, Orvieto and the wine country, and looked after us early in the morning 'till late at night. He even worked things out when our plans fell through! We had a great time and look forward to returning when the weather is warmer, as I'd love to see the pool and restaurant on a beautiful summer evening!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My first experience with David and Mamma Gabriella was in 2009 when my girlfriends and I stayed for about four days. The hospitality was amazing and David patiently coached my very elementary Italian. I told them when we left that I would bring my husband back to meet them and see their incredible villa. It took four years but we included a stop on our 40th anniversary trip through Italy in June. David and Gabriella welcomed me back like long last family and the hospitality was once again incredible. This time there were several new suites added to the property and a remodeled restaurant and garden...All lovely improvements. The food in the restaurant was great (especially the seafood stew) and breakfast buffet was great. I was so happy to be able to share with my husband one of the loveliest places I have stayed and the beautiful town of Cortona. Thanks so much to David and Gabriella for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: It's a restored villa with stairs to second floor. If that's an issue, ask about one of the...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I am a little (okay a lot) late in my review. I went to Corte dei Papi September 4, 2013 for only 1 night, because it was completely booked the other days. I took what I can get, so I stayed 1 night, when we wanted to stay longer. I must say that the hotel and surroundings is like you walked into a bit of quiet heaven. It is truly a quiet place, serene is the appropriate word, it's a place you stay if you just need some peace.
I fell totally in love with the hospitality and of course David's unbelievable kindness. At one point I was thinking, can this man be real? I even asked how can he be single?!? My husband and I totally found the place superb, and the food was amazing. (not traditional italian at all)
David, I'm still waiting for that cream pea soup that I thought I died and went to heaven.
Yes the room is a little darker than I would have liked, we don't have the greatest of sights, but it is clean, and quiet and well decorated in the "era" fashion, with a very modern bathroom and shower.
Honestly, if I'm going to Cortona, that is the place I would stay again without a doubt.
Thank you David for making me believe in genuine kindness!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

From the time we arrived at the La Corte Dei Papi we were treated like special guests. We came from Seville, Spain and then Florence, but the most memorable stay was at the Inn. David was a perfect host and the staff was as if they knew us. I would strongly recommend the Inn as a hub for travelling throughout Tuscany or for just relaxing and enjoying the area around Cortona.
We will be back!! John, Linda and Kelly Bohon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed there the first week of December 2013 and we were very, very pleased with not only the fantastic Inn but also the two innkeepers. David and his mom Gabrella we're perfect hosts the entire stay. Breakfasts were super and they would fix you anything you wish. We mention touring a winery, David said "no problem" and he had the best tour ever! This property should easily rate as RELAIS CHATEAUX Inn by their standards. SO HAPPY WE FOUND THIS AND EXPERIENCED IT.
John,Judy Bob, Florida

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Address: Via La Dogana 12, 52040 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the Tuscan countryside, just few minutes from Cortona, La Corte dei Papi is an oasis of peace and quiet, ideal for those who like to enjoy traditional local atmosphere. All rooms are each unique in decor with handmade antique furnishings and fine crafted linens. Our restaurant offers guests traditional Tuscan dishes alongside with more modern and elaborate culinary combinations. To add to atmosphere, during summer, guests can dine outside, around the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Otel so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais La Corte dei Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.