We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Corte dei Papi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Relais La Corte dei Papi to your Saves list
Relais La Corte dei Papi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via La Dogana 12, 52040 Cortona, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Cortona
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing hotel with fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Me and my husband arrived at Relais La Corte die Papi straight after our wedding and it was the perfect place to relax and unwind. The hotel is stunning and the grounds are beautiful, we were looked after the minute we arrived by the hotel owner David and the staff. The service here is the best we have ever experienced and we loved every minute of it. Our room was clean, comfortable and a good size. The pool is fantastic and sun bathing area is lovely. This brings me to the amazing restaurant at the hotel. We ate here most nights (we treated ourselves) the food was truly some of the best food we have eaten out and we wouldn't be surprised if it receives a Michelin star very soon. The chick pea soup was our favourite and we would recommend this highly!! But the steak and the pasta dishes are also true winners. There is also a fantastic wine list and David personally recommended a superb bottle when we asked.

We absolutely fell in love with this place and Cortona, we can't wait to go back and would recommend this highly to all our friends and family.

Room Tip: try and book a room with a spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    29
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
74
281
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Frankly, this is a very special place. Luxury and refinements in what matters, that is, the restaurant, the gardens, the pool, the staff. Cortona and surroundings are great from a historical, artistic, and monumental point of view. Clearly a place for a once in a lifetime experience, especially if you like high quality food and wine. Just to give an example, they have a very very long list of liquors, but that is just an example.

Room Tip: if you are not used to a jacuzzi, ask how it works first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I haven't been that relaxed in years! David and his staff went above and beyond. David's mother would be working every morning making sure the the grounds were impecable. We stayed in the new "smart" room. Our shower had spa music, lighting and very spacious. The bed was so comfy you melted and the hot tub was perfect for two! We dined by the pool with candle light and soft music starting with a complimentary glass of Proseca. The presentation of the food was beautiful! The octopus salad and tuscan vegetable bean soup was my favorite but I must say the food overall was five star. If you are traveling to Cortona, you must experience La Corte dei Papi. Best wished to David and his mom, they have done an amazing job!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights - it was truly wonderful and nearly perfect in every department from the care and attention of David and his staff right through to the wonderful food The only reason we would give it 9.5 out of 10 is due to a noisey air-conditioning unit and the tented external dining area could have been a bit more personalised but this is being picky. If you are looking for a quality hotel in the Cortona area you must give this one a try - we cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

3 Night stay. David is, as everyone says, the perfect host, he is omnipresent and clearly takes huge pride in his home (which is now his hotel). The hotel was quite quiet when we were there, in fact, it felt like we were the only people there one day, which was great. The hotel has a lovely pool, with nice loungers and towels. We ate dinner once in the hotel, it was real gourmet food, not your "classic" Italian meal at all, the price was in keeping with the food standard, high, which is fair enough for gourmet dining. David gave us good recommendations for other evening meals.
We had a deluxe cottage room, personally, I wasn't that keen on it. It was almost directly outside reception, so didn't feel "private", it also wasn't very light and there wasn't a lot of storage space (no drawers), the bathroom was nice though. Perhaps I should have spoken to David and I am sure he would have changed the room, but for a three day stay, it didn't seem worth it.
If I ever go to Cortona again, I would stay there, it is outside the city, maybe a 10 minute drive up the hill.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

A wonderful relaxing place. David and his team are warm and inviting, with nothing being too much trouble. We staying in an old outer building, very comfortable. Also had a look at the new rooms with the massive spa and shower. Must give it a try next visit.
It was difficult to force yourself away from the place, however David organised a private day trip to the local wineries. We were taken through 15th century places that were just perfect. The person who does this tour is Dejan Prvulovic and he is a great guide.
Took a couple of day trips in our 5 days there, but couldn't resist the lure of the property, keep wanting to return. We also did the cooking lesson that is on offer. Wonderful way to get to know the people.
It really is heaven on earth.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We are just back in Brussels from a 10-day trip across Tuscany, where we stayed in Lucca, Firenze, Cortona and Forte dei Marmi. By far the best hotel-experience we had, was during our 3-day stay at Corte dei Papi in Cortona.
Once one enters the property, one finds oneself in an oasis of tranquillity. The hotel is beautifully designed, with a careful choice by the owner of materials, furniture and accessories. The whole place oozes style.
David, the owner, is a fantastic host, but also the whole staff is polite, friendly and efficient. It is not a cheap place, but one can feel the pride of David in his hotel: he is there for the long-term to make his guests feel at home, and not at all for the quick-buck.
We also took a cooking class, which was a fantastic experience thanks to the chef Giuseppe and Carla, who showed us with good humour the pride and joy they find in their cooking. We were supposed to eat our cooked meal for lunch, but since it was very copious, very generously they offered it to spread it over lunch and diner without charge.
Giuseppe is a fantastic cook who is not afraid to add his own touch, such as the delicious steak we had with pepper-icecream as sauce! Breakfast deserves a special mention, not only in its variety and quality, but also because of the freshly baked bread and cakes (by Carla). We went to many fine restaurants during our stay in Firenze, but the bread here was simply the best.
We stayed at a (beautifully decorated!) standard room, but David also showed us his latest project at the hotel, a newly built house in traditional toscan style which houses a couple of suites of his own design. There again he managed to combine antiques with modern comfort, with each suite its own different touch: an amazing result. We hope to return to La Corte dei Papi, and to stay at one of the suites!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais La Corte dei Papi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Corte dei Papi

Address: Via La Dogana 12, 52040 Cortona, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Cortona
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cortona
#1 Family Hotel in Cortona
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cortona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais La Corte dei Papi 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the Tuscan countryside, just few minutes from Cortona, La Corte dei Papi is an oasis of peace and quiet, ideal for those who like to enjoy traditional local atmosphere. All rooms are each unique in decor with handmade antique furnishings and fine crafted linens. Our restaurant offers guests traditional Tuscan dishes alongside with more modern and elaborate culinary combinations. To add to atmosphere, during summer, guests can dine outside, around the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais La Corte dei Papi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Corte Dei Papi Hotel Cortona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais La Corte dei Papi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.